We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for Thanksgiving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Bay Suites to your Saves list
Monterey Bay Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Irmo, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Great place to stay for Thanksgiving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed 10 days at Monterey Bay Suites and had a wonderful time, we spent our Thanksgiving there and we went swimming at the outdoor pool on 10th floor, although it was a little cool getting from the pool to the room. The pool was so warm, it did not even feel like winter until going from pool to room. The staff every where was so nice and helpful. The breakfast each morning was delicious. We stayed in room 1237, which was a angle room with view of the beach and street, it was a great view, could see beach very well, we loved the room, very comfortable and plenty of space and clean. I just can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    291
    147
    110
    115
See reviews for
482
217
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Monterey Bay Suites in Myrtle Beach for 3 nights and enjoyed it. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the amenities were all that we needed. Had a great oceanview room and the room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Loved having the free breakfast bar each morning and a varied menu. We recommend this location and we would return there to stay again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Ga
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at Monteray Bay Suites on Nov 10-13th. Our room was 1527, which is an executive suite with an extended balcony.The room was clean, beds were comfy and the free breakfast was great. My husband and I had stayed here before and realy liked it. The location is convienent and suited our needs well. The lady in the breakfast area was so sweet to everyone. It is nice to have such a warm greeting early in the morning. The comments on the parking are true. The garage is tight, but it is nice to have onsite covered parking. The ground floor is for big vehicles, and I would park there in larger car. We will be back again.

Room Tip: 1527 was a great room. Had the extended balcony which gives a wider view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is not well maintained, room was dirty, sink in bath was stopped up, door to beachfront balcony was broken, and we locked ourselves out of the room and the front desk gave us a key and never asked for ID. I did not feel safe!!!! Yikes!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We apoligize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Had we known about the issues you were having, we would have corrected them as quickly as possible. We often see our guests daily and come to know them by their first name. The person who gave you the extra key must have known who you were or verification would have been required. This is one of the many benefits of staying at a smaller hotel. We wish you luck on your future stays in Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband planned a romantic getaway for us and chose this Myrtle Beach resort. The room was spacious, had nice decor and a fantastic ocean view. We were on the 14th floor so we could see clear to Cherry Grove!

I recall that in the time we've lived in the area (about 30 miles from Myrtle Beach) I have met several tourist who say they always stay here. I can see reasons for the loyalty.

A buffet breakfast was also included in the room rate. Options were a meat, scrambled eggs, pancakes waffles or french toast, grits, oatmeal, fresh fruit.The meat option changed daily, we were there 4 mornings and didnt have the same one twice. Quite satisfiying, though I can imagine that in peak season that place could get very busy and lines very long. The staff from the receptionist to the housekeepers to the breakfast room staff, were all cordial and helpful. We will certainly return, hopefully soon!

Room Tip: If you are like me and thrive in a room bathed with sunlight, choose a corner room. They have 2 wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with Monterey Bay Suites. We are very happy that you and your husband enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel had great off season nightly rates for suites. The suite was very poorly decorated and equipped--no cabinets in the bathroom, no place to place your personal belongings. Not enough space in the kitchen to cook if you chose to do so nor room to move in the very small suite. The murphy bed was only a mattress on a small platform foundation and was about 10 inches off the floor which made it uncomfortable to sleep there. Table was placed almost on top of the small loveseat which made it a suite? Very cheap decor and accommodations. The hot food bar was for the most part good but portioned out to each person so if you are truly hungry or a breakfast person you might want to go elsewhere for breakfast. I would definitely not stay there during other seasons and higher rates as it is truly not worth it. The parking situation is tight and difficult to park in tight spaces as you have to drive in a tight circle up to 8 different floors to find a tight spot to park. Not convenient or good even if it is located on the oceanfront.

Room Tip: if all you want is a place to sleep and a better price stay here--but if not go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Our suites are decorated with a tropical flare to provide a comfortable home away from home setting. We work very hard to provide the furnishings required to meet your needs. Unforunately, we must control costs by portions, to continually offer our Free Hot Breakfast. Our parking garage does require patience to navigate. But by your second or thrid time driving into the garage most guests do not have an any more issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

the oceanfront room was clean,well equipped and the staff was courteous and very friendly. I found this to be a good stay with the full breakfast and nice pools for the family to enjoy. I would take my family back here in a heartbeat. Thank you monterey bay staff

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with Monterey Bay Suites. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Suites

Address: 6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Bay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Monterey Bay Resort Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.