We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty rooms that are not maintained. Clientele is very loud and rude.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Suites

Save Saved
You added Monterey Bay Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monterey Bay Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Oak Ridge, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dirty rooms that are not maintained. Clientele is very loud and rude.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is not well maintained, room was dirty, sink in bath was stopped up, door to beachfront balcony was broken, and we locked ourselves out of the room and the front desk gave us a key and never asked for ID. I did not feel safe!!!! Yikes!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We apoligize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Had we known about the issues you were having, we would have corrected them as quickly as possible. We often see our guests daily and come to know them by their first name. The person who gave you the extra key must have known who you were or verification would have been required. This is one of the many benefits of staying at a smaller hotel. We wish you luck on your future stays in Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    379
    265
    135
    100
    111
See reviews for
441
202
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband planned a romantic getaway for us and chose this Myrtle Beach resort. The room was spacious, had nice decor and a fantastic ocean view. We were on the 14th floor so we could see clear to Cherry Grove!

I recall that in the time we've lived in the area (about 30 miles from Myrtle Beach) I have met several tourist who say they always stay here. I can see reasons for the loyalty.

A buffet breakfast was also included in the room rate. Options were a meat, scrambled eggs, pancakes waffles or french toast, grits, oatmeal, fresh fruit.The meat option changed daily, we were there 4 mornings and didnt have the same one twice. Quite satisfiying, though I can imagine that in peak season that place could get very busy and lines very long. The staff from the receptionist to the housekeepers to the breakfast room staff, were all cordial and helpful. We will certainly return, hopefully soon!

Room Tip: If you are like me and thrive in a room bathed with sunlight, choose a corner room. They have 2 wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with Monterey Bay Suites. We are very happy that you and your husband enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel had great off season nightly rates for suites. The suite was very poorly decorated and equipped--no cabinets in the bathroom, no place to place your personal belongings. Not enough space in the kitchen to cook if you chose to do so nor room to move in the very small suite. The murphy bed was only a mattress on a small platform foundation and was about 10 inches off the floor which made it uncomfortable to sleep there. Table was placed almost on top of the small loveseat which made it a suite? Very cheap decor and accommodations. The hot food bar was for the most part good but portioned out to each person so if you are truly hungry or a breakfast person you might want to go elsewhere for breakfast. I would definitely not stay there during other seasons and higher rates as it is truly not worth it. The parking situation is tight and difficult to park in tight spaces as you have to drive in a tight circle up to 8 different floors to find a tight spot to park. Not convenient or good even if it is located on the oceanfront.

Room Tip: if all you want is a place to sleep and a better price stay here--but if not go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Our suites are decorated with a tropical flare to provide a comfortable home away from home setting. We work very hard to provide the furnishings required to meet your needs. Unforunately, we must control costs by portions, to continually offer our Free Hot Breakfast. Our parking garage does require patience to navigate. But by your second or thrid time driving into the garage most guests do not have an any more issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

the oceanfront room was clean,well equipped and the staff was courteous and very friendly. I found this to be a good stay with the full breakfast and nice pools for the family to enjoy. I would take my family back here in a heartbeat. Thank you monterey bay staff

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with Monterey Bay Suites. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Interesting configuration. Units are deep...you enter into the bedroom then pass thru a narrow galley kitchen to a living room with a sliding door and balcony facing the ocean. Living room had a pull down Murphy bed and a couch that does not pull out to a bed. Maybe two star quality but great location. Clean enough no bugs. For $56 per night with breakfast included I guess that's what you get. Convenient entrance from the parking garage also.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with Monterey Bay Suites. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed there Oct. 1-5 and enjoyed our stay. Nice, clean room, great beach view. Staff & Housekeeping were friendly & efficient. Free breakfast was a bonus. Most everything was better than we had expected.

Room Tip: Get the Oceanfront Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with Monterey Bay Suites. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at Monterey Bay from Oct 25-28th and had a great time, went down there for a long weekend with some friends of ours. For the money this place has to be one of the best deals I've ever gotten in 20 years of going to Myrtle Beach. We got a great price per night on the room and then to top it off got a free full breakfast in the mornings as well. The staff was great and friendly and I really can't say anything bad about this place. Parking garage was a little tight at first but you get used to it. This will be my choice of hotel from now on in the off-peak months. We usually make about 4 trips a year only once in the summer. Great hotel and I would highly recommend this place to anybody especially for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with Monterey Bay Suites. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monterey Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Suites

Address: 6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Bay Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Monterey Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Monterey Bay Resort Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.