We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They need New Beds lol !!!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waikiki Village
Save
You added Waikiki Village to your Saves list
1500 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Danville, West Virginia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“They need New Beds lol !!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in Room 136 for 7 days it was a Big room and very Clean.The owners are fabulous,the staff is very friendly. The only thing we didn't like about it was the Beds was Very Hard We did not sleep good at all but other then that we Loved it there and it is only a little walk to the beach but from our room you could see the Ocean and the Pool and Jacuzzi was Nice!! We will be back Next year

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Manager at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for spending your vacation at Waikiki Village and for writing this review.We do appreciate hearing from our guests because we want to strive to do better. We regret that you were not satisfied with the beds in your room. Unfortunately for you, we do purchase firm mattresses. The next time you stay with us, please let us know if you are not happy with the mattresses. We will be more than happy to switch your bedding to ones less firm. We appreciate your kind comments about our clean property and staff. We hope to see you here soon !!!!

My Best,
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    41
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
85
48
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Let me first off say that we decided three years ago that we would try this hotel because of all the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. Three years later and this is the ONLY place to stay in Myrtle Beach! We return every year several times a year and we always request a room in the little tiki hut. The owners are fabulous,the staff is very friendly, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Every time we stay here it always feels like coming home. My husband and I never have to decide where we will stay during our vacations at Myrtle, it is a given that we are going to the Waikiki!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Manager at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Just a note to say thank you for writing this review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoy staying in our Hawaiian style building. These rooms are very small but are very convenient because of the close parking. You are also very close to the beach !!!! We are definitely looking forward to seeing you here again. We do strive for customer satisfaction so please let us know if you need any assistance when you vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Waikiki village was a clean and friendly place. Even the guests made you feel like family. They helped me research the nearest lighthouse for a day trip. They have shuffleboard, horseshoes, a library, putt-putt, jacuzzi, and a nice pool! The only thing you don't have is an ocean front view.
My friends didn't believe that you could have such a nice place for that price, so they booked a hotel for 3 times the price. They had bugs and was just a room number. At Waikiki, it was super clean and the housekeepers really took pride in their work!! She told me that once i stayed here, I'd be back! She was right!! I book my fall and spring vacation before I left. If you don't need to ocean front room, this is the place to stay!!!!
Thank you for a wonderful vacation!
Robert Hill
Marietta, Ohio.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, General Manager at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
We do appreciate hearing from our guests and it is a pleasure to hear positive comments from a new customer. We are a dated property but strive to offer afforable and clean accomdations.We are looking forward to your future stays with us. Many thanks for taking the tinme to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

After 4-5 years of staying (latecomers) at Waikiki, it is the only place we would stay in Myrtle Beach. If it is unavailable, we do not go. The staff is the greatest, other guests are the friendliest, and you will make friends for life. The owner plays an active role in management of this motel, and the staff is known on a first name basis. THEY GENUINELY CARE ABOUT THE GUESTS....which is a rarity today! Kiss your cares away and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere at the Waikiki! Becki & Jack, Charlotte, NC

Room Tip: Poolside is best. Suites have a full kitchen, kitchen table/chairs and a Comfortable couch for TV v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Manager at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and for coming back to see us once again.We do appreciate your patronage and loyalty and we do not take this for granted. Customers have many choices to select from here in Myrtle Beach. Thank you for selecting us!!!!
Hope to see you again very soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennison
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We found this spot about 15 yrs . ago.We would not think about going anywhere else .We have stayed at PatricaGrand and Jonithan Harbor then found Waikiki Village.Needless to say we have not gone anywhere else. Super folks from owner and everyone that works there.In fact we will be going there next Sat.for the week.The same people who have been going there for years will also be there.Most folks know each other from previous stays .We also go to Drifter for the Browns opining game .Great place for Brown backers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Manager at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your kind words about our staff. We are so fortunate to have such wonderful repeat customers. We also look forward to seeing you here again in a few days. Please let us know if you need anything at all.

My Best,
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our stay at Waikiki Village in Myrtle Beach, SC was for 3 nights. The hotel is older but in pretty good shape for the age. It is very clean, probably one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in. We had room 230 with 2 queen beds, fridge and microwave with a pool view. It turned out that we could see a bit of the ocean from our balcony, which is only a short little walk across the road. The man who checked us in was very pleasant and seemed quite nice.

Of course, its older so it could use a few updates but everything in the room worked great. Awesome water pressure, we didn't even turn the shower on all the way. Our only complaint was the Wi-Fi connnection. We could not access from the room but they were upfront on their website that the Wi-Fi could be accessed in the lobby.

The pool area was beautiful and clean and very well maintained. They will only rent to adult couples and families, never any issues with any of the other guests.

Our only complaint was the Wi-Fi connnection. We could not access from the room but they were upfront on their website that the Wi-Fi could be accessed in the lobby. We could occasionally access the Wi-Fi connection from a neighboring hotel but it was spotty.

I think they should consider expanding that, sometimes it's a deal breaker with people. We booked it knowing the website said "Wi-Fi available in the lobby" but we thought surely it could be used in the rooms. We thought wrong and it was our fault. They were very upfront about it.

Overall the stay was good but we probably won't stay again unless they expand the Wi-Fi connection to allow access from all the rooms. It's a shame because we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Manager at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and your kind review. All comments are greatly appreciated. I am so happy to inform you that Wi-Fi will soon be available in all rooms. We are just waiting for the company to begin their work. We are very excited about this for our customers. We hope that you will be back again very soon !!!!

My Best,
Nancy and Waikiki Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I was more than impressed with this hotel! The staff was beyond friendly and helpful and the rates are great! It is a wonderful family hotel across from the beach! The rooms are perfect - nice and clean, beds are super comfortable, plenty of space, and the shower water pressure is AWESOME!
I will never stay at another family hotel in Myrtle Beach again! This is my family's home away from home now and forever!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
localmyrtlebeach, Manager at Waikiki Village, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with all. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Waikiki. We look forward to being your home away from home for years to come.

Nancy and the Waikiki Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Village

Address: 1500 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Waikiki Village Myrtle Beach
Waikiki Village Motel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.