We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIFIED!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Ocean Front Motel

Save Saved
You added Viking Ocean Front Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viking Ocean Front Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1811 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Indianapolis, IN
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“HORRIFIED!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2006

I was HORRIFIED!! Opening the door there were cigarette burns on the table, end tables, in the carpetand the blankets. The carpet was terribly stained and in need of replacement. The back bedroom was disgusting. There were numerous stains on all 3 beds. My daughter found hair woven in the sheets and mascare marks on the pillow. NOT OURS!! To top off how disgusting it already was, there were toe nail clippings on the in the front bedroonm again, NOT OURS!! We stayed 1 night only because we had to. I found a much nicer condo (executive suite) for almost the same amount of money and it was the difference between Heaven and HELL. When i checked out I was not asked why I was checking out 2 days early and I definetly let them know how disgusting everything was when we checked in. Needless to say, I wasnt offered a refund for the days that I didnt stay do to their NO REFUND policy. It didnt matter to me, I couldnt stay in that hotel another night.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    26
    22
    23
    97
See reviews for
84
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2006

I took my parents down for an extended weekend in July 2005. We had booked a room at the Viking Motel. When we got there the room was not ready, although it was 6pm and check in is at 4pm. We had to wait for an hour. The clerk did give us a small discount for our inconvenience. I was embarrassed that I had my parents in such a nasty place. Sadly, we couldn't find other accomodations at such a late date. The room smelled of urine, the carpet was dirty, the tub had hair in it. When we got to the pool there was fecal matter on the deck. I must say that the customer service there was good. The clerk was very nice and apologetic. She could not contact maintainence at the time so she went to the pool to see what she could do. She was exceptional although the hotel itself needs a wrecking ball!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2005

All I can say is that for 30 years my family stayed at the Viking and I have had several great memories of the place. Although there has been little changed in that 30 years, it holds great memories for me. The staff has always been great

Stayed May 1999
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2005

The Viking is an excellent bargain (especially at this time of year), there are no crowds, parking is abundant, the rooms are extra clean and staff attentive (workers not overwhelmed). Winters are great value in Myrtle Beach - nice restaurants with no waiting, still lots of things to do. I've never been much of an ocean swimmer or sunbather so don't miss it. We've been booking a Viking beachfront efficiency for a February week since 1983 - the year I graduated from University of South Carolina's Myrtle Beach campus and moved north to start my career. We could afford fancier than Viking now, but could not buy a better time!

  • Stayed January 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, ON
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2005

I booked a golf package through The Golf Wizard for 15 guys at the Viking Motel from November 4th - Nov 8th 2005 and we just got back. The motel is old and tired but did the job for our group. One of our rooms had to be changed due to an undetermined stench that just wouldn't go away. We found out later that some crack-head had rented the room with his dog for the week before we arrived. After the switch to another room was made maintainence was in the old room tearing up the carpet and doing an all-out cleaning so it could be used again. The beds were comfortable and the showers were adequate for what we needed. The pool was open and looked very nice and well kept. I did find a bug in the shower one morning - it was either a sand beetle or a cockroach - I am not sure. The staff were good and dealt with any problems promptly. I stayed at one of there sister motels 2 years ago - The Polynesian - and they are pretty similar. For 4 nights lodging and 5 rounds of golf with carts at $226.00 US I knew the motel wouldn't be spectacular. In summary, I would not take my wife and kids to this motel. However, on a golf trip with 15 guys this motel did the job. Whether we will return to The Viking next year for our golf trip has not yet been determined - my guess is probably not.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2005

My dad took me and my two kids (they were 9 months and 2 years at the time) to this motel last year from June 21-24. It was a great value for the money! We were comfortable in our room and were thankful for the kitchenette so we could cook a few meals there. The room and pool were clean, so no problems there. Oh...and the view was a lot better than I'd expected. We had a room on the 2nd floor with a great view of both the pool and the ocean. I could sit on my bed and enjoy it. But an employee told me that not all of the rooms have that view.

I would definitely recommend this motel for families on a budget. It's a nice place to stay, especially for the price! In fact, we're all going back tomorrow, from 6/20-25. We're going to be staying in a different type of room this time, though...last time we got 2 beds, and this time we'll have 3. I'll write another review sometime after we get back.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2005

Im very picky about the places I stay, and at first glance wasnt sure. But went and looked at the ocean front suites and they were very nice AND CLEAN! Highly recommend for family and friends to get a two bed room suite. Has a cute little kitchen and great view. Nice clean pool and great access to the beach. Staff was very nice and friendly. Not a fancy place but clean and safe no bugs! I have stayed in Holiday inns & Best Westerns not as nice as here. Again nothing fancy but I will stay there again our family loved it!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viking Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Ocean Front Motel

Address: 1811 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Ocean Front Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Viking Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Ocean Front Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Viking Ocean Front
Viking Hotel Myrtle Beach
The Oceanfront Viking Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Ocean Front Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.