We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Ocean Front Motel

Save Saved
You added Viking Ocean Front Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viking Ocean Front Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1811 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nasty!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Me and my family just got back from the beach a week ago, by the pictures of this place it looks nice but its not, when we arrived they charged us more then what they said it was going to be. We got into our room which was on the first floor, it stunk the moment we walked in, I went in and checked the beds and they sheets hadn't been changed so I asked for some clean ones, we stayed in that room the first night and didn't get any sleep because of the noise and itching to death, the next morning we got up and I found these little bites all over my 7 month old so we took him to the ER they said it was bug bites. So we went back to the hotel and asked for a different room, they put us on the fifth floor, it was a whole lot quieter but the second night my son got more bug bites so I ended up taking him back to the ER. We went to the front desk to request our money back so we could get a different room to try and enjoy the rest of our stay, they refused to give us a refund even though we had papers from the ER that our son had bug bites on him. Needless to say we packed up our stuff and moved to the Polynesian Beach and Golf Resort which is owned by the same ppl but a whole lot nicer and the staff are very friendly, my son didn't get bit anymore since we had moved hotels. I would not stay at the Viking if it was my last resort, the hotel was nasty, stunk, my son got bit and the staff was very unfriendly since the day we arrived.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, General Manager at Viking Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. It’s our protocol to look further into the situation, before we determine whether a refund is an option. We have to call a pest elimination company to identify the type of bug, if any. I thank you for voicing your concerns and bringing these issues to our attention. I will make sure that your complaints are forwarded to the appropriate department heads for further review so that the issues can be taken care of. Thank you again for the valuable input. It truly is appreciated. I hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    22
    24
    103
See reviews for
91
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel is old, Its a side view in South Myrtle Beach. But that being said, Its clean, Beds are fine and I have stayed here more than a few times. I have never seen a bug. Rates are the best in the beach for what you get. I came down for Bike Week with 2 other friends and we all agree the money was right and the staff were top notch. Parking is a issue, but if you just park across the street you will be fine. I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, General Manager at Viking Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest with us again in the future. If there is anything that you may need, please do not hesitate to contact us. We are here to assist you with your reservation needs. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocksville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed 1 night on May 4, 2013. We had a 2 bedroom ocean front. Late Saturday night I pulled the covers down from the bedroom that had the 1 queen to find a napkin with lipstick kisses all over it between the sheets!!!! Obviously they did not change them, not sure how long the nasty napkin was there. My husband & I figured it was too late to have something done then. We checked out the next day, my husband took the napkin in a trash bag to the check out counter, ALL THEY DID WAS GIVE 10% OFF!! that was it. I will never stay there again. If you do I suggest you bring a change of bedding with you. Luckily for us, my husband told me to pack bedding just in case. Extremely disappointed and nasty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, General Manager at Viking Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your recent stay with us. It is not typical for housekeeping to be lacking in the services that you have mentioned in your complaint, however errors are made and I’m sorry if anything was overlooked during your visit. I will make sure these issues and concerns are brought to the attention of our director of housekeeping for further review so they can be addressed with individual employees. Thank you again for your valuable input. I hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not handicapped friendly. 14.00 charge per night for amenities - these include broken down washing machine in the 'laundry room' (a dirty corner of the building, not a room), a pool that was closed, a heater/ac that was attached to the wall at ceiling height - therefore unable to reach the settings. In addition the cover to this machine fell to the floor in the middle of the night. I had to call maintenance to come adjust the settings
because it could not be reached by the average person (he had to get on a chair). An empty vending machine for 2 days.
Everything was dated, minimally clean, broken, inaccessible by my handicapped companion (no ramps, no step in shower). I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: I saw two rooms and neither were acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, General Manager at Viking Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. I thank you for voicing your concerns and bringing these issues to our attention. I will make sure that your complaints are forwarded to the appropriate department heads for further review so that the issues can be taken care of. Thank you again for the valuable input. It truly is appreciated. I hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We traveled with our children for an overnight weekend stay, and were pleasantly surprised! The previews we read beforehand threw up red flags, and we weren't expecting a whole lot, but we were wrong! The room was clean and in order, and the children had plenty of room to roam inside. The bathroom had new flooring, the kitchen and refrigerator were clean and in good working order. We were able to walk directly to the ocean in about a minute ...didn't care too much for the across the street parking though. There are only about 10-15 spots available by the building. The only issue we had was one of the two TVs didn't work. We called the front desk, and had a replacement in no time! We will stay here again on our next Myrtle Beach trip!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, General Manager at Viking Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest with us again in the future. Unfortunately, the parking situation is not the best in Myrtle Beach. If there is anything that you may need, please do not hesitate to contact us. We are here to assist you with your reservation needs. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We were a bit apprehensive about booking this place after seeing some of the reviews but decided to take the chance to stay within our budget. For $39 bucks a night it turned out to be a great gamble. We are a family of four so the three beds and two TVs were perfect and oceanfront to boot. For the location it's a steal, sure it's outdated, could use wifi and more parking, but the room was clean, the balcony view spectacular and the staff was very courteous and friendly. Check in is supposed to be 4:30, we arrived at 11:30am and after a 16 hr drive we were allowed to check in early. We will definately recommend this place to anyone who wants a clean reasonable priced place to stay. It's certainly a big reason thatching year was another memorable March break in MB

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, General Manager at Viking Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest with us again in the future. If there is anything that you may need, please do not hesitate to contact us. We are here to assist you with your reservation needs. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had first stayed there about 4 yrs. ago,The Only thing then was the Room Smelled like Mildew.But When my Son told me About the Great price they had for Easter Weekend (Which was Also Spring Break) I Decided to give it a Try,Well We are very Glad we Did,This Motel has Improved 100%.It was Very Clean & the Staff was very Friendly.We had a Sideview,But Still could see the Ocean.Love this Place & Will be Coming Back!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, General Manager at Viking Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest with us again in the future. If there is anything that you may need, please do not hesitate to contact us. We are here to assist you with your reservation needs. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viking Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Ocean Front Motel

Address: 1811 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#93 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Ocean Front Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Viking Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Ocean Front Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Viking Ocean Front
Viking Hotel Myrtle Beach
The Oceanfront Viking Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Ocean Front Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.