We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sandy Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandy Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

There were some glitches... dishwasher had trouble closing and staying closed, room keys randomly stopped working twice, patio door wouldn't lock, and internet was non existent 90 of the time, even on public computer. That being said, I would still rate this a 5 and would go back in a heartbeat. First, it is a 24/365 operation. Things will go wrong. They are very quick to send someone to make things right. Even on Christmas. Also the staff is very friendly. They seem like they really care. And the biggest thing is it is VERY clean!! I am very picky about that and it was spotless. Stayed in the three bedroom, and it was very spacious! Each bedroom had a bathroom. Kitchen is huge, which is nice to cook and save money. The beds are huge and VERY comfortable!!

Room Tip: Request higher floors for quiet. Our room on second floor had a noise that sounded like an airplane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
palmtreelover40,


We are pleased that you enjoyed yourself at Sandy Beach Resort! Also, we appreciate the comments and we are working on correcting those problems so that this will not happen on your next stay. You are right, we have a great staff that goes above and beyond for everyone that stays at Sandy Beach Resort. We hope to see you again soon,

Thanks,

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    271
    96
    59
    39
See reviews for
620
259
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I had no prior knowledge of Sandy Beach Resort other than what I saw on line. It was easy to find and parking (free) was just up the street. I immediately liked my room but there was a problem; neither heater worked and I really feel the cold. I went to the Reservation desk and they immediately sent a repair person up to the room. He could not do an immediate repair so he had me moved to another room on another floor. I was both grateful and impressed with the service.

I loved the layout of the rooms! The galley kitchen was easy to work in and it had a full sized fridge and stove. I made breakfast every day and nuked a dinner one night.

All too soon it was time for me to leave. I will return again to rent here. Everything about the place gets a plus! All the staff members I met were very nice too.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant here but there are plenty nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
EdwardMSummerville,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We apologize about the minor issue with the a/c but glad that it was handled quickly and professionally. We do offer Free Parking right across the street at Sandy Beach along with free views of the Ocean! Please check out our current specials for the Spring that we are offering our guests. We hope that you make it back from Summerville to Myrtle Beach soon!

Thanks for your stay,

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

On our summer 2013 road trip we decided to stop by Myrtle Beach for a couple of days and was able to book a 2 bedroom suite at the Sandy Beach Resort for four nights. I did my homework by reading the reviews so I was not surprised by the parking and the layout of the hotel. I also requested a suite on a higher floor in the Palmetto (new) section to get away from the beach noise.

We arrived very late at night and was greeted by the sole desk clerk. No issues parking or checking in and was given suite 1609. We were very tired that night and when straight to bed. The next morning we got a good look at the suite and discover many major issues. The smoke alarms were missing batteries or just missing, there was major damage to the walls, the tub was not draining, painting of the suite looked like I did the painting not a pro, there was grease on the phones and the appliances. This suite looked like a room in a one star hotel.

I when down to the front desk and requested to be moved to another suite. I got the feeling they already knew of the state of 1609 by the lack of questions. I also told hotel staff that I was willing to pay more to be upgraded to a three bedroom suite. They offered me a three bedroom suite for $150 more for the 3 remaining nights. There was two suites available and we were able to check them out before getting them. The first suite on the second floor had all of the appliances and phones covered in grease. As we were inspecting that suite we saw the clearer spraying Pledge cleaner on the furniture and we then realized that she was using it to clean everything. The second suite #310 was on the third floor and was much better condition.

The only other issue that we had with this hotel is with the elevator that you have to take to get to the beach opens on a driveway that was exposed to the outside of the hotel. As you walk across the driveway you have to make sure you are not hit by a car. There was a security guard on duty for most of the time so we did not have any concerns that someone from the streets would approach us. We later found if you walk to the old section you will find a small elevator that takes you to the pool area which you can take to access the beach.

I am giving this review an overall poor rating due to the condition of suite 1609 and the lack of safety equipment (smoke detectors). In Canada it is against the law not to have working smoke detectors.

Room Tip: There are two parking lots available. The one across 3rd Street that usually has lots of parking. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Andrew6123,


We are sorry that you did not find your stay satisfactory. It is our every intention to make sure that every guest enjoys themselves.

We are pleased that your were moved right away upon not being pleased with your room. The Management at Sandy Beach Resort deals with ever situation quickly and correctly. However, I can assure you that our suites are clean and are some of the nicest in Myrtle Beach. We have corrected the few small issues that you have pointed out so that on your next visit this will not happen again. We hope you had a safe trip home and a great Holiday Season.

Thanks,

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glade Spring, Virginia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We went here because of good reviews on tripadvisor, and they were having a special for October. We had a room with a full kitchen, and two bedrooms. One of the bedrooms was one floor up that you used a spiral staircase to get to. This gave some privacy to our son who stayed up there, and he had his own bathroom and ocean front balcony. we had our oceanfront balcony off the living room also. It is oceanfront and they had a life guard on duty there. The indoor and out door pools, and kiddie water park were very nice. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
hospitalguyonweb,

We are "pleased" that you were pleased with your choice! We do offer some great discounts in the Fall and Spring where our guests can still catch great weather but very CHEAP rates! We hope you return this Spring and take advantage of some of our great rates......

Thank you for Staying,

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The staff here at the Sandy Beach go out of their way to keep the hotel looking brand new. You can't beat the price and the many amenities. You get a great view of the beachfront for miles. They also have great pools and this is why we have returned here 14 times.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dave B,

We can thank you enough for returning to Sandy Beach Resort for FOURTEEN TIMES!!!!!!!! We do our best keeping Sandy Beach clean and up to date. We appreciate that you notice and that you continue to return time and time again! We offer clean and affordable rooms for everyone....If your trying to decide where to stay in Myrtle Beach give us a call!

Thanks,

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Sandy Beach Resort is an excellent hotel for a beach getaway. Came to Myrtle beach for a wedding in the off season in early December. Room rate was great for 2 queen beds, full kitchen with sink, full size stove/oven, full size fridge, fully stock with plates, and drinking glasses, living room had a round dining table with 4 chairs, coffee table, large sofa, and a fold away full size bed. There were two TVs, a large flat screen in the bedroom, a small one in the living area. Balcony had full breathtaking ocean view which had 2 chairs. Bath room was clean, but a little dated. This was the first hotel that I have ever stayed in that had a vent fan in the bathroom. This is great if you take hot showers.

Walls were rather thin, but hardly notice the neighbors. Location was perfect, close to just about everything you might need at the beach, all within walking distance. Access to the beach was just step out the back near the pool and you are there. Shops on the street side, Theres an amusement park just across the parking area. Parking was very easy, just across the street in their private parking lot, that's patrolled.

Staff was great. My flat screen TV didn't work upon arrival. A call to the front desk had a maintenance guy come in in less than 5 minutes. He found and fixed the problem and was gone in less than 5. Happy camper after that. Liked it so much that the wife and I will make this our next stay on our return trip to Myrtle.

Room Tip: Stay on the 5th floor or higher. All rooms are ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
cheap123,

Thanks for your recent stay with us at Sandy Beach Resort. The offseason does offer some great weather and rates for all travelers! We have an array of rooms for couples or families with great views for everyone. We are pleased that your issue with the TV was dealt with smoothly and quickly as everything should be! We hope to see you again soon and appreciate your business. Thanks,

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My wife and I decided to speand our honeymoon at this hotel. Overall it was a very nice stay. The room was very clean with great staff. The walls were thin however and you could hear almost everything above and beside you. One thing we wish we could have changed about our particular room was the location of the beedroom. It was located in the front of the away from that beautiful ocean view. This hotel however did make our list of return visits.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
teddypain12,


We are glad that we made your list for a RETURN visit! We hope you enjoyed your Honeymoon with us at Sandy Beach. We apologize about your neighbors and let management know next time and we will more than happy to move you! We do have some 2 and 3 bedroom units that have bedrooms with City and Ocean Views. We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Address: 201 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandy Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A New Modern Oceanfront Resort with one, two, and three bedroom units. Sandy Beach Resort now boasts a Children's Interactive Pool Area, Fitness Room, Meeting Room, and a comfortable Oceanfront Lobby. Come Stay at one of Myrtle Beach's newest and nicest Oceanfront Resorts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Resort Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Myrtle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.