We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it - Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sandy Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandy Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Elberton, GA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Love it - Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Once again we loved the Sandy Beach Resort. We booked the three bedroom condo and was pleased to find the condo roomy. We had a great experience from check-in to check-out. We had a rattle in one of the air vents and when it was reported the problem was corrected quickly. When we arrived, the hotel was experiencing many others come in at the same time. We didn't have a problem with unloading our vehicle and the security guard made sure all moved in an orderly manner. Check in staff friendly and helpful. Service to our room was made quickly each day and we were pleased with her service. The internet servie worked much better this year too. We hope to make next year our sixth visit to the Sandy Beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Enj0ytraveling,

We are glad you have made SANDY BEACH your choice in Myrtle Beach now for the FIFTH TIME!!! We are glad that everything went well during checkout and checkin and that any issue that you encountered was dealt with quickly. Yes each year we improve our wireless in order to try to catch up with the increasing demand! We have a great staff here at Sandy Beach for any of your needs!

Thanks again for staying with us,

Sandy Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    271
    96
    59
    39
See reviews for
620
259
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our second year at sandy beach resort . we are yet to be disappointed ! We enjoyed every second ! The staff are all a class act ! The grounds an pool area s were all well kept and clean . We look so foward to visiting again soon ! The most impressive thing was on our final day , we meet the general manager helping out house keeping with a vacuum in the busy hallways ! Thats Class !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
James,

We appreciate you making Sandy Beach Resort your destination yet again. We offer clean and affordable rooms for everyone. We agree, Tony the GM, is a class act! We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks,

Sandy Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our second stay at the Sandy Beach. It's excellent for the price. Our room was perfect both times. When I placed the reservations for our second stay, I asked for a room similar to the one we had before, and we got the exact same room! The location is wonderful The amusement park is across the street. The water park is next door, and walking distance to the 2nd Ave Pier. This is our new go to hotel for vacation.

Two side notes: They lock the pool/beach access at 11pm. So if you are a late night beach walker, you have to go around to the main entrance. And the check in area is really tight. The main lobby is on the second floor. Which is a little inconvenient, but manageable.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 8th floor both times. Great beach/pier views. Ocean side is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Srockwell41,

Thanks for making Sandy Beach Resort your stay again! We are pleased that you have enjoyed both of your times here and that we could put you in the same room again! We have a great location next to the Family Kingdom Amusement Park and Waterslide, the 2nd Ave. Pier and countless other shops. We do lock some of the pool access points on the pool deck for the safety of our guests and apoligize for the inconvenience.

Thanks
Sandy Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went to beach with 3 couples. The suite was nice it was clean and the kitchen was fairly well appointed. The pools and grounds were very clean. After checking in, we did not see staff unless we requested something until we checked out. Just the way we liked it. We found numerous excellent restaurants nearby. Parking was not convenient but not terrible. We would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Brian,

Thanks for making us your vacation destination and thanks for your review. We offer great rooms for both couples and families. We hope you visit Sandy Beach Resort again soon!

Sandy Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Would be 5 star. But called to have tv remote fixed and refrigerator fixed. Came put new batteries in remote still didn't work. Reset refrigerator worked fine replaced ice maker and still didn't work. But they did tell us was ice maker on 4th floor old building so we just got ice from there. Other them that couldn't ask for better place to stay. Wish they excepted pets so may after 10 years have to find different place to stay. Even though we saw people on elevator with dogs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Trudy,

Thank you for staying with us at Sandy Beach. We apologize about the remote and refrigerator issue that happened during your stay. However, we are very pleased that you found everything else enjoyable during your vacation at Sandy Beach Resort. We are sorry we do not allow pets and have noted what you mentioned to fix that issue. We hope that you will return to Sandy Beach Resort!

Sandy Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our favorite hotel in MB was booked so we thought that we would search for another hotel with the same kinds of amenities. Sandy Beach "seemed" comparable. Even though I checked the reviews on TripAdvisor, I should have been leery because everyone else was booked (and SB still had vacancies). Check-in was terrible: it was very crowded in the unloading/loading bay, it took a long time to get a cart for our luggage and there was no one to direct all the chaos. Hotel reps. were not very welcoming either and didn't even pretend to be glad that we were patronizing their hotel. As soon as we got to our room, opened the door and walked in we were greeted by the room's live-in tenant, a nasty roach just sitting on the wall saying hello. EWWWW! Needless to say, we backed up out the room and went downstairs because it was NO WAY that we were about to stay there. Since their policy is no refunds and I was not about to budge from that lobby (would've camped out there if we had to), they (unapologetically) offered us another suite in the "renovated" tower. After checking the room thoroughly for bugs (and not finding any or evidence of any), we brought our luggage in. On the surface, the suite appeared to be an improvement but it really wasn't all that great. The furniture, although modern, was chipped everywhere (clearly, it was not commercial grade). There were stains in the carpet (which we found out later, was so dirty it blackened the bottom of our kids' socks), there were dirty dishes in the cabinet/drawers (which can probably be attributed to the room's last occupant but housekeeping should check for these kinds of things). In the kitchen cabinets, there were scratched/rusty Teflon cooking pots and the dishes were so paper thin we were almost afraid to use them.There was so much dust (that we couldn't get up) behind the wall bed that our poor son coughed/sneezed until we moved him to the back room.The iron board rack was hanging on by one screw, the toilet bowl rocked, and there were broken tiles in the floor. It was obvious that housekeeping and maintenance were very lax in their duties.

To make it worse, those amenities that we were looking for, were really not that great either. Although the pool area was enclosed, there were a TOTAL of 6 tubes for the very small lazy river which was way too lazy. There was hardly any current so our kids tried walking it. Bad idea...the bottom of the pool was so rough that it rubbed some of the skin off the bottom of their feet. The hot tub's temp. needed to be adjusted...it was way too hot (felt like we were lobsters boiling).The chlorine smell in there was so obnoxious one day that we didn't even get in.

At the end of our short trip, we packed up (checked for any "passengers" in our luggage), got our car (from the uncovered/unsecured parking lot across the street...no deck) and hurriedly left. Usually we take a last dip in the pool and say "goodbye" to the ocean but we were ready to get home.

Would not stay here again. There are certain things that we have come to expect from 3 star hotels and this one let us down. BTW, when we got home, we unpacked our luggage outside and shook everything just to make sure...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and staying with us at Sandy Beach Resort. Luckily, unlike some other resorts, Sandy Beach has over 220 rooms which enables us to offer guests rooms up to a few days out. We are comparable to any of the best resorts in Myrtle Beach and offer clean, affordable rates as evidenced by our other reviewers. From time to time, we do have a guest that does not find their stay satisfactory. We apologize that you did not enjoy your time at Sandy Beach.

We would like to take a moment to let our guests know that we do offer some of cleanest, most affordable, well kept rooms in Myrtle Beach. Our staff is friendly, helpful, and is here to help you with any of your needs. We promise you we aim to please.

All of our guests love our large pool area and location right on the beach. Just take a look at what other guests had to say. We hope to see you soon!

SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is our second time staying at the Sandy Beach. Gorgeous balcony views, well maintained pool area and friendly staff makes this a definite favorite hotel. The only issue I have is the parkingis located across the road and is always full! An expanded parking area would be a welcome addition.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for beautiful ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billfishmi, Public Relations Manager at Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Krystal,

First, thank you for your review of Sandy Beach and also being our guest. We do offer a variety of clean rooms at a great value for all travelers. Thank you for mentioning the parking which is something that we will continue improving for our guests. We hope to see you again!

Thanks
SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Address: 201 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandy Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A New Modern Oceanfront Resort with one, two, and three bedroom units. Sandy Beach Resort now boasts a Children's Interactive Pool Area, Fitness Room, Meeting Room, and a comfortable Oceanfront Lobby. Come Stay at one of Myrtle Beach's newest and nicest Oceanfront Resorts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Resort Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Myrtle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.