We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints here!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandy Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandy Beach Resort
201 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Lindsay, Ontario
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“No complaints here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel and grounds were great. Rooms, complete with full kitchen were clean and huge. Balcony overlooking ocean and beach. Two pools and hot tubs. Good location.
Really enjoyed this place and the fees were very cheap.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    247
    92
    58
    37
See reviews for
584
236
22
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Like other reviewers, I was initially skeptical of this property based on its incredibly low rates. Hubby and I decided to "splurge" on a 2-bedroom/2-bath street/side ocean view suite in the newer (Palmetto) section for a week in later April-early May, since the rates--booked directly through the hotel's website, and with an "early bird" booking discount--were crazy amazing, and "oceanfront" view for us was not a requirement. We could not have been happier with our selection.

The suite boasted two spacious bedrooms with "en suite" baths--one with a jetted tub!--laundry, a well-equipped kitchen with staineless/granite open to a breakfast bar/eating area and living room. The balcony off the living room provided a great "angled" ocean view looking to the northeast--perfect for sunrises and morning light--while the balcony off the "master" bedroom overlooked Ocean Boulevard and the Family Kingdom Amusement Park (a great sight at night). The suite was entirely floor-to-ceiling windows for amazing views looking inland/to the west, with abundant natural light, and great breezes when both balcony doors were open. The suite was exactly as shown on the hotel's website, no surprises. The beds and bedding were incredibly comfortable, not "hotel standard", with super soft duvets and pillow-top type mattresses.

The property is ideally situated, just one block south of the southern terminus of the newer Myrtle Beach Boardwalk and the 2nd Avenue Pier (great for breakfasts and cocktails!), and thus an easy walk to the center of town for nightlife/arcade amusements. It is also adjacent to the Family Kingdom park and waterslide park, which were not fully open when we stayed (so things were a bit quiet). It is right on the beach. Plenty of pool chairs and pools/spas themselves are large, plentiful, and clean (both outdoor and enclosed).

This is also an amazing smelling hotel, not something you experience too often! Whatever they are piping through their air ducts, it's lovely :o)

My only very minor complaints:
* With this much window space, more attention should be paid to keeping the windows clean. Even though sheers cover all windows, when we did want to open them for brighter views, lots of smudge marks and handprints at kid height.
* Beds were not made every day. We like to pull our covers up to "tidy up" before we leave the room for the morning, but we still thought housekeeping would make the beds up "tight". A call to front desk/housekeeping confirmed that, if made up, they did not touch the beds, until the fourth day when sheets get changed per policy. The rest of the suite was well cleaned and stocked.
* Pool area a bit untidy toward the end of the day, with dirty towels and rubbish left poolside, and no more clean beach towels to be had for the late-day swim. When I alerted the front desk clerk to the situtation, he said he'd have some towels sent down. They never came, and Hubby and I dripped our way back up to room. A look later in the evening showed the situation had not changed.

But overall, this was an amazing find. We will look forward to staying again!

Room Tip: * If sensitive to street noise, and staying in this sort of suite, ask for a high floor * Be sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just returned from Sandy Beach resort in Myrtle beach. Had a great time although the weather was not very cooperative. Hotel directly on the beach. Rooms very spacious and comfortable. Pool always clean and warm. Hot tubs working all the time. Hotel caters to the family atmosphere. The balcony was right on the beachfront. Rooms have washer and dryer which was handy as I came in wet from the rain on a few occasions. All in all a great palce to stay. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just returned from a 6-night stay at the Sandy Beach. We stayed in the same type of room as we did the previous year, a 3-bedroom King Suite in the Palmetto Tower. I can't say enough good things about this place. The condo was spacious and well-appointed with a new couch in the living area, plush bedding, and stainless steel appliances. We had plenty to keep ourselves busy with two outdoor pools, two outdoor hot tubs, an outdoor kiddie pool, and an indoor area with a pool, lazy river and hot tub. Also - it appears that the kiddie pool is heated now. When we came last year, it was ICE COLD. But this year, despite the below average temperatures Myrtle Beach has experienced this spring, the kiddie pool was significantly warmer. My three year old was thrilled!

Security is present 24/7 as you pull into the unloading zone underneath the hotel. Most of the security guards we encountered were polite and personable, with the exception of a younger guard who was working when we arrived last Saturday. He seemed entitled and pretty cocky. We mostly saw three older gentlemen working security, who were very helpful and polite.

We had an issue with the hot water one evening, and I called down to the front desk for assistance. Maintenance was knocking on our door within 2 minutes of my phone call, and had corrected the problem within 5 minutes.

All in all, another excellent stay. We are already planning our return trip for next year, and hoping to spend a few extra nights.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and stay in the newer building. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Ive been going to MB for many years and Sandy Beach Resort is by far the best place ive ever stayed. The kids absolutely loved it, the rooms were very nice, spacious and clean. The balcony had a great view. Many pools to choose from. Only bad thing i can say is the kiddie pool wasnt heated but the kids loved the heated lazy river most of all.... will definately be back again in a few months.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The price is great for what u r getting. Rooms are a nice size and have laundry. Kind of strange parking across the road in parking lot of store but no big problem. It's close to boardwalk. They need a tiki hut. Kind of boring with no music and drinks. The place next door was too expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bethlehem, PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

By far, this is the best value in Myrtle Beach. Big rooms with full kitchen make a family stay more affordable. The hotel has great pools and hot tubs ( and lazy river that the kids love) as well as access to many stores, family kingdom amusement park, and the boardwalk. This is our second stay here and we will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Address: 201 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A New Modern Oceanfront Resort with one, two, and three bedroom units. Sandy Beach Resort now boasts a Children's Interactive Pool Area, Fitness Room, Meeting Room, and a comfortable Oceanfront Lobby. Come Stay at one of Myrtle Beach's newest and nicest Oceanfront Resorts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Resort Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Myrtle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.