We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great price for oceanfront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sandy Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandy Beach Resort
201 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% March Madness Special
Ranked #17 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Jonestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good location and great price for oceanfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is our 3rd year staying here and just love it. We stay in the newer part of the hotel but you cannot beat the price for what you get. The folks at the front desk were very helpful this year only wish the weather was a little warmer but still had a great vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    258
    93
    58
    39
See reviews for
596
248
22
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our rooms were very dirty.
The bath tub looked like it had not been cleaned in a month.
Bring your own coffee, otherwise you will have to walk down to the 2nd floor for a cup.
The wi-fi did not work well...patchy at best.
No chairs on the balcony, and if you have a smoker...they are not allowed to smoke on it, you will be fined if you do.
My son was upset (I wasn't) his video game could not plug into the TV. The kid at the counter suggested we buy an adapter for $30 at a near-by store.
The maid treated me like a criminal when I asked for fresh sheets for the sofa bed. The ones already on it were filthy. We left after a few days without our "creature comforts" and stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

On our first visit to Sandy Beach resort in the spring of 2012 i had no negatives except for not getting a 4rth chair for the balcony. Well we decided to go back for the christmas holidays and rented the same 3 bedroom condo palmetto side only this one was two floors up. Upon entering the room it was the exact same as before very nice, very clean well stocked all was good till we looked on the balcony again just 3 chairs.... This time when we appraoched the front desk they said they would see what they could do, lo and behold within an hour we had our fourth chair..Why we could not have this in the spring ,i dont know but the Sandy Beach resort redeemed herself and will now see us return again..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My family vacationed in Myrtle Beach during spring break in 2010 & 2012 and stayed at the Sandy Beach Resort both times. We love this hotel! The prices are great, the rooms spacious and very nicely done. Having a washer/dryer in the room is fantastic! You don't have to bring as many clothes, nor do you go home with suitcases full of dirty laundry. I would definitely recommend Sandy Beach, and will return there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here starting the Sunday before Labor Day. The prices were lower because of the time of year. The beach was also not as crowded. We stayed in a King Magnolia Suite. It was nothing fancy but the price was right. We weren't in the room that much anyway. The Boardwalk was pretty close and within walking distance. The kitchen light didn't work, the side of the refrigerator was dirty and the rooms could use a little updating but overall it wasn't too bad. I wish the bedrooms were in the front by the balcony so we could hear the ocean at night. There happened to be a security guard when we pulled in and told us where to park (which is across the street) and where to go for check in ( which was on the second floor) or we wouldn't have known where to go.

Room Tip: There wasn't a restaurant at the hotel and we didn't use room service. It was very quiet. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the SBR the week of Oct 14-21st and this year was just as great as the last 3 years of finding this place. We stayed in the Magnolia side whiich is the older side with no problems at all We arrived early and had no problems with checking in and luckily our room was ready, the friendly staff is great, upon pulling into the loading area we were met by the security guard and found out he is orginally from our area, you could not ask for a nicer person Our room was very clean, well stocked with everything we needed for our stay, on one occasion we didn't get towels and we called and had them within 5 minutes. The pools were always clean and towels were there at all times, maybe a little sand here and there in them but lets face it people we are at the beach, Being right on the beach is a plus as we like to walk a few times a day and the boardwalk was just a few blocks away which we walked to get to the Skywheel.
The beds were wondeful and so comfy and the bedrooms being on the backside of the ocean
was a plus as you could sleep in if you wish. We never heard anyone in the halls when we were
in our rooms, the only time we heard anyone was when they opened the balcony doors.Yes the
rooms in the Magnolia section needs to be upgraded but overall we were really pleased with everything and will definately be going back next year. Thanks again to SBR for another great vacation!!! See you next year!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in September and our stay was excellent as always. We stayed in the newer side in a 1 bedroom and our room was clean and always we'll stocked. The staff was helpful and very nice, even the parking garage guy was nice and helpful! The pools were clean and we loved that its right on the beach, no walking! We had an amazing view of the ocean every morning. Loved that there is a friendlys just a block away which was nice with 2 young kids being that we could walk there for dinner. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an amazing place to stay in myrtle!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Address: 201 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A New Modern Oceanfront Resort with one, two, and three bedroom units. Sandy Beach Resort now boasts a Children's Interactive Pool Area, Fitness Room, Meeting Room, and a comfortable Oceanfront Lobby. Come Stay at one of Myrtle Beach's newest and nicest Oceanfront Resorts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Resort Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Myrtle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.