We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandy Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off - 4 night stays!
Ranked #16 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here starting the Sunday before Labor Day. The prices were lower because of the time of year. The beach was also not as crowded. We stayed in a King Magnolia Suite. It was nothing fancy but the price was right. We weren't in the room that much anyway. The Boardwalk was pretty close and within walking distance. The kitchen light didn't work, the side of the refrigerator was dirty and the rooms could use a little updating but overall it wasn't too bad. I wish the bedrooms were in the front by the balcony so we could hear the ocean at night. There happened to be a security guard when we pulled in and told us where to park (which is across the street) and where to go for check in ( which was on the second floor) or we wouldn't have known where to go.

Room Tip: There wasn't a restaurant at the hotel and we didn't use room service. It was very quiet. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    671
    238
    82
    57
    37
See reviews for
554
231
22
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the SBR the week of Oct 14-21st and this year was just as great as the last 3 years of finding this place. We stayed in the Magnolia side whiich is the older side with no problems at all We arrived early and had no problems with checking in and luckily our room was ready, the friendly staff is great, upon pulling into the loading area we were met by the security guard and found out he is orginally from our area, you could not ask for a nicer person Our room was very clean, well stocked with everything we needed for our stay, on one occasion we didn't get towels and we called and had them within 5 minutes. The pools were always clean and towels were there at all times, maybe a little sand here and there in them but lets face it people we are at the beach, Being right on the beach is a plus as we like to walk a few times a day and the boardwalk was just a few blocks away which we walked to get to the Skywheel.
The beds were wondeful and so comfy and the bedrooms being on the backside of the ocean
was a plus as you could sleep in if you wish. We never heard anyone in the halls when we were
in our rooms, the only time we heard anyone was when they opened the balcony doors.Yes the
rooms in the Magnolia section needs to be upgraded but overall we were really pleased with everything and will definately be going back next year. Thanks again to SBR for another great vacation!!! See you next year!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in September and our stay was excellent as always. We stayed in the newer side in a 1 bedroom and our room was clean and always we'll stocked. The staff was helpful and very nice, even the parking garage guy was nice and helpful! The pools were clean and we loved that its right on the beach, no walking! We had an amazing view of the ocean every morning. Loved that there is a friendlys just a block away which was nice with 2 young kids being that we could walk there for dinner. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an amazing place to stay in myrtle!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Sandy Beach for 4 nights in September. Room was very clean and large for a hotel room; separate bedroom, bath, living area, balcony, kitchenette and washer and dryer. Bathroom was a great size as well. Check in was very easy and the staff even allowed an early check in. Housekeeping staff leaves really so if your a late sleeper make sure you get your clean towels before they leave. I really had no complaints about the hotel. Price was right and staff was helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom condo. The room was clean, the kitchen has everything you need, the two queen beds were comfortable and the pools were heated. The kids played in the lazy river all day. The ocean view was beautiful and you can walk right out onto the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a great week at the Sandy Beach resort. Nice 2 bedroom condo type lodging.All furnishings very nice. Maid service daily if needed. Great view of the atlantic. Friendly staff and pools and hot tubs were all nice and well maintained.

Great location.Definitely would recommend to friends and would return without looking for anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

When i first decided to visit myrtle beach i spent about a month looking at different hotels everytime i thought i found one that i liked i found something wrong with it just when i was about to give up due to frustration i came across sandy beach it offered everything i was looking for balcony, pools, kitchen, jacuzzi tub which is wonderful i had to keep myself from falling asleep in there lol , and even a washer and a dryer which is good and convient . This hotel is located right on the beach which is easily accessible through a gate at the outdoor pools. The room itself was beautiful. The appliances up to date and easy to use. Washer and dryer in excellent working condition.We had an angle room suite in the palmetto the balcony is kind of small but thats why its an angle room. The indoor and outdoor pools and spa tubs were nice as well the only thing is that on two occassions the lazy river was cold. Overall i enjoyed my stay at this hotel and on my next visit to myrtle beach i will be sure to stay here again.

Room Tip: even though i choose the angle room i would recommend choosing and oceanfront room that way u have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Address: 201 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A New Modern Oceanfront Resort with one, two, and three bedroom units. Sandy Beach Resort now boasts a Children's Interactive Pool Area, Fitness Room, Meeting Room, and a comfortable Oceanfront Lobby. Come Stay at one of Myrtle Beach's newest and nicest Oceanfront Resorts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Resort Myrtle Beach
Sandy Beach Myrtle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.