We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Resort And Villas

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com CaribbeanResort
and 7 more sites!
Caribbean Resort And Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off for Summer
Ranked #16 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Alright”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Decent hotel for the price. The price isnt bad, but like anything that is cheap, it won't be as good, but it was good. Good sleeping quarters. Good view of beach. It had 2or3 hot tubs, 5 pools including indoor and outdoor, and 2 lazy rivers. That was very good. I stayed in the dominican part of this hotel, which isnt as good as good as the other parts

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Benmahalich,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Caribbean Resort & Villas! We're very proud of our water amenities and facilities and glad you and yours enjoyed them. We look forward to seeing you back at the resort again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    842
    347
    129
    59
    64
See reviews for
700
235
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed at the Dominican tower from Aug 3rd-9th. Hotel grounds are well kept, staff is very responsive and personable. We booked a suite on the beach, room included a bedroom (2 doubles), living room including a Murphy bed and a pull-out couch with a fantastic view. The rooms are dated and need updated furniture, carpet and bedspreads. However, the full kitchen has granite counters including the bathroom area. I expected a more modern unit when I booked a suite, but it was still nice. Outside hallways/breezeways need updated indoor/outdoor carpeting. Pools were open until midnight but there was not any noise for you early birds. The resort needs to clean the POOL bathrooms more often, they were aweful. Outdoor pool area was fun with a nice Tiki bar. Kids activites are available daily. Ample parking accross the street. If you are looking for better accommodations check out the hotel's 2,3 and 4 unit condos in the Cayman tower. I visited and they are awesome! Overall, we had a great time and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Book the Cayman units for top notch accommodations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear DAS12NJ,

Thank you for staying at the Caribbean Resort & Villas! Sharing your experiences with our staff is the ultimate way for us to gauge how we as a resort are operating - for that we are appreciative. We are pleased to hear your stay was satisfactory, and we hope next time your review is titled, "A+ Rating!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our first time to Myrtle Beach . We stayed in a two bedroom ocean front condo. It was a perfect location. It was clean. Maid service was great. Had a kitchen and washer and dryer in the unit which was very handy. Great view of the ocean. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Nina V,

Thank you for taking the time to review your first Myrtle Beach experience at the Caribbean Resort & Villas! Our staff is overjoyed to hear you were pleased with our clean facilities, beautiful views, and perfect location! We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the Chelsea Villas condo and place was literally a dump. Wifi signal was so weak that we could not pick it up on our laptop or ipad. Only one remote worked in the condo, so we had to keep bringing that remote into every room and share. Both lamps in one bedroom did not work. Hallway bathroom vent was dripping water the whole entire time we stayed there and it looked like black mold was growing on the ceiling and around the vent area. Housekeeper came and knocked on our door at 9am, on our 2nd day stay and we asked her to come back later since we were getting ready to go hang at the pool, but she never came back that day. All the housekeeper did was leave a trash bag outside our door with clean towels left in the trash bag. We only found out about this because we decided to look closer at the trash bag and noticed it had our room number on it. The housekeeper did not even leave us a note or anything to tell us that she left clean towels outside for us in a trash bag. The majority of the light switches in the condo didn’t work. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, hard as a rock. I did like the fact that the pool was at a perfect temperature. I think if we ever stay there again, we might opt for an actual hotel room and not the Chelsea Villas condo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Dexter1209,

Thank you for staying at the Caribbean Resort & Villas. Comments from valued guests like you are one of our best tools for continuously improving our guest experience. I'm sorry that your stay with us was not up to par and can assure you that we take guest issue very seriously. Whenever a guest has problems - whether its with our facilities or our staff, it's always recommended to contact a manager so we can rectify the issue. We hope you give the Caribbean Resort another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had two ocean front balcony suites to accommodate my family. Our rooms were not side by side but they managed to get them on same floor.

Check in Process--Long line but smooth, no issues the clerks were fast and friendly. Rooms were ready and we checked in early.

Rooms--Were clean and pleasant. No complaints. Furniture was fine, bed was fine.

Noise Levels--we had no issues with noise.

Housekeeping--The housekeeper assigned to our room was wonderful. Pleasant lady, took care of us. (Tip your housekeeper!) They do leave an envelope for you to turn in a tip for the housekeeper, I handed mine directly to her as I like to personally thank people who deliver great service.

Gym- It is adequate if you just want to continue a basic routine while on vacation. It is SMALL for a resort this large to have a gym this small is a little weird these days. I think the resort underestimates how much and how many people work out these days. It can be crowded and hot if you go at wrong time. ***Take note Caribbean Decision Makers...INCREASE your gym size.

Pools- No complaints, had a lot of fun. They ran short on towels a few times, especially in evenings.

Access to beach--Perfect, no complaints.

Grounds were kept clean, always seemed like plenty of staff around to assist.

We did not eat food from the resort as we bought our own or ate out at off site restaurants.

There was poolside entertainment as well that a lot of people seemed to enjoy, we just did not participate due to being in other activities.

Elevators--Expect to wait often for elevators.

Wifi---it was free and fast enough for me to conduct business with no interruption. (Outlook, Skype)....definitely a plus.

There is a yogurt place and Starbucks across the street. However we chose to walk one block further and go to Dunkin Donuts.

We walked south on Boulevard to the attractions area several times. This resort is in a decent location.

This is a FAMILY RESORT. This means LOTS of kids....did I mention LOTS OF KIDS?

If you do not understand the noises and activities that families with kids engage in, do not stay here. We had a blast as we are a family with kids. No complaints....

I only stress this because other people complained but just know this is a family resort. :)

Room Tip: I recommend asking for a room on the southern side...you are away from the elevators and no one ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We arrived at the Caribbean with a confirmed reservation for a 3-bedroom condo for our extended family. When we arrived, we were told that the condo was unavailable because the owner showed up unexpectedly and wanted to use it. We were split up for the first night and put into less pleasant rooms. The manager was very nice and comped our first night, but explained that owners had the right to do that. This is an unacceptable policy and one we have never seen anywhere else.

Once we got the 3-bedroom condo, it was nicer. The view was very nice and the condo was comfortable. We had some plumbing issues that maintenance came to fix three times.

The hotel has a great location and some nice amenities, especially for kids. If you are going to rent the condos, instead of the rooms, just beware.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We recently spent a week's vacation at the Caribbean Resort and this property's pools and beach access are second to none. There are multiple pools/hot tubs/lazy rivers, something for everyone. It's especially great for kids and families and being able to easily go back and forth between the pools and the beach is wonderful. The hotel is located at the end of the strip so the beach feels more secluded and less frantic, although this is a very busy place. Both the pool areas and beach were always clean and in excellent shape. It's really nice to be able to walk up and down the beach without having the noise and crowds that are present on the Boardwalk section of the strip. This location is ideal in my opinion.

When we checked in, I had requested a room on a high floor away from the elevator. I appreciated that my request was filled and we were on the 14th floor of the Dominican Tower. The view was wonderful and we were high enough that the pool noise was minimal and you could hear the waves crashing from the ocean. The room was quite spacious and the kitchen appeared to be newly updated with granite countertops, tile backsplash and new cabinets. I really don't think the hotel Web site photos do it justice. We did like our room and the layout is ideal when traveling with children because the kids can go to bed early and you can shut the door while the adults stay up later in the living room.

Housekeeping was so-so, I had to call down to the front desk and/or leave notes for the maid more than I would have cared to. This included issues like a broken blow dryer, the room not being cleaned yet at 5pm in the evening, carpets not being vacuumed, towels not being replenished, etc. It seemed like after the first day of our stay that housekeeping really slacked off. I also did not care for housekeeping leaving a tip envelope the last three days of our stay. I felt like the implication was that if you want the room cleaned well, leave me a tip. I generally would tip at the end of my stay and the envelope seemed presumptuous. However, they did generally address any issues we had right away and there was always someone available at the front desk to help/answer the phone.

My main issue that could deter me from staying here again in the future was the room smelling like cigarette smoke the day we checked in. Although this is supposed to be a non-smoking room, apparently guests are allowed to smoke on the balcony. This totally defeats the purpose of being in a non-smoking room. Obviously, the smoke gets into the room and adjoining rooms. Housekeeping came immediately after check-in and removed the ashtray from the balcony and sprayed the room at my request. But we had to leave the balcony door open for the first 24 hours to get rid of the scent. When I got home and unpacked my suitcase, I could still smell smoke on my clothes, ugh! I wish the Caribbean would consider at least making some floors completely non-smoking.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear SRW_TX,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us of your past experience at the Caribbean Resort! It seems that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We are pleased to hear that the amenities and accommodations worked great for your family.

We are very sorry to hear about your poor experience with housekeeping. Our housekeeping staff usually does a wonderful job so I truly apologize that you did not receive the proper service. I am also saddened to hear that your room smelt like smoke. We will absolutely take your suggestion into consideration about making floors non-smoking. We do hope you choose to stay with us again. Please fell free to contact us with any questions or concerns. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribbean Resort And Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Resort And Villas

Also Known As:
Caribbean Resort And Villas Hotel
Caribbean Resort And Villas Hotel Myrtle Beach
Caribbean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Caribbean Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Carribean
Caribbean Myrtle Beach
Address: 3000 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Resort And Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on ocean front, the Caribbean Resort & Villas is comprised of four separate buildings: the Dominican tower, the Cayman tower, the Chelsea Villas and the Jamaican building. Our Jamaican building is a four story structure that offers ocean view and ocean front rooms. Our Dominican tower features suites with two doubles or one king bed, an upgraded full kitchen, and living room with a comfortable sleeper sofa and a breathtaking ocean front view. Our Cayman tower offers two-three-and four bedroom condos with various bedding to suit your every need. Our Chelsea Villas our located across the street from the Cayman and Dominican towers. These villas feature two and three bedroom condos (Bedding varies in each unit.) Our guests will enjoy our spacious oceanfront pool deck with indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor lazy river, tiki bar, Jacuzzis and waterpark with an adult-size waterslide and silly submarine. During the summer children enjoy our supervised activity program where they can create crafts and take part in fun games. We are minutes from area golf courses, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyrtleBeachHotels, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Caribbean Resort And Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Resort And Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Caribbean Resort And Villas to your Saves list