We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Resort And Villas

Save Saved
You added Caribbean Resort And Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caribbean Resort And Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off for Summer
Ranked #17 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Spring Break 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Planning this year's Spring Break and disappointed to see that I didn't book in time! Stayed in an Oceanfront 3-bedroom unit last year April and LOVED it! Beautiful views of the ocean from the master bedroom and living room (often slept with the balcony door cracked to hear the waves), kids had nice rooms with TVs, washer and dryer was handy for sandy clothes and the kitchen was nicely equipped, as we often cooked breakfast in the morning. Unit was clean, up-to-date and the beds were comfy.

The indoor & outdoor pools were great too! Kids loved the water slides the most. We spent the majority of our day going from beach to pool and back to beach. Plenty of things to keep them busy without leaving the resort during the day.

Parking convenient (across the street) and the Caribbean is located on the "quieter" side, in my opinion, so it was easy to come and go when needed.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is worth the extra money. Request the main towers - Jamacian is across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Christibish,

It is very disappointing to hear that you did not book in time for spring break this year! Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your past experience with us at the Caribbean Resort. I am very pleased that you and your family enjoyed all that the we have to offer. I do hope that a room will open up for you so that you can enjoy another great vacation with us. Once again thank you for writing such a great review! We hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely,

Megan Mechanic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    929
    411
    143
    63
    70
See reviews for
798
248
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Keswick
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed in the "Jamaican" wing, 4th floor, which did offer ocean views, but was in need of updating (the fridge was disgusting) and is adjacent to the restaurant and not attached to main hirise building. There was a noisy generator in this old building which caused the room to vibrate at times ( DISCLOSURE: I did NOT ask to be moved, as I only stayed 2 nights, so I did not give the hotel the chance to correct the situation),
After doing some research, I must acknowledge that the Caribbean Resort is not the only hotel which practices what I am about to describe: In addition to the mandatory state and county taxes, CR imposes an additional $8.00 "service fee" to its room cost. For this charge, I received no service other than
that of being checked in at the front desk. This cash grab can inflate the cost of the room by as much as 12%. Other hotels have different charges, some more, and some less, and some none at all....even the "mandatory" taxes varied from hotel to hotel, some appearing to charge as much as 18%, some as little as 12%, I guess it is all about revenue flow.
The beach is pleasant, there is much to do, and the piers are enjoyable, but I found Myrtle Beach to be very commercialized, and I will not return.
I like full transparency.

Room Tip: The Jamaican wing is well-removed from the main building, but it does offer lovely ocean/beach views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Nigel G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this informational review. I am very sorry to hear about the issues you encountered in the Jamaican Building. I would like to inform you that within the past week we have updated the kitchens in these units. We truly do appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

In regards to the resort service fee, you are correct that it does vary from hotel to hotel. Considering we have many amenities here we do charge a fee of $6.00 per day. The state of South Caroline also charges a 13% tax which brings this fee to $6.78 per day. The city of Myrtle Beach just added a $1.13 fee per night for every resort in the area as well. These fees total $7.91 per day at the Caribbean Resort and Villas. Depending on which amenities a hotel has to offer this resort service fee is subject to change. I do hope this clarifies the reasoning behind these charges.

Once again thank you for your review. I do hope we can better serve you in the future when you stay with us at the Caribbean Resort.

Sincerely,

Megan Mechanic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had a wonderful stay with my boyfriend, we really enjoyed the property amenities and beautiful beach front views. Very relaxing trip in a great location - will definitely recommend the Caribbean Resort & Villas to my friends and family visiting Myrtle Beach! All in all, it was the perfect spontaneous weekend getaway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Francesca C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review! We are so pleased to hear that you and your boyfriend had a wonderful weekend with us. Please come back and see us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I planned a trip to Myrtle Beach for New Years and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the Jamaican villa. The room was clean and comfortable. The decor was pleasing and the view of the ocean from the balcony was picturesque. The staff provided great service. We are looking forward to our next visit and will definitely stay at the Caribbean resort and villas. When you visit be sure to have the breakfast buffet at the Captain's House.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Trina B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for the Caribbean Resort and Villas! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful vacation with us in the Jamaican Building. We have recently rennovated those units so I am very glad that you enjoyed the updates. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergenfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We visited the Carribean Resort in October 2012 and have already booked another vacation in May 2013. We had a great visit and are looking forward to our next one! Fabulous views of the Atlantic and large well maintained rooms and a gorgeous property. The service was all around top rate with friendly and knowlegable staff from the front desk to the maid service. Great Southern Hospitality !! Love, love, love the breakfast buffet at Sea Captain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Colleen,

We are thrilled to hear that you had a great vacation with us at the Caribbean Resort. We are so pleased that our staff offered you great customer service during your stay! I love the breakfast at the Sea Captains as well! Thank you for writing this wonderful review! We will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My children had a long weekend "winter break" from school at the beginning of February 2013. I was looking for a vacation package that would be fun and affordable. We hit the jackpot with Caribbean Resort. I know how busy the volume can get at the beach in the summer and many of the OTHER beach properties furnishings look worn and in some cases down right dirty. Not the case at the Caribbean! We had a 2 BR, angle ocean view that was spacious and well maintained. From the halls, the carpets, the bedding and the furniture were all in excellent condition! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Always greeting you with a smile as you come and go. I and my children were impressed with the pools. The lazy river is nice and the other pools are great as well! The Sea Captains's house was great for meals too. We think we have found a new summer vacation spot!
Thanks!
Michelle

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Michelle,

We are so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful winter vacation with us! Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review. Our staff works very hard to make your vacation an enjoyable one so thank you very much for noticing that. I bet the children would love our water slide and kids club program that is open in the summer season. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just returned to the cold snowy northeast after spending one of the best vacations my wife and I have experienced! We spent the month of January, 2013 here.
We had a 3 bdrm OF unit on the 2nd floor that was ideal. Well appointed with maid service provided. Met wonderful people from all over the US.
Waking up to gorgeous sunrises and listening to waves crashing on beach is a delight. The indoor pool area is wonderful. This resort has an activity program that is very good. Long walks on beach and early morning swims in the indoor pools each day helped us keep physically fit.
The staff was superb! Friendly and always willng to help!
One suggestion we would have is to replace carpeting in the units and perhaps an upgrade of the chairs.
We hope to return to Myrtle Beach and The Caribbean Resort next January and possibly for the month of Feb. too!
Overall, a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: If one choose lower floors, you may have to contend with indoor pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan M, Front Office Manager at Caribbean Resort And Villas, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Cow3pie,

Thank you very much for such a great review! We are so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful vacation with us and that you met wonderful people in the area. I believe we will be doing some more updates to these units next year so thank you very much for your suggestions. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribbean Resort And Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Resort And Villas

Address: 3000 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Resort And Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on ocean front, the Caribbean Resort & Villas is comprised of four separate buildings: the Dominican tower, the Cayman tower, the Chelsea Villas and the Jamaican building. Our Jamaican building is a four story structure that offers ocean view and ocean front rooms. Our Dominican tower features suites with two doubles or one king bed, an upgraded full kitchen, and living room with a comfortable sleeper sofa and a breathtaking ocean front view. Our Cayman tower offers two-three-and four bedroom condos with various bedding to suit your every need. Our Chelsea Villas our located across the street from the Cayman and Dominican towers. These villas feature two and three bedroom condos (Bedding varies in each unit.) Our guests will enjoy our spacious oceanfront pool deck with indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor lazy river, tiki bar, Jacuzzis and waterpark with an adult-size waterslide and silly submarine. During the summer children enjoy our supervised activity program where they can create crafts and take part in fun games. We are minutes from area golf courses, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Expedia, MyrtleBeachHotels, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Caribbean Resort And Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Resort And Villas Hotel Myrtle Beach
Caribbean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Carribean
Caribbean Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Resort And Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.