We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the Hampton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save
Ranked #1 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at the Hampton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2004

We had a wonderful stay from Aug. 20th-27th. The hotel was lovely and clean. Great housekeeping. Very friendly staff. We stayed in a spacious 2BDRM/2 bath suite on one of the higher floors. We had plenty of room and a wonderful view. The pools were never overly crowded nor was the beach crowded in hotel area. The breakfast was plentiful with many choices and the cookies in the afternoon were delicious. The pools were cleaned every dayand the beach swept.

We only saw room for improvement in a couple areas. It can be very difficult to find a table at breakfast time. It would have been nice to have eggs as a breakfast choice...the breakfast is heavy on the carbs.

As mentioned in another review...yes, the kids do swim in the lazy river. But, that occurs everywhere I have been that has a lazy river...and I have been to many hotels/water parks with lazy rivers. In fact, some of the places I have been have encouraged swimming outside of the tubes. At least here, at this very family oriented hotel, we found most of the families very respectful with the parents supervising the children in all the pools...with swimmers and tubers co-existing very well and having a good time together in the lazy river. The smaller children are especially cute swimming in the lazy river. It is irresistable to them...an entire pool that is not over their heads that 'pushes' them along in their swimming attempts. The delight on their faces when the current makes them think they are swimming really fast is priceless.

All in all, this was a great vacation. The Tripadvisor reviews were, again, right on target.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon Valley, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2004

This was the first time we were in Myrtle Beach and picked the hotel only from this website. Since the Hampton Inn Beachfront got soooo many good reviews, I booked it with confidence that we would be pleased. I was not wrong. From the moment we checked in to the instant we left, the hotel staff could not have been friendlier. Believe what you read on this website about how nice the hotel and the staff are. It's true. I did not visit other hotels, but after walking up and down the beach, you could just see that this hotel was hands above the rest. We were upgraded to a two-room suite (through Hilton Honors) and that alone made the trip worthwhile. I would definitely go back again and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2004

We spent 4 nights (8/19 - 8/2304) at the Hampton and were impressed from beginning to end! My wife and I do a lot of traveling, but this was only our third trip to Myrtle Beach. We chose this hotel because of the trip advisor reviews and the fact that they had last minute availability. We had an ocean front room on the 11th floor (I would not recommend the cheaper side views since they are on the street end of the hotel) with 2 queen beds. All of these rooms also have a tiny kitchenette with a nice refridgerator and microwave. Since there is no stove, this might not be a good choice for families that want to do their own cooking. We enjoyed the balcony with its heavy rocking chairs. Parking is in an attached indoor-outdoor garage and we always found a space. This hotel is well maintained and very clean. The breakfast buffet (included) is continental..but very well stocked and will satisfy anyone unless they want eggs (not available). The pool area is one of the best we have seen at the shore..and the beach is only a few steps from the door. We left some clothes in one of the drawers and called the hotel as soon as we returned home. Our clothes arrived 2 days later via UPS. This was typical of the excellent very professional service and extremely friendly staff. This hotel is a bit pricey...but worth the extra dollars for those that want a place that doesnt rent to those under 25, has a classy ambiance, and great staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2004

Originally this was not my reserved hotel (which turned out to be a dump).

Thank you Hampton for having a room (unfortunately on such short notice they only had a room for 4 nights and I would have loved 7).

Of all the hotels in MB this was excellent. As previously mentioned by other reviews the housekeeping was fantastic.

As for the lazy river (not enough tubes) this is not the fault of the hotel but the guests themselves.
The only negative comment is to keep your children from swimming in the lazy river.

The grounds/rooms/public areas/parking all of it was GREAT.

As for my next stay it would have to be this hotel or none (if this is your first visit to MB then be careful when choosing your hotel - other than this hotels are awful).

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2004

Absolutely outstanding. The entire resort holds very close to Hampton excellence. Friendly, helpful, professional staff. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2004

The Hampton Inn & Suites is a fantastic value, especially if you’re traveling with more than two people. Three of us stayed in a spacious, oceanfront, two-bedroom, two-bath suite. The master bedroom has a sliding glass door that opens directly towards the ocean; it is wonderful to catch the sounds of the ocean and fresh breezes throughout the night. The master bedroom has a king bed, it’s own bathroom, TV, clock radio, and computer access. The second bedroom has a queen bed, two bunk beds, a closet, a CD player, TV, Play Station, clock radio and window. The second bathroom is off of the living area, which has a couch, closet, chair/ottoman, and an oceanfront balcony with rocking chairs. The kitchen has a full-size refrigerator with icemaker, stovetop, sink, toaster, coffee maker, and a breakfast bar for four. You can ask for adjoining suites if traveling with a larger group.
The hotel offers a delightful breakfast that includes hot items and plentiful fruit, cereal, juice… Everyone in the family is sure to find favorite breakfast items. The hotel is well kept and well managed. The pool area offers two pools, two lazy rivers, and a hot tub. Two of the four pools and the hot tub are located under a deck, for those less tolerant of the sun. The pool area opens to a grassy area that has plenty of sun chairs, a couple of hammocks, and a wooden play set; a gate offers direct beach access (the beach is wide and clean) with lifeguard. You’re sure to love the Hampton Inn & Suites at Myrtle Beach! We can’t wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Va.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2004

I have to agree with the other reviewers here. This has to be one of the best in Myrtle Beach. But since no one's perfect, I still have a couple of minor complaints (at bottom).

But first, some raves. We (2 adults, 2 little children) checked in for several nights at the end of July. I was initially disappointed when told that our one-bedroom suite, number 102, was on the first floor of the hotel, just off the lobby. (I was concerned about noise, in particular.) However, the suite was near-perfect. We were actually one storey above the pool area, so the view from our living room was one of the pools, palm trees and the beach beyond. (The view from the bedroom was of the backside of the motel next door.) As it turns out, being on the first floor wasn't that bad after all. We were able to walk down one flight of stairs to the pool; the breakfast area was just around the corner (so even when the tables were full after 8 am or so, we were able to bring our breakfast right around the corner to our own suite); and it was super convenient to load and unload our luggage from the attached garage/parking deck.

A couple of nice touches at the Hampton were two wooden rockers and carpeting on the balcony. By contrast, the pricier Embassy Suites Kingston Plantation, about 10 miles up the beach, had plastic chairs and concrete-floor balconies when we stayed there last summer.

The Hampton's pool area was exceptional. One of the swimming pools and lazy river were fully outdoor and in the sun for most of the day. Under cover but still technically outdoor were another swimming pool, a kiddie pool and a giant hot tub. It was just a few steps further to the beach.

Now my minor complaints:

The breakfast was very convenient and seemed to have something for almost everyone--particularly carbohydrate freaks. But Hampton Inn & Suites would do a favor to its guests by alternating some eggs, breakfast meats or other protein in with the standard waffles and french toast sticks.

The only other (minor) complaint was that housekeeping seemed to be rushed. One day, the dishwasher detergent in our suite wasn't restocked and the kitchen area could've been freshened up a bit more.

These are, of course, minor complaints and should not keep anyone from staying at this fine, family-friendly hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
6.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#13 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,366 reviews
3.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#18 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,327 reviews
5.9 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#8 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront

Address: 1801 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront hotel, located directly on the beach. Our Myrtle Beach hotel is located just two miles from Myrtle Beach Jetport and minutes from local attractions like Market Common, Broadway at the Beach, Coastal Grande Mall, and Myrtle Beach's new 'Sky Wheel'. Our two-story lobby with pine floors offers beautiful Atlantic Ocean views. Start your day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast(R) and enjoy views of the ocean. If you're on the go, be sure to grab one of our Hampton's On the Run(R) Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday. Enjoy a gourmet blend of coffee available every day, all day. Sunbathe and swim in one of our two lazy rivers, three outdoor and four indoor pools at our Myrtle Beach oceanfront hotel. Our beachfront playground is great for the little ones in your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Low Cost Holidays, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing