We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Positives but Needs Some Refurbishing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #3 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Many Positives but Needs Some Refurbishing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Influenced by its excellent Trip Advisor ratings, lodged here during the off-season. The view of the ocean is outstanding from the upper floors. The location very nice if you prefer quieter surroundings as opposed to hotels closer to "downtown" Myrtle Beach.

PROS: The bedding in our room was comfortable and the room was clean. The free breakfast was very good with a huge variety of items to choose from. The housekeeping and breakfast staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Some of the front desk personnel were friendly.

CONS: The buildings of the complex are showing their age and it's time for fresh paint and some refurbishing. The furnishings in our room were in need of replacement. I.e., the lining of the drapes were frayed and completely separated from the back of the drapes. The upholstery on the chairs was thin. The obligatory white nautical themed wooden pieces had extremely dirty soiled knobs and drawer fronts. The walls in the room needed repainting, the bathroom door was in bad shape and the bathroom wallpaper was well past its prime. The floors of a couple of the elevators were in need of a thorough cleaning.

All in all, it's a nice hotel--but it could be MUCH nicer with some attention to details.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms on upper floors offer spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    343
    82
    27
    12
See reviews for
662
458
36
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel was so beautiful and the views where breathe taking. I loved every minute of my stay. The staff was wonderful.They do massages by appt also next time. Clean, close to everything, right on the beach. The pools and hot tubs where great. We visited the Lengends Show, and the Palace theater and the Broadway at the beach and got to watch the fireworks. All really close. I am scheduled to go back to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Certainly the best Hampton Inn we stayed during this recent trip regarding location, convenience, cleanliness, friendliness of the staff and comfort. No idea how it is during the peak of summer but highly recommended for the quiet season. We shall return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It's a nice and clean hotel right on the beach. Breakfast is very good, and the hotel lobby area has lots of seating and is decorated nicely. My only complant is the time to make reservations. Other than that, it's a perfect place to stay for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is my 3rd review of this property over the last 2 years. This HI&S must be popular with travelers because my reviews here are viewed more often than any of my other TripAdvisor reviews. So let me tell you what we saw this time.

While this remains my first choice in Myrtle Beach, we saw some troublesome, fundamental housekeeping issues during our stay that prompted me to revise my rating to Very Good. My observations below were based on a 5 night visit, not just a day or two.

1. Breakfast area - certainly breakfast time is busy but some attention to the dining area during mealtime is in order. We saw prior patron food crumbs all over table tops without no one cleaning them, crumbs under the tables, on the chairs, stained chair pads, food & liquid splashed on the pictures on the wall next to our table (two person tables by the posts) and an accumulation of dust on the chair rail near and around our table. This does not make for an appetizing meal.

2. Pool area - lounge chairs had numerous holes in them, were peppered with bird dirt and obviously were not hosed off prior to the start of the day (how about putting the chairs under the overhang so the birds don't drop on them), the bottom of the pool was stained (maybe it's getting painted after peak season), the 'portable' bathroom to be used when at the pool was smelly, didn't lock from inside and generally a disgusting and albeit inexpensive way to meet the requirements for a bathroom (invest in a permanent one please) and lastly, several of the permanent water toys in the kids pool area (e.g. guns, sea horses, etc.) that squirt water were in serious disrepair and in some cases hazardous with sharp metal edges.

3. Room - missed crumbs on sofa, dirty glass and fork still where we left them and not cleaned.

4. General - walk off mats on level P were littered with dirt, candy wrappers, etc. and obviously not on someone's checklist each day to vacuum; taped signs were posted in the elevator about an alarm test - that's fine - but whoever took them down after the test left half the tape still sticking to the elevator cab wall. This is just sloppy.

These issues, which are not difficult to identify and remedy by trained staff, surprised us based upon our prior stays. Not sure why standards seemed to have slipped here but we hope it's not the result of management or procedural changes as I'd hate to see this fine hotel lose any more ground.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We enjoy staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites in Myrtle Beach. We stay in a suite with a workable kitchen, 2 TVs, 2 balconies. The rooms are nicely furnished and kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. The breakfast area is really pretty and the food is delicious with a wide selection of food. Having coffee and tea at our disposal at all times was helpful. The staff is very interested in our comfort. We have no complaints and stay here frequently.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I'm always hesitant to recommend a fabulous place for I fear two things will happen: It will become so popular that it's difficult to get a reservation, and that the price will skyrocket. The second worry may not occur here, for this Hampton's rooms are expensive compared to many. What we wondered about was why it was a Hampton and not a Hilton Garden Inn, for its luxury is upscale.
What you find here is a beautiful motel where every room has an oceanfront view and a balcony with high quality rocking chairs and a table. On the main floor, porches and large windows are adorned with rocking chairs. Outside are numerous heated swimming pools, hot tubs, and lazy rivers with many lounge chairs and even hammocks. The beach is right there.
Besides its beauty, there are a few extra-touches. The room's bathroom has mouthwash; cookies are set on a table by the front desk many times in the evening. I was impressed by the staff. The room attendants are plentiful and do a great job. You can sense that the staff enjoys working there, and even displaying their decorated jack-o-lanterns for guests to vote for their favorites shows the positive attitude that is reflected abundantly during the guests' time there.

Room Tip: No worries! All of the rooms are oceanfront and include a microwave and refrigerator as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 1801 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have recently acquired 150 more feet of oceanfront property, so we now have 450 feet of contiguous beach frontage. Since we have only 227 rooms and suites, the beach in front of our Hampton Inn & Suites is never crowded even during peak season. We have recently added: The Sanctuary Spa located in the South Tower, additional restrooms on the pool level, and in accordance with federal regulations (FEMA), our heated pools and hot tubs are now completely enclosed from December 1 until April 1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.