We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I have ever stayed at!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #4 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I have ever stayed at!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it was on the beach. Rooms are small and cramped, had booked an "ocean view" room and I guess it was ocean view if someone held onto my ankles as I stretched out over the balcony. Rooms were dirty , never vacuumed,or restocked even though we complained about this. Breakfast buffet was just okay and like a free for all. Workers were not at all helpful or interested in interacting with they're guests. Hotels are so close together you can hear the conversations on the balcony at the hotel next door. Would never go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosslindsa, Owner at Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank your for staying at our Hampton Inn & Suites on the oceanfront in Myrtle Beach. I am sorry that you thought that your room was small and cramped. We have one and two bedroom suites that are larger comparable Hampton rooms anywhere. Please book a suite next time. After Labor Day our rates drop considerably. You can get a much larger rooms for a much lower rate, and the beach the restaurants are not crowded. Please come again!

Buddy Lindsay Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,216
    375
    91
    32
    16
See reviews for
731
529
37
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel the week of July 4th. This hotel was everything I hoped and more. It's right on the beach, you walk onto your terrace and ocean is in front of you. We slept with the terrace door open (we were on a high floor) most nights to hear the waves. I highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Glad the hotel expanded to two towers. Lobby is great. 2nd floor porch overlooking the ocean is awsome. Pools and lazy river are great. Steps to the beach. Room was decorated nicely. Plenty of room. Wish the hotel had 1 more elevator though. Great place for a family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ga.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed from a Monday--Monday and had a great experience. Our room was oceanfront, we enjoyed the pool, hot-tub, lazy rivers, and beach. The facilities are beautiful and the staff friendly. This is our 2nd summer coming to this hotel and we weren't disappointed this year either. The breakfast is alright though not great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Staying at this hotel or any Hampton for that matter is highly recommended by me and my family. The cleanliness and overall condition of the rooms will not be beat anywhere. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again when we visit the beach....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Facility is very nice, staff is helpful and friendly. Location is on the quiet end of Myrtle Beach and the beach wasn't crowded. Would definitely stay here again. We stayed at the facility for seven nights over the July 4th holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our stay here was fantastic! I am VERY picky about the cleanliness of hotel rooms, but there was nothing to worry about here as far as that was concerned. The room was spotless! The kids enjoyed the second bedroom with a queen and bunk beds, while my husband and I enjoyed our room with a king bed. The white linens on the beds were crisp and fresh. Although it was a little pricey to stay here, if you desire a TRULY CLEAN ROOM that feels like home away from home, this is the hotel for you. Because this hotel is on the beach, we would walk out to enjoy the ocean whenever we felt like it. Every time we returned to our room from an outing, the first thing we did was open the sliding doors to the balcony off the living room AND the sliding doors in our room (no sliding doors in kids' room) so we could enjoy hearing the waves, feeling the ocean breeze blowing in our suite, and just looking out at the beautiful Atlantic Ocean! We will stay here again for sure! Also, the breakfast served every morning was delicious-plenty,of options (making the waffles was my favorite). Last plus about this hotel was the spa-like shower. I took three showers a day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 1801 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have recently acquired 150 more feet of oceanfront property, so we now have 450 feet of contiguous beach frontage. Since we have only 227 rooms and suites, the beach in front of our Hampton Inn & Suites is never crowded even during peak season. We have recently added: The Sanctuary Spa located in the South Tower, additional restrooms on the pool level, and in accordance with federal regulations (FEMA), our heated pools and hot tubs are now completely enclosed from December 1 until April 1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.