We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Near Much but Excellent Accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 Fantasy Harbour Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579 (Formerly Sonesta ES Suites Myrtle Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not Near Much but Excellent Accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We got a great rate for the Myrtle Beach Marathon. We ended up getting two separate bedrooms each with its own bathroom, plus the living area and kitchen, for what we'd pay for a regular room at a Hampton Inn. The rate included a full buffet breakfast, with sausage or bacon, eggs, waffles, and all the other standards. Their fresh fruit was actually freshly cut, not just out of a can like at some other "suite" hotels.
The neighborhood was nearly devoid of other active businesses, so that was a bit odd. Restaurants and other businesses were a 5-10-minute car ride away. Our room overlooked a virtual ghost town, the parking lot of the outlet mall and Medieval Times, which filled up on Saturday night. However, we never felt unsafe, and the property was top-notch in facilities, staff, cleanliness, and room amenities. The lounge/breakfast area had ample seating and 24-hour coffee/hot water for tea/cocoa. Elevators were clean, quick and reliable, and the room was clean and had no noticeable odor, something my allergic nose appreciated. Sometimes even cleaners or air fresheners make hotel stays unbearable. Our phones picked up 4G signal as we sat on the sofa with all the curtains closed, and the signal from a personal Wifi device was great, too.
I liked the property so much that immediately upon unpacking my bags I signed up for their frequent traveler program. I have since searched for this property online at other planned race locations, and have been disappointed not to find many. I'm hoping this company will continue to grow and maintain its excellent quality.
Although there were a couple of dogs in residence on our floor (evidenced by the paw magnets on the door frames), we were never bothered by barking or odors. The hotel was nearly full, but our room was quiet and we had no problems whatsoever. The only thing that was noisy was the AC, which I assume was a heat pump trying its best in freezing temperatures.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    70
    31
    16
    10
See reviews for
116
45
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel was previously a Staybridge suites and is essentially the same physically. The staff, however is all new and wonderful. Brittany and Lucinda made our stay absolutely wonderful. They were cheerful and helpful. The manager's reception is a nice tradition that they have maintained. It allows a nice opportunity to socialize in the great room. The rooms are clean and the toiletries smell great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I wanted to get away for a couple of days with my small dog. A few other hotels take dogs but they have to weigh 20 lbs. or less. Well, my sweetie, Ms. Honey is about 30 and someone at the other hotel recommended Sonesta because they allow up to 70 lbs. We had the best time. Not only was the hotel suite more than I could have asked for, the rate was fair and the biggest plus were the friendliness staff and best buffet I have ever seen ANYWHERE. These people really know how to make a guest feel welcome and are so professional and accommodating. Yes, they are a little out of the way but WELL worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Units have separate bedroom and living spaces as well as a kitchen space with a breakfast bar. Everything was very clean, and it was quiet. Staff were pleasant and responsive. Daily free breakfast and light suppers were available. Only drawbacks were no indoor pool and a little out of the way location (several miles from the beach). Great overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was attracted by the excellent rate offered by this hotel trying to keep my expenses for my family trip down, and expected to get exactly what I paid for, a nice clean comfortable hotel with good service. To my shock and excellent surprise, the Sonesta delivered way more than I had bargained for. Located just off Hwy 17 Bypass near the Theme Park, it is convenient to everything at the beach. Broadway, the Shopping, food, entertainment. The rooms were beautiful, exceptionally clean, modern and had everything you would need for a family at the beach. The staff were so kind, courteous and wen our of their way to do everything they could to be of assistance. The free breakfast each morning was top class, served and supervised by the very friendly cook. While it was winter when we stayed, we could see that the pool and outdoor Tiki Bar were really beautiful also and look forward to going back in the summer to enjoy a swim and some cocktails. One of the favorite hotels ever, will always choose this first when I visit Myrlte Beach !!!

Room Tip: Just ask the Staff they are incredibly helpful and will do whatever they can ! all of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt.Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here the last time maybe 3-4 years ago when it was still Staybridge Suites. This week I got a very fair rate; the room and entire property were very clean; and the check-in process was polite and smooth although I had several questions and asked to make a couple of changes. I thought the breakfast choices were pretty good. Coffee was good, and always available. Sure, the area surrounding the hotel is mainly a closed-down theme park and outlet store complex, but I knew that before I checked in. The outside grounds are well kept and I felt safe. Overall I will recommend this hotel b/c it is a great value for the price and there was nothing really wrong. One tip: conversation in the lobby dining area can get loud, even in the morning, so you may want to avoid a room that looks out on the lobby.

Room Tip: don't book a room that is very close to the lobby/dining area. Noise levels can be loud and disr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I am more of a fan of Hiltons and Marriotts, but we stayed here this time. It is a bit out of the way, looks like they tried to build up this area, and it hasn't worked out too well. You can't really walk to anything, but it is just a very short drive to get to restaurants, Broadway on the Beach, the mall, ect. It was very clean, I would compare it to a skimped down Residence Inn, but you get what you pay for, and if you want that, you will pay at least 50% more. If you want something very affordable and decent size, this is great. Even though the area doesn't have much, you will feel very safe at this hotel. In the evening, they have a manager's reception, the food was eh, but it was free, they had hotdogs (the kids enjoyed those), and veggies and chips. The veggies weren't that great, but they also have sodas and water for the kids and beer and wine for the adults, free of charge. I was impressed with teh breakfast spread, they had a lot of choices, no sous chef or anything like that, but delicious grits, bagels, ect. They also have waffles you can make and eggs, ect. Overall, the place was fine if you are looking for an affordable place. Clean and safe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
#59 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach at 48th Avenue
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#44 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites

Address: 303 Fantasy Harbour Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579 (Formerly Sonesta ES Suites Myrtle Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites Myrtle Beach - West Enjoy the convenient location to all of the best attractions of Myrtle Beach, South Carolina at the Staybridge Suites® Myrtle Beach-Fantasy Harbour hotel. Guests are within reach of everything this popular resort town has to offer and just a short distance from the airport that the hotel provides complimentary shuttle services for. Your accommodations are in the center of it all. You'll love enjoying our complimentary, hot breakfast before strolling along the Boardwalk while shopping for souvenirs. Minutes from the hotel's site, Myrtle Beach offers surfing and swimming opportunities along with excellent sunbathing and picnic spots. After a long day in the sun, you can return to the hotel's welcoming suites. Myrtle Beach is teeming with business and corporate travelers enjoy amenities that ensure convenience. Free wired and wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center help you stay productive. The convention center and universities like Coastal Carolina University are a short drive away. When you're looking for Myrtle Beach accommodations, look no further than this well-equipped hotel. The refreshing outdoor pool and well-equipped Fitness Center are some of the extras that help make your stay more memorable. Be sure to stop by the Pantry for snacks before heading down to the sports court, outdoor pool and courtyard. We invite you to "Get Comfortable" and call this hotel home on your next beach visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG and Venere so you can book your Staybridge Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Myrtle Beach - Fantasy Harbour Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.