We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel
9551 N Kings Highway, Highway 17 North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4005 (Formerly Plantation Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #46 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Mrytle Beach, United States
1 review
“Clean but not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel was clean and pretty new. It was clearly an 80-90 dollars a night accommodation. They charged over 206 because of the season. It was not worth the money spent. I think I should have looked a little longer for a place closer to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    33
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
49
36
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at this motel Friday, July 19. The staff member April was very nice and very helpful. I observed her at a very busy time and she kept her cool and sweet attitude through much stress. The room was very nice and the bathroom was larger than usual for a motel. We would stay here again if we go back to Myrtle Beach. The location is very convenient also. Thank you for such a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I recently was a guest at the Best Western Plus and it was a blessing. The location is great because you are close to the beach and also close to restaurant row. The rooms were super clean, the lobby is gorgeous and the staff is amazingly awesome. My boyfriend sliced open his finger before we left for vacation and it broke open again while we were at the hotel. I called the front desk to ask if they possibly had Neosporin or something of that ilk and Adam searched through all of the first aid kits by the time I got down to the desk. Just such a wonderful atmosphere and the rooms are quiet at night which is great when you have small children. The breakfast (which is complimentary!) was fantastic and all of the staff is ready to help you with anything you need. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusMyrtleBeach, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! Thank you for spreading the word and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Myrtle Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel was nice. The location was great for us, it was just off the highway with no problem getting in or out of the parking lot. The beach was just a few minutes away and the price wasnt bad at 134.00 a night for a regular king room. The colors were great and the room comfortable.(although bed wasnt very comfortable) Everything felt clean. Rooms and decor are up to date. However even though we had a non-smoking room I could still smell the cigarrette smoke inside the hallway from the Smoking rooms near by us and that was a big turn off.


Also my credit card was charged $40 more than it was supposed to have been charged because of an "attempted room upgrade the night before". That was refunded but Im glad I caught the error! All in all it was not a bad hotel, I was ready to write a great review until I smelled the smoke and then we checked out and the bill was incorrect.

That just put a bad taste in my mouth I suppose.


Room # 125

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusMyrtleBeach, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Allo of our rooms are smoke free. During your stay, a guest accidently broke the the exterior pool door which allowed the smoke from outside to drift in the hallway. We have since fixed this issue. Also, we would never over charge a guest intentionally. On arrival, our clerk cheked to see if we could give you a free upgrade, but those rooms were already booked. When he did that, computer accidently made your discounted rate revert to the original rate. Even if you had caught the error after you had left the property, we still would have corrected the issue without issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

we use this hotel often for family and friends visiting. The staff is always wonderful..rooms immaculate and the owner is a jem!! The parking is great and although not beachfront-its quiet and very close to shopping and a short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPMBH, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are happy we were able to make your visit to Myrtle Beach a pleasurable experience. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

this was my second stay here at the Best Western Plus. This hotel is one of my favorites because it is new and extremely clean. The staff was very hospitable and the location is great. Definetly on my list for another stay in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was a nice surprise, updated room quite and clean. breakfast in the morning was as good as most who offer it free.The price was second to none as we viewed a few along the kings hwy and found most to be very low quality. The fridge was on & off but keep drinks cool and the micro was small so a standard bag of popcorn had to be popped down in the lobby

Room Tip: A sleeper of a motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel

Address: 9551 N Kings Highway, Highway 17 North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4005 (Formerly Plantation Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach! We are 100% smoke-free and have been completely renovated for 2012. Guests of our property enjoy our outdoor pool, business center, hot deluxe breakfast, 24 hour fitness room, wireless internet access, on-site parking, and unlimited calls to continental USA absolutely free. Want to bring along your furry family member? No problem! We have pet friendly rooms. (Pet friendly rooms are limited & subject to availability.) Book your stay in one of our 90 spacious rooms today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.