We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice Hotel. We Would Stay Again"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel
9551 N Kings Highway, Highway 17 North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4005 (Formerly Plantation Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #30 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Dumfries, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Nice Hotel. We Would Stay Again"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is located right on Restaurant Row on busy N. Kings Hwy/Rte 17 N in Myrtle Beach. Basically centered in the middle of all the attractions so there was only a short drive. Not located directly on or across the street from the beach, so if that's what you want, then this is not the place for you! We stayed in a King Executive Suite with sleep sofa and whirlpool tub in August 2012. The room was MUCH larger then I expected! It was updated, not the best choice of colors (blue and green), but definitely clean. Microwave, fridge, and a small sink are located within the room. We were on the 3rd floor and never saw or heard another guest! Decent breaskfast options with make your own waffles, sausage, eggs, cereal, bagels, O.J., coffee, etc. My only complaints are that there were mildew stains around the whirlpool tub which could have easily been fixed with some new caulking and on our second day and we went to the beach and came back to an unclean room. We were told that housekeeping thought that no one was on that floor. Someone came quickly and cleaned the room for us. Good hotel for the money.

Room Tip: Kng Executive Suite with Sleep Sofa is big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    23
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
26
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We wanted a hotel by the beach and found this one just across the street and at a very reasonable price. The staff was friendly and very accomodating. The attendants at breakfast
were very efficient, especially with the large number of people and children. The room was clean and the bed, pillows and blanket were all it excellent shape. The pool was very well maintained. We would recommend this Best Western to anyone going to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

So I accidentally booked this room through a 3rd party site, thinking it was their sister site located on Ocean Blvd with the same name. Unfortunately I couldn't cancel/change the reservation and they were one of the few hotels that had a vacancy. So we decided to buck it up and stay because it wasn't too terribly far from the beach. okay, so I've read many of the positive reviews on here and I think they've gotten it confused with the sister property. This property on Kings Highway is "updated" as the rooms were clean and new furnishings. But the halls and lobby were dank and rank. We were on the 3rd floor and the air went out in the halls, which revealed the stench of the old carpets. The staff was unapologetic about it, and only said "at least it's working in the rooms". The pool was small and dirty. and the 1st floor had a stench aslo because this was the floor they allowed pets . . by the way this was not a cheap hotel, but so not worth the price! Don't get it confused-this is NOT the Best Western on Ocean Blvd which is much nicer!! this is an old renovated hotel...but a little paint and new sheets are NOT upgrades.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Best Western Plus was very clean and modern. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast attendant was cheerful and helpful. The housekeepers were friendly and attentive. The location was very convenient. The bed and pillows were comfortable. I only have two complaints. There was no fresh fruit on the breakfast buffet. It was all processed food and the lighting in the room was terrible. I'm used to low, bad light in hotels but this was pretty bad. I put on sunscreen in the room and had no idea that I looked like a clown until someone told me so outside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our mini vacation on July 19 - 22, and the rooms were so clean we could walk barefoot on the floors, (which we don't do in a lot motels). Sherry the night clerk was wonderful. We had the chance to meet the managers of this Best Western and they were super nice people. They treated us like family. I would recommend this Best Western to anyone. The breakfast was wonderful. We give this place a 5 star.

Thanks for everything.
Donald and Betty Jo

Room Tip: Very clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed here July 18 through July 20. The hotel was super clean and the front desk attendants were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was a very good value. The breakfast attendant, Sharon I think, was so attentive to our needs and kept everything clean and well-stocked. The pool is on the small side, but it was adequate and clean. We did not have to travel very far to get to the beach. Hotel is on the busy Kings Highway across from the Comedy Cabana. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: At this time, I would not stay in a room close to the elevators. Everytime the elevator door closes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This beautiful hotel is totally updated, clean, and has a staff that was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was terrific! I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Holiday Inn
Address: 9551 N Kings Highway, Highway 17 North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4005 (Formerly Plantation Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#43 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#51 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach! We are 100% smoke-free and have been completely renovated for 2012. Guests of our property enjoy our outdoor pool, business center, hot deluxe breakfast, 24 hour fitness room, wireless internet access, on-site parking, and unlimited calls to continental USA absolutely free. Want to bring along your furry family member? No problem! We have pet friendly rooms. (Pet friendly rooms are limited & subject to availability.) Book your stay in one of our 90 spacious rooms today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsClick, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.