We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added Aqua Beach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aqua Beach Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Withers Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Columbia,SC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel is recently remodeled and it shows. The place is nicely appointed and everything seems fresh and clean. Each room looks out toward the ocean, but because it is across the street from the beach, the view is not unobstructed. The location is good if you want to be more in the heart of the action. The room was quite large. Just 2 negatives about the room. Our shower curtain was moldy and the towels were a bit frayed. Also, you are asked to wash your own dishes or there will be a fee charged - that made me nervous as to how well washed the dishes in the cabinets really were. We enjoyed our stay over all and would stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view! Room 1106 has a really nice view!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Aqua Beach Inn and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do apologize for the issue you had with the shower curtain and we took care of that as soon as you let us know about it. We have also let housekeeping know that you had issues with the towels and they are currently going through all of our stock to be sure this does not happen again. As for your concerns about the dishes, we do go through all of the dishes and sanitize them when we clean our check outs. The notice about cleaning dishes or there will be a few is so that we do not have people leaving sinks full of extremely dirty dishes. We look forward to your next visit here to the Aqua Beach Inn.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    85
    40
    11
    16
See reviews for
95
67
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powder Springs, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had an ocean view room (we were two blocks from the beach, and the view was between buildings!), but we were very happy with its central location. In-room coffee was excellent, which is a surprise because most of the time those little 4-cup coffee machines with their associated "coffee dustings in a filter" make really lousy coffee!.

This hotel was exactly what we expected and we were quite happy.

Room Tip: Icemakers are only on the fourth and eighth floors; laundry is on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are so glad that you were happy with your stay with us at the Aqua Beach Inn. We are happy that you enjoyed the property's central location and view of the ocean. We hope that you keep us in mind the next time you visit Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Pool and whirlpool are outside and were closed in february. No amenities except in room coffee. No oven. Kitchen pipes leaked and flooded floor. No breakfast. Only basic cable, no premium or dvd player. Maid did not vacuum or replace trash can liners, kitchen towels, or dishcloths. Electricity kept going out. Only one outlet in bedroom area. Did have ocean view from across the street, but moved to an oceanfront hotel with indoor heated pool and whirlpools for only $15 more a night. No fitness center or restaurant

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of the Aqua Beach Inn. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our pool was closed during your stay, but our hot tub is open year round. The power did go out during your stay one time for appoximately 1 hour. According to the power company a squirrel got into a transformer box and left several area businesses and residents with out power. We also have 4 outlets in the bedroom area, two of which are available for use. We do not have breakfast as all rooms have a kitchenette. We only advertise a kitchenette as there is no oven and we do have DVD players available upon request. We do apologize that you did not receive adequate housekeeping and know that we have let the supervisor know of your concerns. We also apologize for the pipes that leaked and had maintenace fix the problem immediately. We would like you to know that we take all comments seriously and use them to help improve our staff and property.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and the fiance stayed the weekend of january 12th 2013. Its the second time we have stayed at aqua beach and once again, were very pleased!! Its january (not very busy) so it was great to get a parking place beside the hotel. There is only one elevator, but again we were aware of that before we booked, not a big deal even if it had been busy. We got a great room with a great view of the ocean. The room was clean. The only thing is it would be nice to have the people who clean the rooms make sure they clean up everything even if it may not be a big deal to them (toothpaste on bottom part of the sink in the bathroom). But it was not a big deal! The coffee pot does need to be replaced be the handle kept coming off. The staff were Very helpful and pleasant. And the beds are amazinggggg!!! Its great location even if it is not right on the beach, you just take a minute to walk across the street and there are a couple restaurant/bar super close (one right in front of the hotel and not to far down the street). We Love staying here and will continue coming back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Aqua Beach Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! And thank you for the comments about the things you were not happy. We are always looking for ways to make our guest's stay better, so that they want to come back and visit us again. We look forward to seeing you the next time your visit Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Sometimes when you think something is too good to be true you should listen to yourself! I bought a coupon to stay in this hotel over the 2012 holidays. I'm an avid review reader and on another site it had decent reviews. Imagine my dismay when we arrive and the elevator is broken (with an alarm that was quite loud) and our room is on the 10th floor! Luckily, we had other places to go so didn't schlep our stuff up 10 flights, but the front desk person didn't seem agreeable when I asked if we could have a lower room if it was still broken later. Needless to say, the elevator broke again the following day and my entire family got a good workout.
The room itself was average, but clean. The A/C-Heater wasn't working when we came in, after diagnosing, it was because they had wrapped the cord up into the actual unit. Once we found the cord, plugged it in, it worked fine. The coffee maker did not work in my room, or my brother's room next door; exploded hot water over the counter. The towels were AWFUL. There was some awful hum that would go on for about 30 seconds every few minutes. I had thought at first it was the elevator, but once that broke it continued. Still not sure what it was but it was loud enough for me to notice all night long.
The view was good since we were on 10th floor, lower units would not have been as lucky.
Front desk staff seemed put out when asked for more towels, and ignored my children when they went down to ask the first time for more towels. The room wasn't cleaned at all, I guess because the elevator was broken. But it would've been nice to at least make up the room and bring towels even if you couldn't vacuum, etc.
I wouldn't stay here again even with a coupon.

Room Tip: Ask for end of the hall, and lower floors if you're willing to go without a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Aqua Beach Inn. Unfortunately on the day you checked in the building had been hit by lightning which cause a few issues that had to be fixed with the elevator and the alarm system. Had they not gotten the elevator up the first day we would have changed your room to a lower floor, or when it went back down the second day we could have moved you. We helped a few other guests move to lower floors when they had issues with the stairs. We do apologize for any inconveniences you experienced while you were here. We hope that you give Aqua Beach Inn a chance to change your opinion of us.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed the weekend of November 16th using a Groupon. We had an awesome weekend! The staff was very attentive, the room was clean & updated. The view from our balcony was great & being in walking distance to shops & restaurants was a huge plus. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Aqua Beach Inn. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of the property. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Myrtle Beach.

Thank you,
Aqua Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was my third ever trip to Myrtle Beach and I have to admit this was the best location yet! Central to all downtown activities, oceanfront and sky wheel views were spectacular, and staff was very friendly and accommodating. Love that there's a full kitchen in the room, and the cleaning staff did a great job as well. I kind of wish they had a fitness center and continental breakfast but those things are more of a "nice-to-have." Special shout out to Living Social for hooking up the great deal! My mom and I had a very pleasant stay and I'll be recommending this hotel to others in the future :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarra D, General Manager at Aqua Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you, Sheri, for taking the time to write your review of our property. We are so glad that you enjoyed the central location and the views from the property. We look forward to serving you the next time you visit Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,
Tarra Drost
General Manager
Aqua Beach Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Beach Inn

Address: 1301 Withers Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#46 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Beach Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Beach Inn is located in the heart of Myrtle Beach across from the 14th Ave Pier, the Boardwalk and the ocean. All guest rooms have spectacular ocean views, fully equipped kitchens and balconies. Enjoy our outdoor pool and hot tub, along with our Grille and Picnic area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Aqua Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.