We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so-so hippo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nacho Hippo

Nacho Hippo
1160 Farrow Pkwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
843-839-9770
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 761 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Baltimore, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“so-so hippo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We arrived on "trivia night" loud & annoying tables around us with intoxicated patrons. Looking forward to lobster taco but lobster meat was way past it's prime-wasn't even asked how dinner was so I couldn't complain. Seemed dirty for a fairly new place. Really disappointed because I try to patronize non-chain restaurants- maybe will give it another try.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    147
    56
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Repeat Performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Simply put the food is excellent and service is good. Always seems to have great live music going on. Not much else to say, but well worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallipolis, Ohio
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“big, big, big servings of food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We went to this restaurant with 2 of our sons and their wives, and everyone loved it. They have really nice specials on drinks. We had, between us, a hippo salad, chicken tortilla soup(which was out of this world) a day after nacho,a macho nacho beef nacho's, & some kind of fire roasted chicken thing.. let me tell you.. you better ask about sharing.. the portions are huge, huge! And Good good! If you haven't been to this place, put it on your list.. service is great atmosphere is nice.. Its a must!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Service improved on 2nd and 3rd visits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Ok, when I went back, I explained what happened. And they treated me better. The hostess told me that at my original visit, the server had worked a double. I told her, that must have made him a zombie, and obviously my service was not there. She recommended a few other servers. I had the Nachos on one visit, and tacos on another. On my third visit there, a female server remembered me, and by name. I even ask for servers by name. Bottom Line: Management and staff were very cordial when I gave them a second try. The loaded type Nachos are very tasty; their fire-roasted salsa is very good. I try to be fair in my reviews, so that is why I updated this one. As others mention, it is not authentic Mexican, but you can definitely find some tasty meal or snack choices on the menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and delicious food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a fun experience! Customize your nacho platter with a large variety of toppings or order lobster tacos, vegan tacos with fire roasted vegetables and hummus (also available on nachos ~ we got and fantastic!!) tuna tacos and so many more creative and delicious choices! They also offer salads, soups. fun quesadillas and many appetizers such as fried plantains with guacamole. Staff was friendly and helpful. The laid back atmosphere of a small open air bar on a beautiful MB evening made this a great find! We wish we could find a Nacho Hippo Cantina Maximo identical to this one in many other cities! We'd be there!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nacho Hippo also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Nacho Hippo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nacho Hippo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.