We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pelicans Watch Ocean Side Myrtle Beach South Carolina

Saved Save
You added Pelicans Watch Ocean Side Myrtle Beach South Carolina to your Saves list.
Myrtle Beach
|
Condo/Apartment – 
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“My stay at Pelicans Watch #203 in Myrtle Beach”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We were completely disappointed because the units were very old, dusty, and they smelled old! We could not get used to the very stale smell of the entire place and got little sleep because of it. I give the place a C. I don't think it was worth the money. I recommend an upgrade of all units! Wished we could do it all over again, but in much better units. Sorry to have to be so brutally honest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reviewe this unit. We will certainly investigate a stale smell, we have ot heard of this before. The unit is currently classified as economy. For those looking for more upgrades, we do have value and premium properties available.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Derek S
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cant beat the location, but the interior was another story”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

As noted in the title, the location of this Condo was just about as good as it gets in Myrtle Beach. The small patio looked right out over the pool with the beach and ocean just steps beyond. You never had to leave the property to go to the pool or ocean. There is a large shopping center less than a mile up the road with a Krogers, gas station, etc. There is also a small shopping area just across the street that sells ice cream and novelty souvenirs, etc. The unit has one king with its own full bathroom, one sofa bed, two twins, and a full with its own 1/2 bathroom. There is also a full, shared, bathroom.

Now, to some concerns we had. The parking there was on short order. We had two vehicles and ended up leaving one permanently parked the entire week while we parked our "driving around" vehicle behind it. The only other spots off the property are beach access spots and they are not easy on the wallet nor your moral if you are under the impression that you have a parking spot with your stay.

Although it is not of any fault of the Condo or management, it bears noting also that people tend to, well let's be honest, they DO fire off fireworks on the beach until late at night, every night (usually until the cops show up to stop them). To the management’s defense, they do have a sign prohibiting such activities.

There were a lot of issues with the interior of the unit itself. The screen on the patio was ripped, the locks on the outside had to be fixed because our keys did not work easily in them, and worst of all, the bathroom from upstairs was leaking into the Master Bathroom. Worse still, is that it was toilet water that was leaking, so it had a very unpleasant odor and left a large brown stain on the ceiling. They came to fix it, but not without rendering that bathroom unusable for a period of time. They also mentioned that the owner doesn't want the "property management guys" to fix it and that they have their own people, so that probably delayed the repairs longer than they should have taken. I will say that it was taken care of rather quickly, but still, toilet waste seeping through the ceiling will really put a damper on your vacation. Also, the dishwasher only worked on one setting, which of course was not the default setting and took some trial and error to get to work (unfortunately I cannot remember said setting) A side note on the interior as well is that the A/C did not seem to work very well. Even set at a very low temperature, it was very warm in some rooms. I suspect that they need more vents or a larger unit.

Also, we had specifically looked for a place that had internet. There was a router, but in the entire duration of our stay, it never worked. The management didn't seem to know anything about troubleshooting it, nor did anyone seem to have a sense of urgency about getting it to work. Oh and it is not free. So every single time they have to "activate" it remotely any time someone wants to use it, which apparently, they never did. I would suggest just having the thing working all the time for free. I’m sure they can absorb the $20 or whatever nominal fee it was they charged when people are paying substantially more money to stay there. They did refund our fee for that however.

Now in the end, the staff at the actual office (although not necessarily scholars on anything home repair related), were very polite throughout the whole ordeal. They did fix the ceiling (kind of) and the locks. They gave us a discount on that particular stay and a future discount were we to stay with Myrtle Beach Vacations again. The fellow vacationers (aside from the firework groups) around us were for the most part quiet and respectful. I'm not one to give a really low rating based on the room because quite frankly I am there to enjoy the outside; not inspect the structural integrity of the building and carpet fibers with a microscope. And the outside, well, Myrtle Beach is superb in July. However, the problems listed were pretty bad and so I gave it a 3. I would stay at this property again, just not this unit.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 2 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2012
We apoligize for the miscommunication. We hope this has not deterred a return visit. We're glad things turned out alright.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A TripAdvisor Member
“pw203”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

aok

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2012
Wonderful. Thank you for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A TripAdvisor Member
“JUDY K.'s review of Pelicans Watch #203”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010 for a stay in July 2010

#203 needs a little work: wallpaper in bathroom peeling off; one dining room chairback needs repair. Very nice condos & I would definetly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$58
/
Night
Week
Month
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Manager
Myrtle Beach Vacation Rentals Inc
Speaks English
Listed since : Aug 2010
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Note: Response rate information for this manager is unavailable.
$10,000 Peace of Mind Guarantee
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing