We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Myrtle beach improv” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Improv

Carolina Improv
10177 N. Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
(843) 272-4242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 45 Nightlife in Myrtle Beach
Type: Comedy Clubs, Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Carolina Improv Company is located INSIDE the Myrtle Beach Mall at the Uptown Theater with seating for approximately 75 people. It's a very intimate (and small) space and serves beer, wine and soda. Yes, it's a little unconventional but that's what makes it fun (and cheaper than other shows). Our seats are transportable cushioned chairs and sometimes we have to pull out folding chairs when people are begging to see us. The fire marshall lets us have up to 110 people in the space. Since the mall does not provide outdoor signage it could be tricky to find us. The mall anchor is Bass Pro Shop and Uptown is on that end of the mall. For the quickest path to the theater, guests should park at the back of the mall between Bass Pro Shop and Carmike Cinema. Hungry? There are several restaurants at the mall where you can eat before visiting us.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Myrtle beach improv”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I read the reviews online and encouraged my friends to go see this show. What a disappointment. I wanted to ask for a refund and leave early. I will never get that $28 dollars and 90 minutes of my life back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolinaImprov, Owner at Carolina Improv, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We're so sorry about your experience. We understand that comedy is subjective and we can't make everyone laugh, but we do try. Another customer from that night also emailed us wanting to hire us. Hope you'll give us another try and that you received our email offering you a refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    27
    4
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conway, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must see in Myrtle Beach!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

EVERYONE should check out Carolina Improv Company! We went last night to one of their shows and I laughed so much that my cheeks hurt. We are already planning to go back next weekend. And the best part... the ticket prices are very reasonable! Absolutely one of the best comedy places around.
YOU SHOULD GO!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolinaImprov, Owner at Carolina Improv, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you Amber! Hope you come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Anniversary Date Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited Carolina Improv as a date night to celebrate our anniversary. They made us feel so special, like we were VIPs! The venue created an atmosphere of an intimate gathering amongst friends. The cast were all very friendly, not to mention incredibly funny! Unlike so many other shows in Myrtle Beach this one is unique in that the cast stuck around after the show to shake hands and speak to everyone! I loved the audience participation. This is definitely somewhere we will take friends and family when they come to visit. I can see this being our go to place for a great night out! Encore!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolinaImprov, Owner at Carolina Improv, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Yay! Thanks! So happy we could make your anniversary so fun. We really love doing that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, NC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If you like comedy ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our second visit to Carolina Improve (inside Myrtle Beach Mall) and they were as good as we'd remembered, if not better. The audience participation was great. At 90 minutes, it was almost too short, but well worth the price (less than $15 per person). We'll return again!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolinaImprov, Owner at Carolina Improv, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and patronage. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had a great time at the Carolina Improv last night. The cast was awesome and the show was very entertaining. Great evening out and did not 'break the bank'. Already planning our next visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Improv also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Carolina Improv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Improv, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.