We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall not a bad stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmetto Shores Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palmetto Shores Oceanfront to your Saves list
Palmetto Shores Oceanfront
1706 N. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Knoxville, TN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overall not a bad stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I just spent 5 days here and i will give you the good and bad.
The good was the view. I was in room 1019 oceanfront and it was amazing. The room was also clean. Despite some of the other reviews We did not see any bugs. They were always cleaning inside and out.
Now the bad. The parking is horrible at best. Two days in a row they did not leave us any wash cloths. The hot tubs were all broken during our entire stay along with the ice machine. Overall if it was a good deal I might consider staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. I am sorry however that you did have some challenges along the way. The ice machine in question has been repaired. We do have lots of parking so if we did not point it out properly I am sorry. Most properties in Myrtle Beach do have parking issues of one type or another. As for the housekeeping I will review with them the importance of delivering proper service. Again, thank you and we hope you return soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    154
    105
    84
    155
See reviews for
277
193
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hilliard, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We travel from Florida to Myrtle Beach each year for my family reunion at Myrtle Beach State Park(Sept 21-Sept 23).Upon arriving the front desk was very friendly and check us in fast. Once in our room we found there was no WIFI which I called in advance and was told yes internet is available in the room. The front desk told me a storm had come through and took the wifi signal out and it had not been repaired. Parking isn't the best.. The tub had no safty strips in it and you had to be very careful to prevent falling which almost happened. The view was the best thing about this resort. I was hoping to find some place this year to return to for the next reunion but my search will continue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I am very sorry that you did not have a great expereince at Palmetto Shores. We are working on fixing the tub mats. That is a very important isssue and we are addressing it each day. As for the parking, most properties in Myrtle Beach have parking issues of one kind or another. We do have our share, but we actually have more parking available than the average property. Please still keep us in mind for the future as we work hard daily to improve for everyone.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have book the efficiency room with partial oceanfront view. We arrived on Thursday (two ladies in their early 30s) and they gave us a room on a top floor, which was great.

The view was enough for us to see the waves/beach conditions, I even got to eat ice-cream while looking at the ocean (I did have to put my chair in the corner). From the balcony, you can also enjoy the view of Myrtle Beach city, with it's palm trees and night lights.

Thanks to the efficiency room, which had a stove, microwave, fridge, pots and pans, silverware, plates e.g. we have saved a tremendous amount of money eating and drinking in. We had to buy our own oil, salt and pepper, which was not a problem with the nearby PigglyWiggly store (but don't expect to find anything organic there!).

The hotel was literally on the beach, in a very nice area, and close to everything. There was a bus stop right outside the doors.

There was no WiFi in the room, but there was a computer with a printer downstairs- we were able to print bus schedules and coupons.

We decided to extend our stay for another night, and booked the cheapest little room. However we were told to keep the room we had, without the extra charge.

Overall, it was not Hilton, by any means, but it was neat, convenient, comfortable and cheap. Also our stay included free breakfast, which was open 7-11 and was enough to fill you up until early dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review. We may be an older property but we work hard to provide a clean, friendly and well maintained environment. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

PS. The Piggly Wiggly at the Market Common does have Organic foods.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Have stayed at Palmetto Shores many times.. Always have had a great experience. Rooms were clean service was very good. The staff has a good attitude and helpful when asked. Rooms on oceanfront are priced right. Close to many attractions

Room Tip: Oceanfront a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are an older property that is value priced with a great location. We want to be known as a great value for our guests. We really are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The room had not been cleaned very well. There was a large Palmetto bug behind the toilet and pee on the toilet. Bathroom was in bad shape overall. Water damage on walls. Hardly any water pressure in the shower. I wasn't expecting a luxury hotel for the price, but was expecting the minimum. They had good complimentary breakfast at restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are an older property that is priced accordingly, but basic services need to be done the right way. There is not excuse for a dirty and poorly maintainted room. Again, please accept our apologies and understand that we value your feedback.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
augusta, ga
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is okay if you get a good deal but don't pay full price. When we arrived the stove was in pieces we had no towels and there is no wifi in the rooms due to a storm that hit 2 months ago so we had to sit on the balcony or down in the lobby. There are enough pools but only 2 hot tubs and one is very tiny and not very hot. The staff is friendly and will solve any problem you have the plus sides is that you have a great view of the ocean and the elevators are quick and they are a great bar, the exercise room is good, they also have a shuttle that will take you to your car in the parking lot across the street.

Room Tip: when booking ask to be in the waves oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that we did not fully live up to your expectations. While we are a value priced property, it does not excuse poor performance of basic hotel functions. I am happy the staff took good care of you and we do hope you return to see us again.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel was small, cozy and comfortable, but we got an average room. We kind of went during peak season, so I can't really complain. The room was clean and the housekeeping staff were nice. There is no internet, which is a con, but we had a great view and it is right on the beach and the center of everything. The hallways kinda smelled funny but other than that the rooms were fine. It was my friend and I so it was perfect for two people. Also, there is no complimentary breakfast. The staff at the front desk were super nice and helpful, especially Carrie, Alisha, and Jerry! It was very easy going and the people there are wonderful! I would recommend this hotel! =]

Room Tip: The center rooms get views of both the beach and the Myrtle Beach city. =]
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I can understand the lack of wifi in rooms to be a frustration but it is available in the lobby of our Waves building. We are a value priced property that tries to give you the most for what you spend. Also, thank you for the credit you gave our staff. They work very hard and care about what they do. We hope to see you again soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmetto Shores Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Shores Oceanfront

Address: 1706 N. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in
#98 On the Beach Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new, completely renovated, Palmetto Shores Myrtle Beach; centrally located to all the amenities the Grand Strand offers. No matter what season you visit, there will be tons of activities to keep you busy. You’ll find wide spans of pristine sandy beaches outside of our three oceanfront towers where our guests have a wide range of options from ocean-front rooms and efficiencies all the way up to 4-bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Palmetto Shores Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmetto Shores Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.