We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location was great plus it was affordable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmetto Shores Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palmetto Shores Oceanfront to your Saves list
Palmetto Shores Oceanfront
1706 N. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The location was great plus it was affordable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I enjoyed the staff who were very nice and helpful. The location was great, it was near the boardwalk. The room was neat and i would recommend to my friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    154
    105
    84
    155
See reviews for
277
193
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Me and my husband traveled to Myrtle Beach with some friends and were really looking forward to a good time at a new hotel. The hotel while a little older, wasnt horrible there were some things that werent right but Im an avid traveler and can overlook most. The thing that dissapointed us the most was the fact that whoever took my reservation blatantly lied to myself and my friends. It wasnt the end of the world, but to expect something and to be told its not possible puts a damper on your trip awful fast. I will say that the young man at the front desk, Zack, did everything he could in his power to remedy the situation. He wasnt able to put us side by side but he gave us more attention than any other front desk agent weve ever come across. As I told him and management I felt bad for him because he was great at his job but took most of the negativity that he couldnt control as well as the mistakes from the others working. It didnt matter when we came in he was either checking somebody in, answering anothe agents question and solving their problems or dealing with another hotel problem. For him we were very thankful. We shared our displeasures with both the night manager and the gm as well and feel confident that we will be back despite the problems thanks to Rob and Zack.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevej6, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
I would like to by thanking you for sharing your experience staying Palmetto Shores with other travelers. As you mentioned, the staff here takes great pride making our guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Zach and Rob are not only great employees, but also very good people. We do appreciate you pointing out that they will do anything in their power to remedy any situation to make it right for our guests, and look forward to better serving you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

EVERYONE at the hotel was wonderful! Jacqui, Gerald, Tony, Joe and Taylor! They accomodated us way beyond expectations. Went out of their way over and over again to get us rooms so we could extend our stay several nights, even though they were totally booked! It feels like home away from home! I don't want to leave! I would recommend it to couples, families, anyone! And it is directly on the beach!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jkiernanpalmetto, Assistant General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It gives us great pleasure to learn the staff was helpful across the board. All named employees will be comended and i thank you on thier behalf. Hopefully on your future trips to Myrtle Beach you will consider staying here at Palmetto Shores again. We would enjoy your return here anytime and anytime is a good time in Myrtle Beach. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Do not waste your money, the silverware was rusty, housekeeping doesn;t clean your room nor empty your garage. I had to bag my trash and set it outside the door, we had to hunt down haouse keeping everday for clean towels. We paid for an ocean view room, however we had a side room. they also charge you a resort fee of 7.00 a day if you book on line, that way myrtle beach gets some money. The door knob came off to the main door... Needless to say very disappointing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevej6, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
I am very sorry to hear that your stay here did not meet your expectations. We do work very hard to be sure that all guests are satisfied with all aspects of their visit. When things fall short, we also work very hard and very quickly to correct the concerns to satisfy all of our guests. I would like to clarify for any future travelers looking to stay in Myrtle Beach that the way we differentiate our rooms with balconies directly on the ocean front versus the rooms with balconies on the side is to title them Ocean Front and Ocean View. The resort fee is also something that future travelers need to be aware of, and it is not only placed on the reservations that are booked online. We charge a resort fee for every reservation, but when paying in advance online, the resort fee is not always included in the price that you are given. It is my suggestion to be very thorough when booking online and if you have any questions please feel free to call the property directly to get your questions answered. Again, i do apologize for not meeting your expectations, and hopefully some of this information will help eliminate some confusion for any future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

I spent a week with my wife in myrtle beach at palmetto shores. It was comfortable and Tayler at thé front desk was ver y Nice. We had a problem with other guests at thé hôtel. We complained to Tayler and she résolved thé problem right away.

Thé room was always clean. We had a ver y Nice vacation with thé help of Tayler and thé staff. I strongly recommend this hôtel to all of my friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jkiernanpalmetto, Assistant General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive review, we value all of our guests comments and appreciate the fact that you took the time out of your schedule to post your review. We are please to learn Tayler was helpful with all of your needs and requests. We value the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will continue to choose Palmetto Shores as your vacation destination when visiting Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

we stayed here for 6 nights and the location was great. 2 out of the 6 days no house keeping showed up but we were able to get towels and bath items needed pretty quickly. the room was average the balcony was great, and the staff were friendly and helpful when approached.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevej6, Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you very much for taking your time to write us a complimentary review. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and we take great pride in responding to needs and requests as promptly as possible. Our location and views are fantastic and we look forward to better serving you on your next trip to Palmetto Shores!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic County
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

This is the first truly negative review I have ever written. To qualify, we travel often, usually looking for "deals" and often staying in 3 star facilities. So we are not demanding or unreasonable. We look for value so that we may travel more often. When the 3 night deal for one came through TravelZoo, we had already booked another hotel. After reading the average/fair reviews, we decided to save the 50% and move to the Palmetto Shores Oceanfront "Wave" as it turned out. Realizing this was an acceptional offer, we had hoped the oceanfront efficiency would at least meet our minimal requirements of being safe and clean. Safe yes, clean NOT! Upon arrival early in the morning we checked in (desk very accomodating) but our room was still being "cleaned." We went about our day in MB and came back around 2-3, normal check in time. We were given our oceanfront room. We found it to be very basic, which was fine. However a closer look at it found that the bathtub and room had not been cleaned...AT ALL. God only knows how long the stuff in the tub had been there. Further check found the kitchen area to be not cleaned as well. Two calls later I finally had to go down to the desk myself to complain. They did send a very nice young man up who was very apologetic and who cleaned the things I requested. However at that point, it had been so disgusting, that I couldn't help but question about the general cleanliness of the room. After the first day, it became evident that whoever was "supposed" to clean the room did nothing but change towels, added a new bar of soap, sometimes made the bed, and that was about it. The room was never vacumed, at least not that was detectable, the furniture appeared to have not been dusted in ages, and often towels were not replaced forcing us to go to the desk to get clean ones. We notified the front dest on numerous occasions of the problems and the concerns frankly that this kind of problem could be the death of a hotel. We muddled through, were thrilled we could watch the sunrise from our bed, enjoyed the coffee on the balcony and grinned and bared it. But in all of our travels, road trips etc. This is the only hotel that I can say I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmetto Shores Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Shores Oceanfront

Address: 1706 N. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in
#98 On the Beach Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new, completely renovated, Palmetto Shores Myrtle Beach; centrally located to all the amenities the Grand Strand offers. No matter what season you visit, there will be tons of activities to keep you busy. You’ll find wide spans of pristine sandy beaches outside of our three oceanfront towers where our guests have a wide range of options from ocean-front rooms and efficiencies all the way up to 4-bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Palmetto Shores Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmetto Shores Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.