We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen the place in person and left” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sun N Sand Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sun N Sand Resort to your Saves list
Sun N Sand Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seen the place in person and left”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Pre booked this place for 3 nights and when I showed up I cancelled reservations from just the sight of it I didn't even bother to see the room. Ended up having to pay for first night even tho I didn't stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    113
    108
    67
    112
See reviews for
116
143
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is being remodeled- out of 4 elevators, only 1 ran consistently. The rooms were fair, but we booked our room through Hotwire and ended up in an oceanVIEW room instead of the oceanFRONT with a balcony like we thought we were getting. Hotels really do give the worst rooms to customers who book their deals from discount sites. Aside from the room with a view of a sliver of ocean and the top of the parking deck, the restaurant wasn't open the first 2 days of our stay. The worst issue was that the one elevator that went to the parking garage was not working when we checked in, which meant we had to carry all of our luggage and a very heavy cooler down several flights of stairs. What a pain! The hotel has a very small indoor and outdoor pool and the gym was fair. We heard every noise our neighbors upstairs made and could hear every person in the hallway. Overall- bad experience.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, MAKE SURE you request an oceanFRONT room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Staying at this hotel in an oceanVIEW room which is nicely updated, spacious and some perks. The walls are not paper thin however they are not fully soundproof either. There is Zenzi karaoke in the lobby which we did not go to and an adequate fitness room on the 2nd floor. The staff is courteous; however, they do not "offer" any information without questions. Like the fact that the garage access is inside the hotel with an elevator as well. The only downside is there is no safe in the room. Elevators are newly installed, spacious and prompt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

It sucked we had a fire alarm go off at 5:00 in the morning! The pool was like a funky green and there was leaks everywhere. They were hosting like a Hindu festival and they were rude as hell. There workers were very very rude. DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. There was a very small unloading and loading area for our luggage.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

WELL THIS PLACE IS BEING REMODELED AND LUCKY I GOT A NEW ROOM! The room was huge and clean I got a great walk in deal for 69.99 plus tax it was lovely stay the lobby had a bar really nice staff! They even have people that ride on the golf carts and take you to your car in the garage this place was so nice reach there on the beach! Nice place the manager was nice! Overall this place was A+ this review is coming for a 20yr old college student !! This place Was super clean and comfortable

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The good was the price being reasonable and the room was clean. The bad was the pool closed at 8pm! Really 8pm?! Every other hotel on the grand strand has a pool that stays open until 11pm in most every case. If you were there on business like I was, by the time you get back to your room and have dinner, the pool is closed. What a bummer.

Another bad thing was, someone, probably a kid, pulled the fire alarm at 2am on Friday morning. Everyone had to evacuate and stand in the cold for an hour while the fire department came to give an all clear. Some guests tried to get a 12:00 check out so, the could get a little sleep and the management said a big fat NO.

The last bad thing was pretty bad, as the evacuation happened, of course you have to take the stairs, we were on the 15th floor, that was fine for us. We are healthy folks. As we were going down the stairs, we pass a handicap young lady who was staying on the 13th floor. Usually in a wheelchair, but now trying to use her walker to get down the stairs. I felt so sorry for her. Why would you put someone on the 13th floor that uses a wheelchair or a walker. If It had been a true fire, I am afraid she wouldn't have made it out. Bad, bad planning on that one.

I would have hoped, due to the large inconvenience that the management would have offered some sort of compensation. I understand things like this do happen but, they did nothing to make us all feel like they were sorry it took place.
Do not believe I will stay here again

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our first time to myrtle beach. we choose this place because the price was reasonable. upon arrival we was not dissapointed. The staff was helpful and friendly, the rooms and facility was clean definitely a place we would return to

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun N Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun N Sand Resort

Address: 2701 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun N Sand Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sun-N-Sand Resort on the oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina! Perfect for adults and families, our Myrtle Beach resort is located right on South Ocean Boulevard and is for those who want a casual coastal vacation with the special little touches that transform a good hotel stay into a great one.Our spacious 224 Myrtle Beach rooms and suites feature several options from oceanfront hotel rooms, ocean view side rooms, and connecting rooms offering king-size beds or two double beds with many having private terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sun N Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun n Sand Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun N Sand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.