We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big portions and the freshest seafood you will find without any gimmick.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Fish

Mr. Fish
6401 N Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
(843) 839-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 760 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Big portions and the freshest seafood you will find without any gimmick.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We read trip advisory reviews and definitely were not disappointed.... Waitress may Mindy was very attentive and gave super recommendation... Shrimp peel and eat was awesome... Seafood fettuccine was huge and wonderful.... Grilled grouper was great... Nothing but spectacular... Reasonably priced and peach cobbler amazing... Told 45min wait but only 20....definitely will eat there again if in myrtle beach..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    331
    127
    50
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Not as good as we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

From the reviews online and by friends, we were expecting a great experience. Didn't happen. We got there at 7:30 p.m. and were told it would be an hour and 15 minutes wait. It was. We were seated at 8:45 p.m. Ordered a basket of hushpuppies, which were good and hot and the crab mac n cheese, which was OK. We got our main courses at 9:30 p.m., which we thought was a bit late.The entrees weren't anything special. I ordered flounder and shrimp. The flounder was so thin that it was mostly breading. My son's seafood alfredo was cold and my wife's combination platter was average. Not really any better than Captain D's. Service was OK, but our waitress seemed unhappy and was not really engaging. There has to be better places at MB.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went early (4:30pm) before the long lines. Best seafood that we had in town. A good family atmosphere with cool art on the walls.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Way Overrated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Surprised by the high reviews Mr Fish continues to get. We visited it's original location and found it Ok. When it moved to it's new large location we thought we would try it again. Food is average at best. No local specialties or fresh fish. Just fast food stock. Service was dreadful. Long waits,lost orders and uninterested staff. Save your money and try the Sea Captains !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great sushi, unfriendly service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We ordered to firecracker roll, which was fantastic. I had the boom boom shrimp tacos and my husband had the crab cakes. They were both pretty good. What I didn't like was that they add gratuity with 6 or more instead if 8. I really wouldn't have minded had we had good service. I guess since our waitress knew she was getting 18% regardless she didn't waste any time being helpful or the slightest bit friendly. If I were to come again I would, 1:make reservations, 2: only have a couple of people,3: only order sushi. Seeing that I have 3 kids, this is not likely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Fish also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Mr. Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.