We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep looking.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of King Kong Sushi

King Kong Sushi
2120 Oak Heart Road, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579
843-236-5666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 760 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Keep looking.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I thought I was going to go into a diabetic coma after eating sushi here. The rice was waaay to sweet. The ginger dressing on the salad tasted like mayonaise and, well, not much else. And the funny part was, when we were down to 3 pieces of sushi left on the plate, the server asked if we needed a box. And when we said no, she tried to take the plate. I asked if it would be alright if I finished eating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    41
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

King kong is a little pricey, but you get good size servings/rolls so not too bad overall. Food has always been fresh and tastes great. Tons of rolls and other food to choose from. One of our fav places to grab a bite to eat in Carolina Forest!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson Hills, Pa.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Went there for a family event. The variety of sushi was great and very tasty. Service was excellent. Will return in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not what I expected for "best on the beach review"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Expensive yes. It wasn't fresh or at least did not taste fresh. Would recommend you choose another sushi restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wish I could rate it!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Well, last night May 8,2013 We were in Myrtle helping my daughter move to a new apartment for the summer from Coastal. After a long day, the 3 of us wanted to get some sushi. At 9:40 pm we parked the car, walked up to the door and the host flipped off the open sign and literally reached out and grabbed the sandwich board. We asked if it was to late and he gave us a dirty look and slammed the door. He then flipped on the "closed" sign on!! Hey managers, where were you!! Your idiots !!
Can't be that good if the service would be like that!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Kong Sushi also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to King Kong Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Kong Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.