We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kinda stinky, but good location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Rittman, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Kinda stinky, but good location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My family and I stayed at this location in July in 2011 and had no problems - great price and location. A short walk to the beach and just what you would expect, comfort wise for the money you're paying - we like to travel on a budget!

Unfortunately, we didn't realize that this hotel accepted pets into its rooms when we booked online for this year. Not only did our room smell like dog pee, but the morning breakfast was just a couple dinky muffins ... oh, and the beds were hard as rocks!

The customer service was great, the coffee was also very tasty. I can't really complain too much because the room (a king bed) was only $55 a night during the week and like I said, good location. But we were also in the off-season and probably could've found a similar value that didn't smell like pee.

Room Tip: Try to ask if there are rooms that aren't used by pets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are a pet friendly hotel; however, we try hard to ensure that guests without pets are not affected by this. We give rooms that had pets in them extra attention when they check out. I am sorry that we did not succeed in this during your stay. I hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Myrtle Beach. I promise we will give you an odor free room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    67
    38
    20
    14
See reviews for
73
65
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a decent place if you don't mind the occasional outburst of dogs barking. This is a pet friendly hotel. The rooms were nice and clean. The beds were surprisingly comfortable. During the summer season they have a pretty good breakfast setup in the lobby. This hotel is a block or so off the beach but still in a pretty good location.

Room Tip: If you plan on using the pool...ask for a ground floor room with patio door to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments regarding our hotel. We are a pet friendly hotel. If we learn of any pets disturbing other guests we contact the owner immediately to ensure this does not continue. We look forward to seeing you again on your next stay in Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have stayed here numerous times and depending upon the season, the rates are very
competitive. Most of the rooms have been renovated and some now have the
flat screen TVs in the rooms. (I find this useful because I can now hook up my laptop
to the TV with my HDMI cable and have a huge computer monitor!)

The staff has always been friendly and warm and the rooms clean and smelling
fresh.

They have a beautful pool and if you want to go to the beach, it's only a
block away.

It is a little remote from the restaurants, but it's not a long drive to get to any
number of them.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool; it's a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It’s always a pleasure to know we were able to make your stay in Myrtle Beach enjoyable. We looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

This is our 2nd time here and we are very pleased. My husband and I come here for a night before we go and meet our family in our condo. We are able to bring our dog. Its so nice to be able to find a pet friendly hotel. We got into town earlier than planned and staff let me check in at noon.....instead of waiting til 3pm. Our room was simple but we didn't need anything fancy. It was clean and cool with a/c. Pools were clean. Really cant complain....will come back again next year!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My family stayed here for a short get a way before the kids went back to school. The place was clean, the desk attendants were very friendly and knowledgeable, We had a wonderful stay and no complaints at all. Very convenient location to the beach and nicely priced. I would highly recommend staying here and we will be returning next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I love animals and have pets of my own but I felt like I was staying in a Kennel, not a hotel!
There were barking dogs in the hallways and most of the rooms. Do they have a sign on the hotel that says "Bring your dog here to vacation?"

I needed to be in Myrtle Beach on business for 3 nights. August is packed with tourists and the hotels "show no mercy" on their rates. The rooms were $134 a night for a RED ROOF INN. I actually stayed there because all the 3 star hotels I called were booked for the weekend and this hotel got a fairly decent rating on Tripadvisor.

These were the worst beds I ever saw in a hotel. They sagged so badly in the center, I felt like I was in a sink hole!
The rooms smelled musty and there were absolutely no frills.
The stairways were filthy and the hallways were loud and dirty.
I did manage to stay 2 nights but enough was enough. Dogs were barking hours on end and people running up and down the hallways all night.

There was a positive side to all of this. The hotel staff was outstanding and did what ever was in their power to change. They offered a better room at no charge and did not charge me for the second night. I moved out anyway.
The rooms were actually clean, unlike the rest of the hotel. The lighting was good and the bathrooms looked newly remodeled. Nice flat screen TV's.
But what's up with the beds? That should be a huge priority. Those beds should have been replaced ages ago.

Bottom line: Lovely hotel staff. Crappy hotel. Would not return!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons

Address: 2801 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons 2*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Myrtle Beach Market Commons is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair and more. This location features suites, an outdoor heated pool (mid March-October), a picnic area outside, interior corridors, 3 elevators, and a coin laundry. A Waffle House is located adjacent to the property. Oceanfront dining nearby is also available. Free continental breakfast is served daily from Memorial Day thru Labor Day. Select rooms offer microwave/microfridge units. Experience our complimentary coffee-house style coffee & tea. All rooms offer free WiFi access. One well-behaved family pet with no pet deposit, 60 pounds or less, per room is welcome (sorry, pets are not allowed in poolside rooms). Check-in Time: 3:00 PM | Check-out Time: 11:00 AM Check-in Age: 18 years or older ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Red Roof Inn And Suites Myrtle Beach
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.