We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Breakers Resort to your Saves list
The Breakers Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
30% off for Fall
Ranked #20 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
2 reviews
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Great place for a family vacation, atmosphere is excellent. Pools and outdoor games were great. View were excellent, all members of staff we came in contact with were very helpful. Loved the location with mini mart and Starbucks right there. Can't wait to.come back....

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear tails3,

Thank you for these super comments of The Breakers Resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed our accommodations and hope to see you again in the future!

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    610
    186
    118
    141
See reviews for
1,020
467
35
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Great place to relax and have fun. Many things to do without even leaving the resort area and within walking distance. Loved the lazy river, hot tub and the beach. Nothing better than waking up to the sound of waves, and the warmth of the sun. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Jill S,

Thank you for sharing comments about your recent stay at The Breakers Resort. We are happy your family enjoyed our resort, and we appreciate your recommendation. Our team hopes to serve you again very soon!

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopatcong, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Resort is exceptionally clean. Rooms are great for families. My husband , son and I share a bedroom and my parents share another. The location is great, only a 3 minute drive to Broadway at the beach. My son is 3 and he loved the pool area by the paradise building. It kept him entertained for days. The restaurants are great for breakfast and dinner. I would recommend this resort to any family wanting to go to myrtle beach... Just check when the rates are good... (We always go last week august)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear A S,

Thank you for staying at The Breakers Resort, and for sharing your comments. We are thrilled to hear that your family had a wonderful experience, and hope to see you again in the near future!

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Had a wonderful time. Good pools w plenty of towels. Walking distance to boardwalk and some other attractions. Everyone was nice and helpful. Could use an update on balcony chairs and sofa and murphy bed mattresses.

Room Tip: Some rooms only had double beds. Not very comfy for two adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Latasha J,

Thank you for choosing The Breakers Resort, and for posting this wonderful review for the trip advisor community!. We're thrilled to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time, and enjoyed many of our amenities. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Clean, courteous, family-friendly without being too sanitized, the Breakers resort offers world-class service combined with Southern Hospitality relieving all the worries and stress meant for a vacation to eliminate. Choose Breakers on your next trip to Myrtle Beach and let them handle the rest of the work!

Room Tip: Bedroom clean, plenty of closet space, built-in safe, generous kitchen with full-size refrigerator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Had a Very Good time at the Breakers,the staff really make sure that your stay is comfortable,and enjoyable.
They have plenty of pools and a great lazy river,the Restaurants on property are very good where once you are at the Breakers You don't have to go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms were very clean and housekeeping staff make sure you are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Our experience at The Breakers resort had problems from day one. #1-After arriving at 3:00PM, our room was not ready as advertised. We actually had to wait until 4:30 before we could get into our room, and even then, the beds were not made as housekeeping was waiting on sheets to be laundered. #2-we had specifically requested to be on a mid level floor, not the top two floors but also NOT the 1st or 2nd floor. We were put in Room 211, on the "2nd Floor" for our week long stay. #3-Housekeeping did not come on our first full day at the resort. I had to place a call to inquire about housekeeping services. #4-our room was flooded by water from a leak in a room above us and although we had to endure a wet floor, the living room carpet ripped up, and an industrial grade fan in our living room for a day and a half...management did not contact us to apologize, see if there was anything they could do for us, etc. An apology was expected, some type of credit or reimbursement, EVEN a voucher or certificate to one of their restaurants would have more than appropriate for the trouble and problems we had to endure. And when I say flooded, I mean so much water that it covered your toes/feet when you walked on the carpet. #5-Our beach cart was stolen from the ground level of the Sailfish Tower. Though we completely understand that the resort is not liable, and that we were responsible for it being stolen, even if left for only 5 minutes unattended, a resort where this type of thing occurs, is not one in which my family would like to stay. #6-The security cameras, or at least the one on the ground level of the Sailfish Tower do not work. Perhaps if they got the cameras up and running, it would deter criminal activity, like that of what we were subjected to. It would have also been helpful to us, in trying to track down our stolen belongings and/or catch the guilty party. I would caution any vacationers, as theft seems to be an issue at this resort, and as a front desk employee mentioned when we reported our beach cart stolen..."there are a lot of homeless people around here"...
We stayed in the Sailfish Tower, which had good size two bedroom suites; however the bedding, curtains, and sofa are in need of replacement/updating. I will say, on a positive note(and there isn't much positive that we experienced), the housekeeping and maintenance staff were all friendly and responded to our needs quickly. Minus the first day, when housekeeping had not shown up by 3:30(room cleaning hours are advertised to be from 9AM-3PM). The pools, lazy river, jacuzzis, and kids area pirate ship were enjoyable. It is highly unlikely that we will ever stay at this resort again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.