We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakers Boutique 27th ave and Ocean Drive Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Resort

Save Saved
You added The Breakers Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Breakers Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
25% Off Savings
Ranked #21 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Mooresburg, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breakers Boutique 27th ave and Ocean Drive Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is the yellow building. Parking garage is across the street. My opinion: If you want a luxury 5 star hotel, keep looking. If you want budget friendly, check this place out. We stayed in room 960 on 9th floor. To my surprise, we got a little condo complete with everything, including a dishwasher, central heat/air and a washer dryer! Furnishings are pretty old and outdated as was the dishwasher BUT everything worked perfectly and was super clean! I didn't need the Ritz. I needed a couch, a table, a king sized bed and a super CLEAN place and this was it! Perks include a free water park, free DVD usage, daily dishwasher soap, dishwashing soap, and shampoo. You also get free continental breakfast. The cleaning staff was fabulous and very nice. I wish they would come home with me! They didn't just empty the trash and leave supplies... They made the bed, cleaned the mirrors and even once loaded and ran the dishwasher for us. Please remember to tip them! They work hard to please! And the best part, it is right on the beach and has a balcony overlooking. Each morning the pools and hot tube were cleaned and they sparkled. The price was right. We would return.

Hint: It is always best to hand the tip to the maids in person. Leaving the tip behind is questionable as to who gets it. Be sure it goes to the right person. A new maid may clean after you leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We appreciate your review and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is great to hear that our housekeeping staff to excellent care of you. We hope you will continue to choose the Breakers when you visit the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    898
    500
    167
    103
    133
See reviews for
842
384
33
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
eatontown nj
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

the whole place is horrible!!-hallways stink-bathrooms are very dirty-rooms very outdated with 70 s paint and horrible rugs-no poolside activities for the kids-not even any music being played poolside-food sucked-drinks had no alcohol and were overpriced-parking was horrible-pools dirty-green hot tub-i could go on and on-the list was endless with negatives-JUST DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: no good advice here-sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We apologize that you were less than satisfied with your stay here. Throughout the summer we have a DJ that plays music by the pool daily until the last week of August, and then he is here on the weekends until Labor Day. We appreciate your review, and would like the opportunity to discuss your stay personally if you would like to contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Breakers the last week of August and its a nice family hotel. Nothing major, just a decent place that needs some updating. I would absolutely come back to the Breakers. If you're looking for a 4 and 5 star hotel look elsewhere so you don't get your hopes too high. I had a pleasant vacation, good breakfast and a beautiful ocean front view from my room. I stayed in the Paradise tower. Kids would love the outdoor pool areas. Beach is awesome and right outside the hotel. Oh there's a free shuttle outside the hotel that takes you too Boardwalk on the Beach. Fun place! I enjoyed the Breakers Resort!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your vacation with us at The Breakers Resort. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Curently staying in the 4bedroom Penthouse Suite in the Palmetto Building. First impression when we walked into this room on Sunday afternoon was "what have we gotten ourselves into"....the supposed Penthouse is nowhere near what a Penthouse looks like. First, the furnishings are old and run down. The closets don't have doors instead they have runners up that normally are on patio doors that slide open. The carpet needs cleaning. The living room center table is old, chipped, and broken. The icemaker did not work in the freezer. The dishwasher was broken and never repaired. The water pressure in the showers was VERY weak. Ohhhh....the WiFi......don't count on it because it doesn't work AT ALL. Service is AWFUL!!!!!! Made several calls and the response time is really slow. The building itself smells like sewage and looks run down. Also...the Penthouse Suite isn't even Oceanfront nor do you have a balcony to walk out on. Does any of this sound like a Penthouse to you???? Stay away from the Breakers an look elsewhere. We should have booked at Bayview Resort they have an awesome Penthouse but we thought we'd try somewhere new this year. BIG MISTAKE!!!!!!!!!!! The Breakers needs alot of upgrading and updating beginning with it's customer service!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We apologize that the room type you reserved is not what you expected to be. We appreciate your comments and are pleased we were able to get the maintenance issues fixed; however, they should have been addressed before you arrived. We do hope the rest of your stay is more enjoyable than how it started.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We attempted to book into this hotel and was very rudely greeted by Lauren and David. I have never met 2 more unfriendly staff. We waited about 20 minutes only to be told we were staying at a sister property 6 blocks away and were advised to not use the facilities at their site. If i was able to cancel i would have done, but wasnt able to. So we drove the 6 blocks to the other property and was met by Jimmy who was very nice indeed. The room was clean, a little tight on space, breakfast was also included which was a nice surprise. And we were given full access to all amenities at both properties.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort. We apologize for the less than welcoming greeting you initially experienced with our staff. We are please to hear that Jimmy was able to turn your stay around and that you enjoyed the Boutique as well as the amenities at the main resort. We do hope you will consider the Breakers Resort again on your next visit to the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Where to start... Check in was a mess we waited n line over 30 mins to check n, we had a screaming baby and a child who was just in the car for 9hrs and just wanted to get settled in. When checking in no one gave us any knowledge about anything! When we got to our room it was fairly clean the door to the patio was open so our room was sticky and hot! What really bothered me was the bathroom it was disgusting, I felt like I couldn't even bath my children in the tub. My kids loved the pool and how close the beach was so that was great! When checking out at 10 our maids walked in to r room 3 times needless to say we won't be returning!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We appreciate your review and do apologize for your stay being less that satisfactory. This is not how we like our guests to feel and it is not our standard to issue rooms that are not clean. We are glad to hear that your family enjoyed our pools. We would like to have the opportunity to discuss your stay provide you with a better experience if you would contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We've stayed at the Breakers, SC 7 times in 10 years. Our 2 children feel like Myrtle Beach is the summer time "grow-up" area, and the Breakers has been a big part of that.

Honestly, considering the entire Myrtle Beach area in the central part of town, there is no better place to stay than the Breakers. They have raised their rates significantly since our first voyage there in 2004, however for the 2 or 3 bedroom condos we usually get, I can say we are quite comfortable in them and never disappointed.

The most spectacular parts of these condos are the wonderful balconies that overlook the beautiful wide ocean. You are so close, and can see so much of the ocean that if you are high enough, you can actually see the curve of the Earth. Full moon's over the water at night are all a couple needs to get the "spark" going after the kids are asleep, and for the most part it has been very quiet and peaceful. On a few occasions we have experienced noisy party groups next door, but have handled it with hotel security who was right on it with a 0 tolerance attitude for hotel disturbances.

The best part of Myrtle Beach is the amazing ocean swim. Through September its like a warm salt-bath, very healing for the body and soul. You can hang in the water for hours. At times there are jelly-fish sting issues but you can get around them. We all got a sting on our last vacation at least once, but they never last too long. Dolphins can be viewed in the distance frequently from your balcony in the early morning hours, and an occasional 6 to 8 foot shark may be seen swimming around the fishing pier a half mile down from the Breakers, but they are looking for the chum thrown out by fisherman. I have never heard of a problem with sharks attacking people.

Be careful of the water in Myrtle Beach if you have small children. There are cross currents so if your kids do not know how to swim WELL, OR IF THEY ARE GENERALLY SMALL, these waves will swoop them away if they go out too far. In the past 10 years we have heard of 2 or 3 drownings of children, so be careful. I have always kept my well swimming kids in front of me on their boogie-boards and have never let them go out too far. The waves crash pretty simultaneously at times so its easy to loose a kid as they smack you down, so please beware. Your child really needs to be good at diving underwater and its a good opportunity to teach them how to go under large waves. Cross currents are VERY COMMON, and these can trap a small child or dog, however if you catch them closer to the shore everyone will be fine. There are times as well, when the water is so crystal clear and calm you'd swear you were in a salt-bath. Many days you will find absolutely no waves.

We never eat at the Papa's buffet, although the people and staff are all very nice and accommodating. Papa's gets filled with the "bargain vacationer" type, if you know what I mean, and the food is pretty crappy anyway. There are Starbucks directly across from both the Paradise (Main) and North towers, which we love, and parking is good too although when its busy it takes a while to get up to the top of the parking towers. Ocean ave, in front of the Breakers, gets packed during busy season. Never travel on this road to get anywhere. There are 2 other parallel roads, Route 17 business and 17 Bypass, which get you anywhere you want to go much faster. The list of good places to eat lunch with kids are endless, so don't worry about that. There is plenty to do and you will not be short on anything or on choices.

The staff does use the elevators quite a bit and this gets annoying, but considering where you are and what you are doing, you hardly mind. I would not say the condos are superiorly modern, but they are nice. Many of the kitchens have been updated. You'll love it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for continuing to allow the Breakers Resort to be part of your family! We sincerely appreciate your loyalty. We hope we will remain your hotel choice while vacationing at the beach for many more years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.