We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location~Palms Building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Resort

Save Saved
You added The Breakers Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Breakers Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% Off Savings
Ranked #23 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location~Palms Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful stay at Breakers. We took a shuttle bus from the airport and it was $10.00 per person round trip, not bad. Our room was nice with a great view. I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews but our room was great. The air conditioner was a bit noisy but that drowned out the outside noise so it worked out fine. The room was clean, no complaints. We had a room with a kitchen and jacuzzi. Location is great! You can walk right out to the beach and was walking distance to everything. Also there is a free shuttle that can take you to Broadway on the Beach and other areas. We loved Bummz next door. Everyone here was very friendly. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at The Breakers. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and that we were able to dispel any concern you had with your room. Our entire staff works very hard to ensure our guests have a great stay, and we appreciate the recognition of their service and friendliness! We hope you can come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    943
    537
    175
    112
    137
See reviews for
914
396
33
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Fantastic service on the WestJet flight from Toronto.
Stayed in the Paradise tower - 18th floor
Room was clean & well furnished and cleaning staff were great. Only issue was the Wi-Fi only worked 2/3rds of the time. Dishwasher and 3 TVs (2 bdrm) were nice amenities. Free DVD rentals - very current titles! The Ocean view on the balcony was astounding...and we also had a good view out of the north-facing floor to ceiling windows.
6 pools to use - take time to check them out - some were busy while others empty. Kids loved the lazy river. Hot tubs everywhere, but for me a bit too hot at 103F.
Beach was nice...but a bit gritty; seams of broken shells can be sharp; maybe wear water shoes. If your kids love big waves...they never stop here. One report of a shark in the water near us, but incidents are extremely rare...just stay away from the piers and schools of small fish. The guidebook the hotel gives you says you should never go beyond shoulder depth - you don't need to to have waves going over your head!
Our first weekend was Black Biker weekend...some cool bikes and cars, but a bit too much of a party if you want tranquility. It all ends memorial Day morning.
There were always available chairs on the property (No leaving towels on chairs before 9am! awesome rule!) On the beach there are chairs & umbrellas for rent by the city(?), but the price was $25 a day, so most just sit empty. We bought great beach chairs at K-mart for $6 intending to throw them away but strapped them to our luggage and WestJet said it was ok. Couldn't use the beach umbrella as MB has an ordinance whereby all umbrellas need to be in a row....too far from the water for us. Kmart was cheaper for supplies than the infinite beach shops. For groceries we went to Target...good prices compared to the convenience stores near the hotel. Piggly Wiggly is walking distance and we likely should've checked it for groceries..
Walking distance to the top ranked mini-golf course (Captain Hook's - $9/10, but worth it) and 10 minutes to the main boardwalk. Ben & Jerry's, Starbucks McD's and Pizza all within a block.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at The Breakers Resort. We are glad to hear that our new DVD Now program is going over well and you are enjoying it. It gives our guests a little something extra to do in case of a not perfect sunny day at the beach happens. We hope to see you again the next time you visit the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Finally a vacation with no hassle. From booking the room to the attentiveness of the staff, what a fine retreat our stay has been. I highly recommend the Breakers Resort to anyone looking for a resort that delivers!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed their time at the beach and with us. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lottsburg, va
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Spent two nights with Daughter and Grandkids and BOTH nights, fire alarms went off at 4:30am and 4:51am the following day. Had to evacuate from the 8th floor down the stairs.
Lots of unhappy guests and Hotel Management offered NOTHING in exchange for the problems with their fire system. Nice property but HORRIBLE management.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We can assure you that our fire alarm system is and was operating with the guidelines set by Myrtle Beach Fire Department and there was no problem with our system. It is unfortunate that weather conditions triggered the alarm with the recent Tropical Storm, but it should also be comforting to know that our system is working in the unfortunate event there really was a real emergency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

First stay at The Breakers...all in all good experience. Sterling was wonderful with our luggage and anything else we needed. The Wedding and Reception were wonderful. Our room was fine...a/c seemed a bit iffy sometimes but overall no problem. Loved the ocean front and the Starbucks across the street!

Room Tip: There are some newer more updated rooms in one of the towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your special occasion weekend and that the wedding and reception were wonderful. We hope you can come back to visit the next time you are at the beach for a vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was a weekend trip with my girlfriends. Hotel location is the best because of proximity to everything. We had a beach view. Rooms were a good size. The service was excellent. Sterling was always available to give us a hand when needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We are glad to hear and your girlfriends had a great time over your weekend here at the Breakers. We look forward to seeing you again soon when you need another weekend getaway or for a longer vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We just returned once again from the Breakers(Paradise towers). We arrived at the tailend
of bikers week and to say that the resort had problems with that is an under statement.however
with their usual professionalism they handled the madding crowd of guests with class and speed.
They checked guests in as fast as their rooms were ready.Having spent the past 28 years at the
resort it should not be a surprise,and isn't, that the Breakers continues to be the"BEST"resort in
Myrtle Beach.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us at The Breakers. The day after every big holiday weekend is always a little challenging and we appreciate the recognition of our efforts. As a loyal Breakers guest, it is great to hear that we are still your choice when staying in Myrtle Beach. We look forward to many more years with you as a member of our extended family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.