We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay - a few things to note” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Resort

Save Saved
You added The Breakers Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Breakers Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% Summer Savings
Ranked #28 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great stay - a few things to note”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Fantastic service on the WestJet flight from Toronto.
Stayed in the Paradise tower - 18th floor
Room was clean & well furnished and cleaning staff were great. Only issue was the Wi-Fi only worked 2/3rds of the time. Dishwasher and 3 TVs (2 bdrm) were nice amenities. Free DVD rentals - very current titles! The Ocean view on the balcony was astounding...and we also had a good view out of the north-facing floor to ceiling windows.
6 pools to use - take time to check them out - some were busy while others empty. Kids loved the lazy river. Hot tubs everywhere, but for me a bit too hot at 103F.
Beach was nice...but a bit gritty; seams of broken shells can be sharp; maybe wear water shoes. If your kids love big waves...they never stop here. One report of a shark in the water near us, but incidents are extremely rare...just stay away from the piers and schools of small fish. The guidebook the hotel gives you says you should never go beyond shoulder depth - you don't need to to have waves going over your head!
Our first weekend was Black Biker weekend...some cool bikes and cars, but a bit too much of a party if you want tranquility. It all ends memorial Day morning.
There were always available chairs on the property (No leaving towels on chairs before 9am! awesome rule!) On the beach there are chairs & umbrellas for rent by the city(?), but the price was $25 a day, so most just sit empty. We bought great beach chairs at K-mart for $6 intending to throw them away but strapped them to our luggage and WestJet said it was ok. Couldn't use the beach umbrella as MB has an ordinance whereby all umbrellas need to be in a row....too far from the water for us. Kmart was cheaper for supplies than the infinite beach shops. For groceries we went to Target...good prices compared to the convenience stores near the hotel. Piggly Wiggly is walking distance and we likely should've checked it for groceries..
Walking distance to the top ranked mini-golf course (Captain Hook's - $9/10, but worth it) and 10 minutes to the main boardwalk. Ben & Jerry's, Starbucks McD's and Pizza all within a block.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at The Breakers Resort. We are glad to hear that our new DVD Now program is going over well and you are enjoying it. It gives our guests a little something extra to do in case of a not perfect sunny day at the beach happens. We hope to see you again the next time you visit the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    695
    381
    141
    87
    120
See reviews for
600
334
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Finally a vacation with no hassle. From booking the room to the attentiveness of the staff, what a fine retreat our stay has been. I highly recommend the Breakers Resort to anyone looking for a resort that delivers!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed their time at the beach and with us. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lottsburg, va
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Spent two nights with Daughter and Grandkids and BOTH nights, fire alarms went off at 4:30am and 4:51am the following day. Had to evacuate from the 8th floor down the stairs.
Lots of unhappy guests and Hotel Management offered NOTHING in exchange for the problems with their fire system. Nice property but HORRIBLE management.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We can assure you that our fire alarm system is and was operating with the guidelines set by Myrtle Beach Fire Department and there was no problem with our system. It is unfortunate that weather conditions triggered the alarm with the recent Tropical Storm, but it should also be comforting to know that our system is working in the unfortunate event there really was a real emergency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

First stay at The Breakers...all in all good experience. Sterling was wonderful with our luggage and anything else we needed. The Wedding and Reception were wonderful. Our room was fine...a/c seemed a bit iffy sometimes but overall no problem. Loved the ocean front and the Starbucks across the street!

Room Tip: There are some newer more updated rooms in one of the towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your special occasion weekend and that the wedding and reception were wonderful. We hope you can come back to visit the next time you are at the beach for a vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was a weekend trip with my girlfriends. Hotel location is the best because of proximity to everything. We had a beach view. Rooms were a good size. The service was excellent. Sterling was always available to give us a hand when needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We are glad to hear and your girlfriends had a great time over your weekend here at the Breakers. We look forward to seeing you again soon when you need another weekend getaway or for a longer vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We just returned once again from the Breakers(Paradise towers). We arrived at the tailend
of bikers week and to say that the resort had problems with that is an under statement.however
with their usual professionalism they handled the madding crowd of guests with class and speed.
They checked guests in as fast as their rooms were ready.Having spent the past 28 years at the
resort it should not be a surprise,and isn't, that the Breakers continues to be the"BEST"resort in
Myrtle Beach.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us at The Breakers. The day after every big holiday weekend is always a little challenging and we appreciate the recognition of our efforts. As a loyal Breakers guest, it is great to hear that we are still your choice when staying in Myrtle Beach. We look forward to many more years with you as a member of our extended family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

First off we arrive in our room and the beds are made but are full of sand and food from previous guest the remotes don't work they sent someone up but she said they didn't have any clean blankets we had to use the one from the sofa bed the maintance guy put battery's in the remote which worked sometimes then the guest beside us had our room and the hallway smelling like weed called the from desk and nothing happen had to smell it the rest of the night til my pregnant wife had to go complain to get moved to a room that she was told had a ocean view if the side of the hotel is ocean view the I must of missed something the ac unit leaks in the floor and was very loud along with the light fixture hanging down in the bathroom and no offer of a refund discount or anything we will never stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We apologize for the issues you experienced during your recent stay with us. We have forwarded all the housekeeping and maintenance issues to the manager to use for our on-going training of our staff. We have unsuccessfully tried to reach you to discuss this matter personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel
Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, MyrtleBeachHotels, Tingo, Venere, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.