We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Breakers what a wonderfull stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Breakers Resort to your Saves list
The Breakers Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
30% off Spring rates
Ranked #19 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lakewood, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Breakers what a wonderfull stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Still here will be checking out tomorrow after a 10 day stay in the Paradise building. We could not have asked for more, stayed in a 3 bedroom ocean front corner unit that was very clean and comfortable. Great pools, lazy river and hot tubs. Close to the strip and many other great places to eat, shop and generally have a great time. Housekeeping was great, came in everday and did a great job we even had a washer/dryer in the suite which came in very handy. Would recommend the Breakers highly, have stayed in other places and they don't compare. Will be back in the fall. Oh and by the way don't believe all of the negative reviews our room was exactly as pictured and the check in staff and everyone else were always pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: stayed on the 20th floor exellent view of the ocean and downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are please to hear you had such a great stay with us. We look forward to your return in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    707
    214
    129
    148
See reviews for
1,121
543
43
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gowanda
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our overall trip was wonderful. Breakers was an accommodating hotel with many amenities. Just wish the weather could have been warmer. Has trouble connecting to the internet but other than that-everyone was polite and helpful. Clean rooms and the maid cleaned up everyday.

Room Tip: Beach side is the best. Street side is noisy at night time
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are please to hear that you enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you again the next time you are at the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was very pleased with my room in the Sailfish Tower. It was very bright, cheerful and could not have been any cleaner. The location of the resort at 21st Ave was excellent as well. The pools and lazy river were very nice. We didn't visit the restaurant or bar during our stay so I cant comment on that. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay here at the Breakers and with our water amenities. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This appears to me to be a reconditioned 1950s-era hotel. The room was dark and dismal, with old-fashioned linens and rugs. The walls were textured sheetrock with ugly green colors. The bathroom was small with old-style tile and fixtures. Since they have six buildings, the others may be different. The pictures I saw online showed a modern structure with outdoor facilities--- it is. Outdoors. The inside details are what disappoints. If you want a room just to sleep in, then you may be happy. If the room is important to you, then look elsewhere. We left after one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was my third visit to the Breakers and I loved it each time. The staff is wonderful, everything is very clean, the beach is beautiful --- what more could I need. Will took care of my bags for the second year, remembered me, and did his usual super job of helping me get everything to my room. He's the best!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front rooms --- nothing like getting up in the morning and drinking your coffee whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on our bellman. They work really hard to make that great first impression of our resort. I have passed this review onto him and his manager. we look forward to seeing you on your 4th visit here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira Heights
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Breakers resort has everything you could need for your vacation destination. The room was very clean and made service was excellent, We had an Ocean view which made the room superb for the view. everybody on staff were very helpfull. As I am an early riser I did notice the cleaning staff cleaning all the pools and ground every morning. having the bar and the lazy river so close made it easy to relax and know the kids were safe swimming. The river came by the parrot bar and grill which I must say has exceellent food and service. We will be back as I think this is the best location to stay when at Myrtle Beach. We have stayed in other places but Breakers really stands out as this was our second year to stay there. Fress coffee early in the morning at Star Bucks right accross the street plus, ice cream pizza or a quility resaurant to eat at

Room Tip: try to get an Ocean view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Welcome to the Breakers Family. We are pleased to hear your great comments on your stay and that you plan to continue staying with us! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

With Breakers having having several "towers" on their property, we decided to try them this year instead of the one we stayed at last year.

Im very glad we did. We paid roughly $80nite for decent room with small kitchen, which saved us on eating out. The hotel was clean, property was kept up and had an indoor swimming area that the kids really liked.

It was within walking distance to the Convention Center, which was a must.

Parking was across the street and the only negative thing I have is the registration/drop off area is very small, so you have to pull up, wait 15mins to unload your vehicle, then check in.

Staff was curtious and the room was roomy for a family of 4.

Room Tip: Ask for either a ground floor room or one closeset to the elevator. We stayed on the 4th floor of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We hope you will visit again when you are staying at the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyrtleBeachHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.