We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Resort

Save Saved
You added The Breakers Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Breakers Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off for Fall
Ranked #21 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Gainesville, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great for a family.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We chose to reserve a two room suite because we travelled to SC for a cheer competition. We were booked at the North Boutique and the room worked out well. We were disappointed because the inside, heated pool is located at another Breakers property and we had to drive to get to it. It rained fairly hard during our stay and our sliding glass doors in our living area leaked horribly. We had a fantastic view of the beach in our room and it was nice to be able to awaken to the beautiful scenery. The free continental breakfast was a nice touch and perfect since we were on a tight. Schedule. I would recommend the Breakers resorts but do your homework and figure out which property has the amenities that you need.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    589
    179
    115
    138
See reviews for
988
436
33
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We go to Myrtle Beach about 5 times a year and the Breakers is the only place we stay. Its centeraly located for everything we like to do.The staff is very helpful and have an answer for every question I have ever asked. We have never had a bad experience at the Breakers.Rooms are clean and nicely furnished.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and your continued choice in choosing The Breakers Resort as your destination hotel in Myrtle Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our family has stayed at this hotel for 2 years in a row now. We are from Canada and we stayed during our March Break. The drive to South Carolina from the GTA is about 16-17 hours. The staff at this hotel are all very professional and helpful. Aaron at the front desk was extra helpful at finding us an appropriate room when we had issues with our booking. The lazy river, pools and hot tubs are a lot of fun for younger children and parents. Be sure to take note of which building you are booked in as The Breakers have quite a few buildings along the strip as well as the North Tower up a few blocks and the larger pool complex is in the furthest building to the south.The Paradise Tower is best for families and you won't be disappointed with the views from the ocean front rooms in the upper floors of this tower.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are happy to hear that The Breakers has been your hotel choice for the past two years. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to hear that about our staff as we work hard to ensure all guests are treated with great hospitality and any issues that may arise are taken care in a professional manner. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Checked into the Hotel March 21, 2013 and to my surprise despite being told by their offsite 800 service all amenties (bar,indoor pool, lazy river, and resturant) were all within hotel this is not true. Breakers have several properties and we were sent off six blocks away to the north tower. Before departing I ask the short tempered young male co-working the desk whether the hotels were the same and said "Both hotels are identical." If you were guessing where this story is going, you're correct if you guessed down the drain. Check into North Tower: no indoor pool, no lazy river, no resturant, and no bar. So we had to hoof it six blocks in pouring rain for three days to enjoy any of the amenties. No shuttle provided. Friday, a self protrayed manager hears our tale at the main hotel parrot club bar. Tells us he'll work on fixing the problem and listening to 800 reservation tapes of our booking and perhaps get us some complimentatary greens fees provided we pay for cart or get us room changes. Sounded like a reasonable offer. But phase two of the ruse just took place as we never saw him again or heard from him until we were drying off in the lobby and he walked in only to do a military style about face when he saw us and did an "irish exit." Despite have mulitple rooms and being checked in a day or two before the hundreds of cheerleading families arrived we were provided one concession for being a vicitm of the hotel bait and switch..We we allowed an extra hour for check out for an additional $16 and change.

Room Tip: Make sure you get email confirmation that your in the main building unless you dont care about ameni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faison, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I always celebrate our anniversary each year Myrtle Beach. This year I chose Breakers Resort to stay in and when I got there I realize we had stayed there when our boys were younger. Everything was nice. Parking wasn't as bad as it sounded. We always parked across the street with no problems. What I am most impressed with is the fact that I had left my timberlands in the room when I left on Sunday. Did not think about it until Thursday and I called them immediately. Af first I thought it was too late and they are probably gone but they referred me to lost and found person and told me to call back in the morning. And I called back and she took all of my informantion and said she would call me back. And she did and they sent them to me. For that I give Breakers a A. Thank you Breakers Staff

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
First off, we hope you had a great anniversary! We are pleased to hear that you received your shoes back. We hope you will decide to return to the Breakers the next time you return to Myrtle Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our family had a great time at The Breakers. We booked a 2-bedroom oceanfront suite in the Paradise Tower. We requested a high floor for better views, and ended up on the 19th floor in an end unit. It was great to not only have nice ocean views from our balcony, but also ocean and city views from the side of our living room through the floor-to-ceiling windows. We could even see the sunset out the side windows.
The room was very clean and comfortable. The living room/dining area was spacious, the full kitchen had most of what we needed as far as cookware and tableware, and the beds were comfortable. As it was off-season, it was a bit chilly, so our toddler really enjoyed the indoor pool area. We liked that it wasn't just one pool, but several pools, hot tubs, and a lazy river, all indoors, so we could enjoy no matter what the weather. The pool area was well-maintained, with staff constantly around picking up and refilling the towels.
Service was friendly and helpful. Parking is convenient in a garage right across the street. The location was very good, across from a Starbucks and Ben and Jerry's and walking distance to a lot of places. Prices were very reasonable, as it was off-season.
We would definitely return if we were in Myrtle Beach again.

Room Tip: We loved the Paradise Tower. It's convenient to the indoor pool complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed yourselves. If you get to return to the beach, we hope it'll be warmer and you can take advantage of all our outdoor amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked a week at The Breakers Resort and breakfast for all 7 mornings at Papa's across the street. We initially had the entire week in room 679 Paradise Tower, but were disappointed in the room. Firstly, our queen size bed clunked when anyone moved ( broken box spring), the sleeper sofa was well worn and the chair in the living area was not fit to sit in. We asked the front desk for a cover for the chair, which we never received. After 3 nights we asked the front desk if we could move rooms, as we were ready to ditch the hotel all together as we had 3 sleepless nights due to the clunky box spring. We were moved to room 544 Palms tower, although this unit is well dated ( 80's decor) it was clean, furnishings were in good conditon and it had an excellent view. The housekeeping was excellent. Breakfast was well worth the price at Papa's, if you prepay it is $8.00 pp.
We prepaid for the entire stay upon arrival, when asked if we were to leave early we were told that we would not receive any refund for nights not used. This is the first time we needed to prepay upon arrival, especially when I had already paid a deposit.
The Breakers is in an excellent location, though the rooms are really showing their age and wear.

Room Tip: Check your room first before paying in full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. Although we are disappointed that your stay started off a little rough, we are please that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay in a different room. The Paradise unit has since been repaired. In the off-season, we continually update our rooms one building at a time. While the Palms building was renovated in 2008, it is slated for updating next off-season. We hope you will consider staying at the Breakers on your next trip to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.