We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Breakers Resort to your Saves list
The Breakers Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Oceanfront rooms - $59
Ranked #19 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Windsor, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

When made our reservation we told the call center the dates we wanted. We were given a price and made the deposit. On the day before we were to leave the maid is the one whom said she would come back after we checked out this morning. I went to the front desk and I was told that my checkout date was one day earlier than what I had asked for. The front desk said we would have to pay for an additional day and that we would have to change rooms. When I called the call center the first comment made was that the front desk should have handled the matter. When I finally spoke to a manager at the call center she said that she listened to the call from the day I made the reservation and she clearly heard the dates that I requested but she said that the sales person said that it was four nights and again I repeated the check in and check out dates. I was told it was my fault that the reservation was wrong and that if i wanted stay I had to pay. WE WILL NOT BE RETURNING TO THIS RESORT!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: When making reservations make the person on the other end repeat what you want several times then ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We sincerely apologize with regard to the misunderstanding of your departure day. We have taken this incident and made it a focus with our on-going staff training. In looking back, we are pleased to learn you were able to stay the additional night at the group rate of your original reservation. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    643
    192
    120
    142
See reviews for
1,054
501
40
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Reviews of The Breakers (and most hotels in the Myrtle Beach area were not encouraging). We were there for the Big South Women's Basketball playoffs and were pleasantly surprised with our room. It was a side view of the ocean, had a little kitchen sitting area, nice size bedroom and bathroom. The rooms were clean and attended to every day. Since we were there for the playoffs we were unsure from day to day if we would stay. They were very accommodating to us and each day we won, we would go down get new keys and a new sticker for our car. All of the people at the front desk were very friendly and accommodating. The Breakers is right on the beach. We are not pool people but anyone with kids or grandkids would love the pool, lazy river facilities. I love to walk the beach and the weather was really mild (a little windy) and perfect for beach walking. I would highly recommend the Breakers for seniors, families and anyone wanting a clean, well maintained location in Myrtle Beach, SC.

Room Tip: We were in room 279!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank your for writing your review. It was a great weekend for Myrtle Beach with the basketball playoffs and we are pleased that you got to stay and enjoy yourselves. We hope that the next time you get to visit Myrtle Beach, you'll stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My daughters had a few days free during their spring break, so I booked a stay at our home in Myrtle Beach, the Breakers. We've been coming for years. This was my first time during off season, and it was just as nice as during on season, which is great. We booked a ocean front room in the Paradise. It isn't really a room, it's a small apartment with a bedroom with two queen beds, a full kitchen with pots, pans, and dinnerware, good sized bath, and a living/dining room with a couch, easy chair, large tv and wall bed. Great for longer stays if you want to save some money and make meals in the room. The online pictures are true to what you will find when you arrive. The indoor pool was kept up and clean and the hottub was great given it was pretty cool out. Staff are friendly and helpful. It was busier than I thought it would be for off-season, but the golfers stay here as well. The main part of the resort is at a really good location, a number of restaurants, beach shops, putt-putt and fast food within walking distance. Short drive to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk. Been coming to the Breakers for over 10 years now, don't feel to need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: you probably want to stay in one of the buildings at the main location at 21st and Ocean Blvd. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for continuing to choose The Breakers Resort as your destination while visiting Myrtle Beach. It is great to hear that you and your family enjoyed yourselves during our off-season as well. We hope to see you again in season and for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We love staying at The Breakers Resort every time we go down to Myrtle Beach. The view of the beach from the balcony is always so beautiful. The rooms are always clean. We always get the room with the full kitchen in it and I love it. I love the indoor pool they have and the outdoor pools also. It is very close to a lot of attractions, we go walking all the time along the strip there is always so much to do. There is no where else I would rather stay then The Breakers Resort

Room Tip: I love the view from the higher floors love the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to hear that The Breakers Resort is your home away from home. Our staff works and tries very hard to make every guest feel this way, and it is very rewarding to hear that we have succeeded with you! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Breakers Resort is our "go to" Hotel for Fall and Winter trips to Myrtle Beach - we never stay anywhere else for these trips! We are never disappointed in our rooms or the service we receive. We especially like staying in the larger condo style rooms - they are very comfortable w/ sofa to sit on while watching TV or enjoying the view of the ocean.

Room Tip: We splurge on the larger rooms, especially if we're taking a long weekend (or longer) trip to My...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your love for the Breakers Resort. We are proud to hear that we continue to be your "go to" hotel in Myrtle Beach. We will look for you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Besides the wonderful views from the hotel balcony, the rooms are spacey and welcoming. If you have never seen a sun rise, you will be amazed at it's beauty as it rises from the Atlantic. Now, as for the golf. Each course has a beauty of its own. Just when you thought you played on the best one, the following day brings another beautiful course. I have no favorite course, I love them ALL!!!!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are definately worth your money. As for the breakfast, satisfaction is guarante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your golf trip here to Myrtle Beach and The Breakers Resort. The sunrises here are rather remarkable to witness (if you can get up in time)! Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our group has traveled to Myrtle Beach for the past 15 years. Last year was our first trip to The Breakers Resort in Myrtle Beach and everyone was so pleased with the accommodations and the resort's hospitality. We had a great hospitality room for our stay and the restaurant had outstanding food. We would definitely plan another group trip to The Breakers Resort.

Room Tip: Beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing us as your hotel this year for your group. We are glad that everyone enjoyed themselves. We hope you'll consider making The Breakers Resort your group's permanent destination for your vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.