We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff - Great location - Awesome Oceanfront Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Breakers Resort to your Saves list
The Breakers Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Oceanfront rooms - $59
Ranked #19 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Nice staff - Great location - Awesome Oceanfront Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a very nice Oceanfront room. Excellent location for all of the Myrtle Beach tourist attractions (very close to Broadway at the beach, Dixie Stampede, Ripleys, the sky ferris wheel, popular restaurants, etc). Very friendly staff. We had a great time, and we will be back :)

Room Tip: Oceantfront is the very best - and usually not much more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    643
    192
    120
    142
See reviews for
1,054
501
40
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walhalla, SC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from Dec. 26th until Jan. 2nd. We went for a relaxing trip. Housekeeping was great. They did not bother us at all when we had the "do not disturb"sign out. Did great on cleaning days! The rooms are very spacious and were very clean. The only suggestions that I would make is they get the curved shower rods. (I really don't like touching the curtain.) And a full sized fridge for those of us who stay longer than a weekend. We loved the private balcony!! We stayed on the 9th floor and the views were great!! We were there for New Years and the fireworks were right in front of our room! We got to sit on the balcony and watch them. This was our first time here, but definitely not our last!! Thanks Breakers!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed during the christmas break 2012. Stay was excellent. we stayed on 9th floor. Great view and great customer service. Pools were great. weather was good enough to walk on the beach too. Clean and new wall paper looking great in all rooms, kitchen was good with new granite counters. we have been going here for the last 5 years and this time we felt as new place as they replaced the wall paper. Looks new and nice. Onsite restaurant was great. we sure go back again... kids loved it and we all wish we stayed longer but i told kids next time....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Always a pleasure and the conveniences in the hotel are why we come back. The Starbucks, restaraunt, bar, pizza, yogurt, wine stores are great! Perfect location for families that travel and want to enjoy experiences from North Myrtle to Murrells Inlet:) Everything within 2 blocks if you don't want to drive at all!! I love the Breakers!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have been going to the Breakers every Christmas for almost 20 years now. For the last 10 years I have stayed on the top floors of the Paradise Tower. This past visit on 12/25-12/29/12 was the WORST I have ever had from this resort. In previous years, my request was always granted for either 1-2 of my choices, this year, neither request was granted. The check in lady was obviously dismayed at having to work Christmas Day, and let it show towards me upon check in. The carpets in the rooms and hallways on the 19,20 & 21 floor are dirty, room carpets stained, all need replacing. I peeked at the side view bet. floor tile and side of frig, disgusting, and killed a roach on the hallway floor the 3rd day of my stay. ( I was in room 1970.) Toilet in front balcony bedroom was dirty, hair on shower walls, and dark hair strands on a bath towel. Checked behind dressers, filthy and dusty, even saw and picked up a bottle of dish liquid behind the bedroom dresser. Heaven only knows when they were cleaned behind last time! I have relayed this above info via an e mail from the resort, requesting me to complete a survey. Consider Camelot By The Sea, or Dayton House, heaven knows I am before I will book my trip for 2013!! I almost suspect Mr. Daniels may not be managing the hotel, or has too many responsibilities and have let the hotel go to pot..that's where the Paradise Tower seems to be heading! Not "Paradise" anymore for me, sad, so many wonderful visits with them in the past.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We are very sorry that your recent stay with us was not up to your expectations. You are a valued guest and your comments/review are very important to us. Our guests are encouraged to let us know how their visit was so we can continue to work with our managers/staff to help train them to have everything ready for our guests. That is why we send out the comment cards to our guests - we have received yours, reviewed the areas that you had concerns with, and you will be contacted shortly to discuss them. Thanks again for you valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The staff was very helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. The rooms were very spacious and had all the neccessary amenities. The ocean views were gorgeous to watch the sun rise and set each dsy of my trip. My first time at the resort and I woukd definitely recommend it to all my friends and family. Definitely will use again maybe for a summer getaway to try out the gorgeous pools. Thank you Breakers Resort for a wonderful weekend getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Great place to go and relax. Staff is wonderful! Rooms are very clean. Great prices. Right on the beach. It makes me want to move here. Went during the perfect time of year. Very convenient to places. I will definitely be going back a lot more.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Myrtle Beach and our resort are a great plan for visits to the Ocean! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.