We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9800 Queensway Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach at Kingston Plantation)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates from $89
Ranked #16 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Grifton, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Will go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2006

We stayed in a 4 bedroom villa for 2 nights. It was wonderful! The villa was beautiful and felt like home. It was also in walking distance of the beach- which helped the late night beach walks. We had an older crowd, so I'm not sure about the crowded waterpark. When we went to the pool (in the evening) there was no one in it, and there are pools everywhere on the property- even one right near our villa. We go to Myrtle Beach often and usually stay in oceanfront hotels, but because we had a crowd, we tried the villa, and we are already palnning another trip soon. The property layout is great, and we are not all day beach people (we sleep in, ride around, and hit the beaches and pools in the evening), so it was perfect for us.

  • Liked — The accomodations
  • Tips/Secrets — If staying in a villa- request Windemere. Eat breakfast in. Use coupons and always ask if any type of discount is available.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    227
    94
    65
    20
See reviews for
344
179
14
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

We had stayed our first 5 nights at Myrtle Beach at an amazing hotel in North Myrtle, but they were booked solid for the last 2 nights and so we had to move to Embassy Suites, Kingston Plantation. For the price, we thought this place would be great.....were we ever wrong. The hallways in the hotel were about 90 degress as we walked to our "suite", and the air inside the room was even hotter. Seems they rig their air conditioning to cut off if anything is open, including the balcony. Ours had been cracked a little, so the air conditioning hadn't been on all that time. The furniture was horrible...outdated...they still had a big CRT tv that looked like it was from 1980. The bathroom will make you feel clausterphobic, as it it JUST fits the toilet and shower. We actually found a gigantic bug behind the toilet, which front desk said was a "palmetto bug". We did some research..and found palmetto bug is basically the local term for an oversized roach. One plus was that the beds were confortable, but who could sleep with possibly more roaches crawling around? Also, if charging $240 dollars for the room wasn't enough, be prepared to spend more money for everything!!! Local calls...75 cents. Wireless internet, 10 dollars a day. Chairs and umbrells for the beach, 30 dollars a day. After deciding 10 dollars was a bit steep just to use our laptop for a few minutes to Mapquest our way home, we walked down to the business center. Of course, we should have known....there was a pruny old lady sitting in front of the business center in a little booth, COLLECTING MONEY!!! That's right, apparntly it is $5.00 for every 30 minutes you use the business center. She wouldn't even let us get directions home. We ended up going into ANOTHER hotel to get directions. This place is simply...terrible. You don't feel welcome at all, and the decor of the room will take you out of that "beach mode" very quickly. Save your money and go somewhere else...I have stayed at Super 8's who at least let you use the business center for free...geez.

  • Liked — Location on the Beach.
  • Disliked — Filth, Price, Decor, Roaches, Charging for everything.
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the Spanish Galleon. They are pretty nice and slightly cheaper. Also a better beachfront location.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2006

Our family spent 6 nights at the Embassy Suites Kingston Plantation the last week of July. We had a wonderful vacation! The rooms were very nice and clean. Overall we were pleased with the cleanliness and condition of the property. Beach and pools were great! You can't beat the breakfast buffet each morning and manager's reception each afternoon. Our only complaint is that both were crowded - however we expected this given that it is peak vacation season. The property grounds were beautiful and we felt safe as it is a gated community. The staff was wonderful, and our check in/check out went smoothly. The staff went over and above to accomodate our requests - our daughter lost a souvenier purchased in the gift shop on her way home - we called the hotel and they took the time to send her a replacement, as requested. She was so pleased, and it was the perfect way to end our perfect vacation. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and we definitely plan to visit again. The location was great - in the middle of everything, but on a quiet stretch of beach. You can do as little or as much as you want.

  • Liked — beach
  • Disliked — crowded
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central-NJ
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

Stayed for 4 nites at the Embassy. Beautiful gated grounds-always felt safe. Wonderful buffet breakfast with make your own waffle (yum!) with whipped cream & strawberries! Ate breakfast outdoors listening to waves... Great staff most of them are from foreign countries, here on internship for their Hospitality requirements (except for front desk/cleaning). Asked for extra pillows and amenities, but never arrived, for 2 days - went down to front desk to get them. But when i called for a change of sheets on the pullout (liquid accident) in the middle of the nite, they came promptly. Room was very nice - even my 4 yr old said "WOW" everytime he entered the room (and we've been to alot of nice hotels)! Nightly manager's reception was very nice w/complimentary non-alcholic drinks, beer & wine & snacks. Checkin/out was a breeze, separate checkin for HiltonHonors members, but elevators took awhile at checkout. Main pools were crowded and yes, filled with sand. One pool had tiles hanging and eventually fell off while we were in there. Live band from 1-5. Kids' program was great - foreign staff as well. Waterpark -must be guest of Embassy Suites to use it, other Kingston residents must pay to enter. lifeguards were strict and i felt it was well controlled. Lazy river also had a lifeguard, kids were not allowed to swim in it and younger kids must have adult supervision in it. So it was the most restful & peaceful lazy river i've ever been! Free Yoga on Mon/Wed/Fri at 7am by the Hilton beach (but i never made it). Also movies on Sun/Thurs by the bandstand at 8:30pm- great fun for family! Altho beach was not lighted at nite, the broadwalk to Hilton is, and so is the beach by the Hilton. Great illegal fireworks on the beach too! On-site photograher, but he didn't have any appts left while we were there... Lots of conventions, and easy outdoor parking. Only problem i saw besides the tiles, is some ppl drinking out of a glass bottle by the poolside-when i 'tattled' to a waitress, she promptly removed it. Sorry safety first! We didn't have a chance to enjoy all the amenties at Kingston, so I will plan another trip again - maybe next year? :-P

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodoldusa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2006

I have been coming here for years. Love the hotel and all the things it offers. Big problems with the elevators. Only 3 and 1 was broken for 2 days during my trip. The pools (both) were very cloudy. On our 5th day, both pools were closed and being fixed. Broken pump or so we heard. There seems to be a huge shortage of help on this property. Free buffet breakfast was delicious as well as the managers reception each night. Check in was a nighmare as always. Be prepared to wait at least 30 minutes, maybe more. The Embassy Suites checks in not only their hotel guests, but condo guests as well. (there are many condos on the property) I feel for the price of the rooms, service could be much better. Pool grounds were not cleaned, lots of sand and mold in areas.

  • Liked — Location - facility
  • Disliked — lack of help, overpriced rooms, getting run down
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2006

We were pleased with hotel, location, and amenties. The rooms were very clean. Furniture and carpet in the rooms appeared relativey new and were free of stains. We were traveling with an 11-month old and 8-year old and both seemed to enjoy the pools and close beach access. Staff was friendly and accomodating. The included hot breakfast buffet was great. We didn't find the elevator waits too long at all - seemed the check-in/check-out times were the busiest and longest waits for elevators. We just avoided those times. Waterpark and pools were generally crowded during the heat of the day but not so bad after opening at 9:30 or after about 3:30. Overall, we had a great stay.

  • Liked — On the beach and pools
  • Disliked — Pretty Crowded
  • Tips/Secrets — Call ahead to get confirmation of when room will be ready and avoid check in/check out times for elevators
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2006

we recently stayed here for 7 days. The location couldn't be better, it is a gated area on the beach. People were complaining over a long wait to check in, we got right in, in 5 min.There are 3 elevators in a 20 floor building. The rooms are sort of run down and decrepid,but they are hugh and satisfing.The complimatery breakfast was great. The pools are the best. They were large, warm, and relaxing, but they were covered in sand from the beach. There is direct access to the beach, which you have to rent chairs and umbrallas for a hefty price of $30.00 a day! Our trip was fine till the last day which the wait for an elevator was very long. The elevator we were in got stuck for 20 mins, so that made us P.O'd. all in all it was nice

  • Liked — the room size
  • Disliked — elevators
  • Tips/Secrets — stay in margate tower condos or a low floor
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9800 Queensway Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach at Kingston Plantation)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort is the perfect place for family vacations, conferences and groups events, and even romantic getaways. The Embassy Suites offers luxurious two-room suites, and the resort features a golf course, tennis, Splash Water Park, oceanfront dining, and a full activities schedule during the summer months. Join us for your next Myrtle Beach Vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach At Kingston Plantation Hotel Myrtle Beach
Embassy Suites Kingston Plantation
Kingston Plantation
Myrtle Beach Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.