We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but some flaws” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   9800 Queensway Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach at Kingston Plantation)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates from $89
Ranked #17 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location but some flaws”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed here for a week in the main 20 story hotel just off the beach for a business conference so needed to stay where the conference was. The location is 5 stars but other areas could use some improvement. The rooms are spacious but could use some updating as they are starting to show their age (I'm guessing early 80's since last upgrade/paint etc) No bedbugs though there are two positive hits on the bedbug registry for this place...I looked hard and didn't find any evidence of any bugs period. I was really perturbed that they charge 9.95 a day for internet...come on even McDonalds has free Wifi. Parking is another 8 bucks a day that should be included especially when you are paying close to 400 a day. Something funky was in the shower drain and we had to buy bleach and pour a cup down each day to cut the odor of what ever it was coming up...(no traps??) The breakfast is a perk and was good...not great but good. 3 elevators is too few...should be at least 4 with some freight elevators for 20 stories. 5.00 for bottled water in the room...get real! That's 20 bucks a gallon... Needless to say I brought my own. Walmart is a couple miles up the road so you can stock up cheap and use the fridge in the room. When I come back to Myrtle I think I'll pick another hotel on the strip as the price for what you get is too expensive. They advertise 9 pools...only two arelarge and only 5 feet deep...the rest are kiddy pools or jacuzzis.

Room Tip: I'm sure you can do better if you look around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyMyrtle, Manager at Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear Jonathan:

Thank you for the feedback on your most recent stay with us.

I am sorry for the issue you experienced with your shower drain. Our engineering department has already followed up and addressed this issue so that it will not happen again.

We appreciate your business and I hope that you will give us another try! If you do return as a guest of our hotel, you will have full access to the facilities at the Sport and Health Club, the Splash Pool Complex and the Hilton Resort next door. Thanks again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Erik Johnson
Director of Operations
Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    228
    95
    65
    20
See reviews for
346
179
14
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Water, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Returned after a 3 yr hiatus to MB. Then remembered why we love coming here. We booked via Hilton points & were upgraded to corner suite OF room although we did have to get manager's approval and waited add'l 3 hrs to get to our room. Only the bathrooms were completely OF-wall to wall 1/2 windows; w/a standing glass door shower, double sink & private toilet. Evelyn&Crabtree toiletries provided. Beautiful to shower while watching the surfs! Hopefully no one saw in?! Wrap around balcony gave us beautiful sun-rises (northview) from our bedrm & LR! Rollaway beds were actually comfortable. Small refridge/microwave/bar sink. Free-wifi & breafast buffet w/gold/diamond status. Breakfast was good, esp. their grits & oatmeal, made to order omlets were hit/miss w/the ingredients missing, but still ok. Eggs so/so; bacon great; sausage too salty; and biscuit & sauce-yum! "Order' COKE in the morning! Coffee is always good & fruits were fresh. If you arrive at the line 1/2 within closing, expect to wait, they start putting things away exactly on time (10am weekdays/10:30am weekends). Elevators were more problematic this year since we were in the middle flrs, needed to go up b4 going down. Pools were re-finished - but by midday, saw white foamy stuff in the pools (???) saw ppl cleaning pools daily in the early mornings; I took towels off the chairs after an hour if no one claimed it and used the chairs, esp ones under the umbrella. Waitresses took orders by the pools, didn't use the Kids' clubs/activities. Yoga on the beach near the steps @ 7am. Beach was really shelly this year w/hard surfs (Emily?) w/2 separate jelly stings; and sand fleas which gave (only) my son hives . Umbrellas not allowed past the lifeguard due to safety (someone died of heart attack due to EMS couldn't find the patient cause of the them), but they put the chairs/lifeguard station right at the water line, so plenty of space behind them &they space them further to allow for some private umbrellas to be in line. Used their shuttle service to Tanger, waited ~ add'l 20 min to be picked up in the heat, but still grateful for the service. Loved BATB & Barefoot landing. Tried Rioz steakhouse- pricey ($36) but WOW and Joe's Crabshack were very accomodating to my seafood allergy son by making sure everything is clean for him separately, only thing, their A/C is very weak. Golden Coral is just 'ok coral'. 9 Hole Golf was only $16 incl cart and an under 16yr old! Mini golf was more expensive w/$9pp after 6pm. In all, a great trip!

Room Tip: Be friendly and ask nicely, some CSR are nicer than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I booked this property on a Hilton Reward so I was limited to the rooms available. Due to the size of my group (6) I had to take one of the Villas which are not ocean view and do require a 5-10min walk to the beach/pool etc. That said the Villas were perfect for Grandma Grandpa, wife and kids. The Villas had full kitchen with everything but the food two bedrooms. The first bedroom had 2 twin beds and the second had a queen bed ant there was a pull out couch. The twin beds do cut it a bit tight. The pool and splash water park are pretty packed, try to imagine the deck of a cruise ship on dry land. If you don't mind the crazy atmosphere then you'll be fine.

There is a bar near the pool and cafe with waitress service. The age of the property is showing a little, but overall with the activities they had everyday for the kids you won't be without something to do. I would suggest the Villas just try to get one that isn't to far to walk. We were in the Hyde park area and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I'll start off by saying that this was my first trip to Myrtle Beach and I absolutely loved it as a family vacation. Lots of stuff to do with the kids
My husband and I stayed here with our two daughters age 1 and 3.
The hotel itself is ok. Nothing fabulous but nice. You can tell they have tried to update the decor in the rooms themselves but the bathroom was old and date. Clean but defnitely needed some sprucing up. That being said for us it's always great to have a suite where we can put girls to bed and go to a separate room to relax and watch tv. It also helps to have a small fridge and microwave.
We paid $270/night (plus taxes and fees) which is definitely not cheap but when you take into account that you get a one bedroom suite and free breakfast it was worth it for us
Breakfast is great and included eggs, pancakes, fruit, bacon, cereal, grtiz, etc. WE never had a problem as we were always there by 9. Gets kinds busy after that but they are constantly replacing the food so it never really runs out.
Another great thing was the water park. Nice size, and the girls had a blast.
The beach is nice. Gets terribly hot but you can rent an umbrella with two chairs. Beware that the rental is through a private company and not the hotel so you can't charge to the room and need cash ($30)
The hotel is connected to the hilton which also has several nice pools and is definitely worth walking over and checking them out.
The embassy suites is located in north myrtle beach so you do have to drive to get to the majority of the attractions but i think that any hotel you stay at you will have to end up driving as all the major attractions are spread out through the city

have to say that when we were checking out and reviewing our final bill we noticed a charge that we had not made. Went up to the front desk and they reviewed the receipts for the day and confirmed that it was a mistake, Very easy to take care of and the manager was very helpful

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

As a Hilton Diamond member who spends 100’s of nights at Hilton hotels, Embassy suites at Myrtle Beach is by far the best hotel I have stayed at. This was our third time at the Embassy this year, my family and I look forward to every vacation spent at this property and will continue for many years.

Barb who works the front desk always goes out of her way with a smile to help guest. She is very friendly, helpful and deserve a great deal of praise for her excellent customer service.

Kudos to Erik (Hotel Manager) and his staff for making our stay a great one – My family will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyMyrtle, Manager at Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Cruiser825:

Thanks so much for staying with us in Myrtle Beach! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and I have passed along your comments to Barb at the front desk.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Sincerely,

Erik Johnson
Director of Operations
Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We went to Myrtle Beach and stayed at this hotel because we wanted to lounge at the pools and/or beach. First, the pools were impossibly crowded--only two small pools for a large hotel and it seemed that people staying in the nearby condominium complexes were also using the same pools. There were times during the day that people were virtually shoulder to shoulder in the pool. Also, kids were being thrown up in the air and were allowed to use all kinds of pool toys in the pool. Not only was it not relaxing. At times I felt it was dangerous. Also, the pool was not that clear, so if you swam underwater, people can't see you.

We are fair skinned and prefer to sit in the shade, especially when it was as hot as it was. The pool chair situation was ridiculous. People horded chairs all day and night long and it was a war just to get a chair, never mind in the shade. If you want to sit on the beach, be prepared to pay $30.00 for two chairs and an umbrella (per day).

The inside of the hotel was very nice and the staff was pleasant. However, who wants to stay inside at the beach?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

When you stay at any Embassy Suites you know what to expect-the Hilton Family of quality, the manager's reception, the free breakfast, etc...and this Embassy Suites is no different. Being oceanfront automatically make you feel relaxed but with all of the pools, bars, and great food-it makes it that much easier. The staff is friendly, the valet service is worth the tips and the amenities are exactly what you'd expect from an Embassy Suites. It's stylish and well laid out but the main entrance could use a little bit of updating. This resort's location is well situated in Myrtle Beach and I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9800 Queensway Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach at Kingston Plantation)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort is the perfect place for family vacations, conferences and groups events, and even romantic getaways. The Embassy Suites offers luxurious two-room suites, and the resort features a golf course, tennis, Splash Water Park, oceanfront dining, and a full activities schedule during the summer months. Join us for your next Myrtle Beach Vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach At Kingston Plantation Hotel Myrtle Beach
Embassy Suites Kingston Plantation
Kingston Plantation
Myrtle Beach Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.