We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite campgound in Myrtle Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakewood Camping Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakewood Camping Resort
5901 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favorite campgound in Myrtle Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Camped at Lakewood more than once. Full hook-ups, cable tv, internet. You don't even have to get out of your RV or vehicle to sign it. You drive up to a booth. They give you a huge layout of the campgrounds with direction to your site. Over 1000 sites! You can rent a gold cart if you need one to get around. You can even rent a villa" if you don't own an RV. Clean, well laid out camp ground. Secured grounds. Gated with security guard 24 / 7. I would highly recommend it to any camper in family. Amenities. Pool, minature golf.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    18
    15
    15
See reviews for
62
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Point, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were there over Easter and had a great time. My kids loved the kids club they have for the kids, they rode their bikes all day, swam in the indoor pool, played mini-golf, did the paddle boats and of course being beach front is a big perk. Parts are under construction but we are looking forward to the water park they are putting in. The people are very friendly and we love coming here. Cannot wait to come back this summer!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, Nc
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This past Easter marked the 35th (or so) year of many vvisits to this wonderful, family-oriented camping resort!! There's no need to even leave the site once you arrive because they have it all!! There's a coffee house with access to wifi, an indoor & outdoor pool (indoor has a heated jaquzzi), you can paddle-boat, play miniature golf, basketball and volleyball, ect., ect., ect!!! If you want food for the body or food for the soul, you can enhoy a fish fry while being entertained at the beachside pavillion's performances by High Steppin' Country on Saturday nights and spirit-filled services Sunday mornings and night!! Staying one time and saying it's excellent is one thing, but 35+ says a whole lot more!! Make this a part of your famiy's next vacation and see for yourself that there's always something new & worthwhile!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This campsite has gotten worseand worse the last few years. They nickel and dime you for every last thing they can. I could have rented a nice car for what I paid for the golf carts. Its anice spot but the management just wants your money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette S, Public Relations Manager at Lakewood Camping Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are sorry that you were displeased with your stay at our campground.
In order to address your concerns more clearly, it would be helpful if we knew if you were staying in a villa or on a campsite. We strive to state all rates and charges to our guest when reservations are made. Golf carts are not required for our guests but are available through a local company with an office on the campground. This rental company is not part of Lakewood management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and i recently stayed with our 9 month old. The villas were great; very convenient for us since our little one could crawl and play. The indoor pool was a wonderful ammenity since the weather was cool during our trip. There is close proximity to the beach. We also enjoyed the church services on Easter Sunday. Lakewood is definitely family oriented; can't wait to vacation there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

hundreds of kids, beware. i was sitting outside my RV and a guy on a huge grass cutting tractor came by within 5 feet! not enjoyable, very loud, and now grass everywhere. the spaces are gravel, uneven and very difficult to get into if you have a long RV. stay at walmart on RT544.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

My family has been coming here since 1984. It seems like over the past several years they have been nickel and diming everything, from the bracelets they charge for extra activities that you may or may not use, to having a tent on your lot. I have a travel trailer and I have to pay an extra $10 per night if my kids want to sleep in a tent. The bathrooms don't seem to be cleaned very often. If you make a reservation and request a certain lot, they may not honor your request. So why allow requests in the first place? I remember when this was actually a nice campground, now, not so much.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakewood Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewood Camping Resort

Also Known As:
Lakewood Camping Hotel
Lakewood Camping Hotel Myrtle Beach
Address: 5901 South Kings Highway, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Specialty lodging in Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakewood Camping Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lakewood Camping Resort to your Saves list