We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain George's Seafood Restaurant

Captain George's Seafood Restaurant
1401 29th Ave North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
+1 843-916-2278
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 760 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my No. 2 when it comes to Myrtle Beach seafood buffets - but it rarely disappoints and it's my pre-teen son's favorite place to eat when in town. There is a good variety of seafood specialties, an ample salad bar and plentiful dessert table. Service is very good and the tag-team approach keeps tables cleared and drinks filled.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    290
    148
    60
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ok food, great atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

You should try this place once for the atmosphere. Place is amazing. Food is meh. Fried shrimp was tough and chewy at 5pm. Really....? Crab legs were good. Variety was ok. For the price I was expecting more. If the food was a little but better I would say this place would be my first choice. If you care more about food quality and value, go somewhere else. If you like to experience stuff just for the atmosphere, then this us your place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A bit overpriced for cold food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The table service was great. There is a good selection of food, but some items I got had obviously been sitting for quite some time. The crab legs were room temp every trip I made to get some. One trip to the buffet, I got a whole plate that was so cold I had he waitress take them. The kitchen said they put out hot ones, went to get some and they were just as cold as the last ones.
As far as MB buffets go, stick with "The Original Benjamin's", I promise you won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The service was very pleasing. The food was fantastic my family enjoyed every last bit. We didn't let our eyes get our stomachs in trouble which was very hard with the many selections available. We will re-visit. Can you guys open a location in my area up north?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Great seafood and regular food , the Alaskan crab legs are excellent and plentiful. Fresh oysters are very good. Worth every penny!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain George's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Captain George's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain George's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.