We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harassing staff members ruined our trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   10000 Beach Club Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $59
Ranked #78 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
2 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Harassing staff members ruined our trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We have been staying at the Hilton Myrtle Beach (usually in the Royal Palms Condos) for several years. We are Hilton Honors Gold members and stay almost strictly at Hilton hotels because we have come to expect great service and accommodations. The Hilton in Myrtle is a special location for our family - my husband and I were married in the hotel 5 years ago with 100 of our guests staying at the resort and we have brought our extended family back multiple times a year to enjoy the resort since then. I have never had a complaint. We are recognized and greeted by bellman and waitresses who remember us each summer. The hotel has always gone above our expectations. Granted their is a line for elevators and the internet can be slow, but I can overlook these issues because the experience is always great overall.
This year, we found ourselves extremely frustrated by an aggressive pool staffer. While the towel attendants and bar staff are excellent, the "guest services" attendant, Tom, spent the week harassing anyone he could. He seemed to actually enjoy it. He asked to see your wristbands every 20 minutes, looked through coolers regularly, and removed towels from pool chairs if he determined you had been away from your chair for too many minutes. We were confronted by Tom at least 8 times a day. He indicated he "had it out for us". When I shared with the manager on duty my concern, he didn't validate or address the issue, which was disappointing and just shows the hotel stands behind such poor behavior.
The purpose of the hotels new wristband policy is to ensure others aren't using guest amenities. I get that. I abided by the policy, keeping a wristband on or near me at all times. With a 9 day stay and a 8 month old infant in tow, I found having something on my wrist became a struggle and nuisance. Reasonable "guest service" members allow you to attach your wristband to a pool bag, strap on your bathing suit, wherever you wanted just so they knew you belonged at the hotel. Not Tom. He got pleasure out of yelling at guests, threatening to kick them out, mocking guests who tried to breaks his laws, etc. If they didn't put the band exactly where he wanted it for that day, he made a scene. Several other guests expressed their frustration with his harassment that detracted from their relaxing vacation. I get the policy, but he way it is being enforced is harassing guests, not intruders.
Tom needs to go, or he needs to stop harassing loyal, paying customers. After 7 years of coming to this hotel, we probably will find somewhere more relaxing and less intrusive to stay next year, thanks to Tom. While his job is to keep intruders out, in result, Tom is keeping loyal customers from returning. Such a shame, especially considering our history with his hotel and it being the place we were married and now wanted our children to enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    161
    151
    78
    30
See reviews for
162
174
17
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jonesborough, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My friend and I were so excited to be going on our annual girls trip. We splurged this year and decided to go with the Hilton. We love the location! Upon arrival, we learned they do not loan out luggage carts so we had to wait to get our things upstairs. We had bought a few groceries and realized early on the fridge was cool but not cold. We called twice about this and no one ever came to fix it. We bought a larger cooler and kept most things in that. The toilet ran all the time. We didn't even bother to call about that. The staff was nice and we loved the lifeguard. The hotel is really starting to show its age.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager15, General Manager at Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Liza G,

We appreciate your honest feedback and apologize that the maintenance issues you mentioned were not fixed in a timely fashion. We understand what a special weekend this was for you and your friends and we do our very best to provide personalized and efficient service to our guests. We're working with our staff to make the necessary improvements and we hope we can invite you back for your next weekend getaway.

Kind regards,

E. Silvestri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Spent the weekend at the Myrtle Beach Hilton. I've been there numerous times, and I think it's a solid hotel. Good location, clean rooms, nice beach, access to splash pool on Kingston Plantation. I needed a quick breakfast and stopped by the 2nd floor restaurant. Buffet is $15, and usually don't eat from the buffet when kids' faces are below the splash guard. I ordered the omelet for $14. I expect to pay a premium for the convenience, but the omelet was no more than 2 eggs. Not very filling, especially after getting the tab. Lots of other choices less than a mile away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

on a drive around we stayed two nights and really liked the hotel. It is what it is a resort hotel with decent sized rooms and all the facilities you need. It could do with an update but its all clean and working. wifi would have been useful but plenty of bars and eating places around to use, you are on holiday!!! we went to the close by tanger for a starbucks and some good shopping. We also walked out yes walked i know , to an irish bar with great food and local ale about 20 minutes in the evening warm heat. lovely pool and bar at night. plenty to drive to in the local area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Pros:
Location, Location, Location!
Friendly staff

Cons:
Dated décor and furnishings
Food is subpar
Expensive!

Check in: We stayed here for a relaxing weekend in June of 2014. We reserved a king bed ocean-view room, and as HHonors Diamond members, we were “upgraded” at check-in. We were upgraded to a higher floor, but no suite or deluxe amenities. Our room wasn’t available at check-in, but we were welcomed to enjoy the hotel and beach while our room was prepared. The front desk called about two hours later letting us know the room was ready.

Room: The room had a balcony with a view of the adjacent hotel and pool, and the beach and pier. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was incredibly small and dated. The door swung within 2” of the toilet. Also, the shower curtain was falling off its grommets. The bath mat was torn and one of the towels had a stain in it. In typical Hilton fashion, the thermostat had a mind of its own. I set it at 68-degrees when we went to sleep, and we woke up at 72 degrees.

Amenities: The pool deck and beach is where most guests will spend most of their time. Access to the beach was through the pool deck. The pool deck is busy with families and kids. The beach was wonderful and the showers, etc. were very helpful. The pool deck attendants were all very personable and loved to chat.

Food: The tiki bar on the pool deck serves standard hotel food. Drinks were tasty but were over $10 for an 12-oz glass. Our pretzels and “queso” were microwaved and served quickly. The “queso” was liquid cheese tasted, and was priced like, something from a movie theater.

The continental breakfast was tasty. Most Hiltons give Diamond members free full breakfast, but this Hilton only gives access to the continental breakfast. There was a wide array of fruits, cereals, and pastries. Our server could not have been nicer! She was very cheerful so early in the morning.

Overall, we paid more per night here than we did at a Hilton resort in Hawaii. This hotel was small, dated, and lacking amenities compared to other Hiltons we’ve visited. The huge lobby/atrium is full of "popcorn-ceiling" material and looks like it could use a fresh coat of paint.

The location was a definite benefit, but the dated décor and expensive and lifeless food would lead us to venture to other properties nearby. The hotel is perfectly serviceable for a weekend at the beach, but isn’t noteworthy by any means.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were in for a 2 night stay- bought a reduced-rate package that obligated us to attend a vacation club presentation. It was a nice stay, but the room appearance wasn't as nice as we expected.

The hotel is a big one, and it's all about location in Myrtle Beach. It's right on the beach, a couple miles south of the boardwalk. It has a couple swimming pools, great beach access, a small workout room, restaurants, large conference rooms, etc. There was a business meeting or 2 in process during our visit, and we could see that it would be a nice venue for that type of activity.

Most or all of the rooms have some sort of ocean view. We were on the 7th floor, had a little balcony, which was nice, but the room itself was pretty small, there wasn't a DVD player, wi-fi (though free for their Honors members) was terribly slow and buggy, and the bathroom needed some work, especially around the tub area. The fitness center, though small, wasn't busy and was adequately outfitted (couple treads, couple crosstrainers, multi-function cable machine, dumb bells up to 50 lbs., no other free weights).

The staff was nice and helpful. We ate at the restaurant next to the pool- food was OK for that type of place. The beach was wonderful, and the weather was excellent, so it was all good!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

There was a time when this hotel was the place to be. However, not so much now (1) holes in the bathroom towels. (2) pieces of wood balancing the room safe. (3) Apparently the room bathroom was used prior to us arriving. (4) items on Breakfast Buffett seemed to be leftovers from the prior day. (5) the staff was a 50/50 most were dumber than stumps with a I don't give a crap attitude. (6) stale beer smell at pool area. Yes I realize Hilton has franchise hotels but the standards should be the same.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager15, General Manager at Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Mikey197114,

We value your loyalty to our hotel and appreciate your detailed feedback about how we can improve and continue to offer the consistent accommodations our guests expect. We are evaluating all of our linens, reviewing our dining selections, and freshening common areas to provide the most comfortable experience possible. We hope that you'll consider staying with us again so we may offer you the hospitality you deserve and expect.

Kind regards,

E. Silvestri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort

Address: 10000 Beach Club Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort is located at the north end of Myrtle Beach, SC. Our hotel offers luxurious accommodations featuring private balconies with ocean views. Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort also features golf, tennis, and a conference center perfect for groups of all sizes. All guests can enjoy access to Splash Water Park located at our neighboring sister property Kingston Plantation Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hilton Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.