We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon at 77th

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Horizon at 77th to your Saves list
Horizon at 77th
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   215 77th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$62 (USD)
Ranked #61 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ideal for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My fear in going to Myrtle Beach was to end up in a crappy, dingy, old place. When we found the Horizon I was delighted to have the opportunity to stay somewhere affordable, brand new and 2 min from the beach.

This was the ideal setting for traveling with kids if you are a low maintenance family lol! Service was hard to get, almost non-existent.

Our kids loved the pool and the proximity to the beach and Marc and I particularly enjoyed the balcony overseeing the beach.

We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    100
    43
    40
    25
See reviews for
242
87
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Creek, ON Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This unit however small was very well appointed. The value was very good and the owners very pleasant. I would recommend this for couples. The only knock I have is the sofa was uncomfortable (owners said they are in the process of replacing sofa) and the balcony was windy and shaded witch might be ok if the weather had been warmer ... we went end of March and it was ccccold. We did like the location and the underground parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Let me start off my review by saying this is not my first time staying here. I've stayed here a couple of times in the past and each time has been wonderful. I decided to write a review to help other travelers. I have stayed away from this location for the last year due to some negative reviews read on tripadvisor. The reviews stated that the property had started to become "run down" and that the condos were starting to look "bad" and "worn". I am glad to report that is not the case and Horizon @ 77th is back in our choice of places to stay at Myrtle Beach!The location is great as it is not located near a whole lot of hotels, kind of off to itself. The 3 bedroom condo was spacious, well kept and beautifully decorated. I enjoyed having a washer and dryer located inside the condo. This weekend was rainy and chilly, but that did not stop us from having a great time. My family really enjoyed the indoor heated pool and outdoor heated lazy river. They could have stayed in the water all day if I let them. Thank you Horizon and staff for making a dreary weekend getaway WONDERFUL!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Horizon at 77th, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
We are so happy you have returned to The Horizon. We do depend on guests like you to let others know what a great vacation spot Horizon can be. Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor too. We know that sometimes there are issues that show up on internet sites and it can be difficult for a resort when happy guests do not share their experiences. We look forward to serving you for many years to come. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have stayed here twice, now. The condo is comfortable, clean and close to the action. It's also sooo close to the beach - which is pretty important. It's very affordable even with how classy it is. It's fully furnished and even has a washer and dryer! We stayed in the one bedroom, one bath and loved it. The open concept makes it great for connecting with loved ones who are staying there, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Horizon at 77th, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We love hearing from repeat guests like yourself. Thank you for returning to Horizon and sharing your experience. Our recent Trip Advisor posts have been so complimentary to our staff. It means so much to us. Since our opening we have been very successful in finding and keeping very positive and accomodating staff. They enjoy serving our guests and their smiles prove it. We are very grateful for our guests and staff. We will make sure they read your comment. Please return to Horizon soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pa.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel is kind if out of the way, but the one bedroom condo is really beautiful, and really quite nicely equipped with all the modern conveniences of home. Full size refrigerator with ice maker. Full sized dish-washer and stove. granite counter tops, large sink. Open concept between living room amd kitchen, with snack counter and chairs, besides glass-topped table and four chairs. Did I mention washer and dryer in condo also, if you plan on doing laundry make sure you bring detergent, or buy some at store, it is not supplied. My favorite was full-sized coffeemaker, brewed as much as you wanted, and you pushed button, for as much or as little as you wanted in your cup. All coffee and mixers were supplied by hotel, I thought all hotels supplied coffee for coffeemakers, but they do not. Our doughter stayed at Compass Cove and they gave you a coffeemaker, but you had to furnish the coffee.
The only drawback to this hotel is the location, it is kind of far from the boardwalk and other attractions, and once you came back for the night there is nothing close by to do, without driving there. We were facing pool and lazy river so we could see the ocean, but it does not offer ocean-front because sister hotel is in front of it. If you don't mind having to drive and not having the convenience if just walking around, it is a beautiful and really clean hotel. The staff is very helpful, and friendly too.. We stayed in May(not Bike week) and it was not at all crowded.

Room Tip: Side of resort facing lazy river and pool. Higher floor for better view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We came to Myrtle Beach to visit with family that recently moved here from NY. We stayed in a 2 room condo with the Boulevard view. It was a large 2 bedroom/2 bath. We also had a peak-a-boo view of the ocean and a nice view of the area. The room was very clean. Nice finishes (granite counter tops in kitchenette, crown molding, upgraded carpet and furniture. We didn't use the pool or fitness room so cannot comment on that. Parking was easy in the parking garage and it was a very short walk to the beach (right outside the hotel door). The beach was very nice, although it was cold and we only walked along the shore one day. We definitely will stay hear again. It was a very good experience and very good value.

Room Tip: We were on the seventh floor which made for nice views of the whole area. We opted for the boulevar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campobello, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at Horizon at 77th as we attended a class at a local art studio. There were supposed to be four women but one was ill at the last minute and could not make it. When we arrived it was after dark and we were tired but we were so pleasantly surprised how nice the resort is. Good photography can make any place look good so you never know for sure when you stay somewhere if it is going to be what you imagined. The unit was very spacious and ample room for three people. If we would have had our fourth we would still have been comfortable. The whirlpool tub off the master bedroom was outstanding and we had a beautiful kitchen. In the morning by daylight we had a beautiful view of the ocean. We left for our class that day and when we arrived home we discovered we had had housekeeping in our unit. I never expected that. Typically with a condo situation you don't have that--maybe just a towel exchange mid-week. I had even thrown towels in the dryer so they would be nice and dry for the next time we used them. We didn't need to as we had fresh towels provided. As I said this exceeded my expectations. We found the location to be excellent. Right on the beach and close to everything we needed. We found plenty of good places to eat close.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Horizon at 77th, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hearing we "exceeding" our guests expectation is the very best possible compliment we could wish to receive. We are so happy to know your girls time away was a hit and you enjoyed the condo at Horizon. Thank you for choosing us and please allow us the privilege of serving you again soon. Always let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon at 77th? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon at 77th

Address: 215 77th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon at 77th 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horizon at 77th resort lies conveniently in the heart of Myrtle Beach, where you can dash easily in your bare feet and bathing suit out the front door right on to the beach. Opened in 2008, this distinguished ocean view resort provides spacious one, two and three bedroom condominium options featuring full kitchens with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances, plus over-sized balconies overlooking the Atlantic Ocean offering comfortable seaside living at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Horizon at 77th reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon At 77th Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon at 77th, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.