We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed and enjoyed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Wind On The Ocean

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Wind On The Ocean
Save
You added South Wind On The Ocean to your Saves list
5310 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Hazletownship, Pa.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stayed and enjoyed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We recently stayed 7 days at South winds and overall it was a pleasant stay. It rained for 4 days but still had plenty to do. We had only 2 issues during our stay. First ..it rained so hard one day that the parking lot drains could not handle the rain and the water filled our shoes (4" of water in parking lot) but the water eventually went down when the rain stopped and really not a big deal. The 2nd which was very disturbing was the ignorant young lady that was sitting with her feet in the hot tub. She was smoking and flicking her ashes right where everyone including the children walk, sit , and swim. She then rudely proceeded to extinguish her cigarettes right on the pool side concrete. THIS WAS JUST WRONG!!!!!! Smoking should not be allowed while around the hot tubs , pool , and lazy river! There are plenty of smoking areas in the grass. Other than those everything was very nice!

Room Tip: Pool and hot tub close at 9 must use beach colony pool and hot tubs till 11pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear JosephD,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay but it saddens me to hear that we did not succeed in all areas. This is a non smoking property, so I would like to encourage you on your next stay to please make us aware when someone is smoking in the public areas and we will make sure to put a stop to any inappropriate behavior. We look forward to hosting you and yours soon and wish you a fantastic rest of the year.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    16
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
49
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

After years of staying at Beach Colony we finally got an opening at South Wind. There was no one at the front desk so we had to walk back over to Beach Colony only to find the owners decided to stay in their condo and we were switched to the second floor in South Wind which would be over the pool and disappointing. The front desk was very nice and we were given a room back at the poor Beach Colony. The folks are nice as is the location. It is the management that is the issue in that the rooms are in such a horrible condition that I don't think the owners are required to keep up with the inside. The couches are ripped, the rugs are wet, the TV didn't work, the bedroom furniture was broken and so many babies in the pool. I regret this is our last stay as we don't risk making a reservation at South Wind in February to slip back to Beach Colony in August.

Room Tip: There is no confirmation you will get the room you made reservations for months in advance
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear jo514,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our properties, I would like to apologize that we were unable to provide you the room you requested at Southwind and that you choose to stay at the Beach Colony resort. As I am sure you know, each of our units at both properties are individually owned and we do use comments such as yours to continually push our owners to bring their units up to the standards our customers have come to expect. I would like to speak to you further regarding your experience so that we continue to improve our customer service techniques and I would also like to encourage you to please give us another chance to meet your expectations and book you the room you want at South Wind.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
843.449.4010 ext 7106
nhadad@beachcolony.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our second year staying at South Wind.The accomadations are phenomenal! Ten family members arrived and we were taken care of from the very start. At check-in by Lori (I hope I got her name right) who was very plesant and helpful to Deborah, who made sure our condo stayed clean and shiny. All in all a great time had by all. See you next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear E M,

Thank you so much for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that your second year has been a success and will be sure to pass along your wonderful compliments to the staff. We look forward to hosting to you and yours next year.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our 2nd year at South Wind in a 3 bedroom condo with the whole family. Very clean and well furnished condo. The front desk staff (Laurie) could not be a better first impression for your facility. She greeted us last year and again this year. She is friendly, helpful and just gives you good feeling about staying there. Great family environment without all the loud outside noise we had experienced at another location. Would definitely recommend :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Elaine H,

Thank you so much for your review of South Winds as well as your continued support and patronage. I am very happy that you had a great time and will be sure to let Laurie know that she did a great job. We look forward to having you back with us again and hope you and your family have a great rest of your summer.

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at South Wind with a few friends for a long Memorial Day weekend. I was a bit worried when we arrived at 5:30 pm and found the office closed, but we were directed to the neighboring Beach Colony resort to check in without any issues. The accommodations were excellent. Our two bedroom, two bath condo was very clean and well appointed. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed (although some of the cooking utensils were a little flimsy). The kitchen and bathrooms had beautiful granite countertops, and the master bath had a large whirlpool tub. There were three flat screen TVs with cable, although we didn't use them much since the weather was so nice (upper 70s and mostly sunny). The large balcony overlooked the ocean and, despite the noise of bike week, was very nice for relaxing in the evening. The location is slightly out of the way (not on the main boardwalk), but the beaches were less crowded which easily made up for this.

There was a very large outdoor pool (slightly chilly this early in the season), a lazy river, and two hot tubs plus an "indoor" pool, kiddie pool, and hot tub. (The indoor pool was really enclosed inside, but the large wall/windows were open-air instead of glass.) There weren't any towels at the pool, so make sure to bring your own. The washer/dryer in the condo helped keep our towels fresh. The oceanfront views were great, and beach access was easy. Housekeeping came daily to tidy up. Parking was convenient, although we chose to do our grocery shopping beforehand and didn't go out once we arrived.

I was slightly concerned given the website and lack of reviews on this property in comparison to some of the other places I considered, but I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at South Wind and would certainly return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at South Wind On The Ocean, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear onlineguy,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful views and easy beach access that this oceanfront property has to offer. It can be nice to be a short distance away from all of the hustle and bustle of the central Myrtle Beach area (especially during bike week), and I am glad that you found South Wind able to offer you that experience. We look forward to hosting you and yours again in the future.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed in room 1406 (5 bedroom) in mid January 2013. This was our first visit to Southwind, so I was a little unsure of what to expect. We visit Myrtle Beach at least 6 times a year, and have now found our new favorite place to stay. This condo was amazing! It was super clean, had tons of cook ware for cooking, and all the amenities of home. There seemed to be enough towels, but I always bring my own anyway, so that is never an issue. There is a full sized washer and dryer within the unit for doing laundry and drying towels that may be taken to the pool area. I cannot say enough good things about this place. The facility overall was wonderful as well. The pool area was clean, the water was not over chlorinated, and the hot tub was hot enough. The elevators were not slow, which can be a problem in some resorts. The common areas were well maintained, and there was plenty of parking. I am a very picky person when it comes to places to stay, and I can say with certainity that we will DEFINITELY be staying here again, and hopefully we will be able to get unit 1406 again. Awesome trip!!

Room Tip: Room 1406, which is an end unit, has a wonderful balcony and excellent view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three wonderful days at the end of September. The weather was perfect, the beach was quiet during the week, and our room was beautifully appointed and squeaky clean. We have stayed at South Wind in the past, and we will not hesitate to stay there again. The location is away from the main roads where a lot of traffic is, and it is still easy to access the big shopping and dining sites. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and wish it could have been for longer.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Wind On The Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Wind On The Ocean

Address: 5310 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
South Wind On The Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Wind On The Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.