We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Twilight Surf Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Twilight Surf Motel to your Saves list
Twilight Surf Motel
1703 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Ironton, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was my 3rd time staying at this motel in the last 4 yrs, the service was horrible we had to ask every day for clean towels. We asked a maid if she could please run the vacuum in our room and they never did, the room stunk, the sheets and bed spread had holes and weren't clean, when we had to ask for things, we were told to wait until tomorrow. We had to empty our own trash and there was trash all over the parking lot. Over all it was a totally horrible experience. I would not recommend this hotel for anybody.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHorizonsTravel, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your repeat business! We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your recent visit. Rooms are cleaned daily and supplied with a limited number of towels. Because we are located ocean front, we do keep additional towels on hand. They can be requested by phoning or stopping by the front desk. We appreciate your concerns and want you to know we will bring them to the attention of our housekeeping department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    11
    3
    22
See reviews for
26
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, WV
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I understand a "get what you pay for" motel but this is ridiculous. The sheets had stains from either toothpaste or some bodily fluid. The room smelled like urine, which was coming from the air conditioner. The bed was lopsided, and once we asked for new bedding since ours was dirty we were told we would have to wait for a new sheet. They won't give out the wifi code, and you have to make a trip to the front desk for every device you want to connect. This hotel is a joke, and the price is NOT worth it! Stay somewhere else and save your money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHorizonsTravel, Guest Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We are sorry you were not satisfied with your room. We wish you had brought this to our attention during your stay. While rooms are inspected, serviced, and reinspected daily, it is possible that there was an oversight. Had you mentioned this during your stay, we would have gladly offered to move you to another room. We strive to make cleanliness one of our top priorities and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreve
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My sister-in-law always stays at this motel when she visits Myrtle Beach, and she recommended it. It was our first trip to MB and we traveled with our daughter, son-in-law and 3 grandkids. The two double and one queen bed was just right for us. This motel really needs a lot of updates and cosmetic improvements, however it was very clean! I can adapt to less amenities as long as the place is clean! It is also very convenient to the beach. For travelers on a budget, I would recommend this motel. When we got home, I researched the price for one night stay at the motel located right next to this one. It was half as much as we paid for the whole week...just for one night! Of course, it was a high-rise with parking garage, indoor and outdoor pools, lazy river and kid activities, etc. For our budget, the Twilight Surf is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHorizonsTravel, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Twilight Surf is proud to be a family owned and operated hotel. We continue to invest in the property, while trying to maintain one of the most reasonable ocean front rates along the Grand Strand. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of the room, as we strive to make this a top priority. We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beauharnois, qc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Me, my husband and his son went to this motel for the first week of july in vacation. we reserve a room with a full kitchen. it's the second year i went to this motel. The room was not extra clean. some dust on the wall, the microwave was not clean and all the dishes was not clean.The kitchen is very hawful., the stove is very very old, the coffee maker, the toaster and microwave was finished and just good for the garbage. Another worst point is that key is block in the lock, a lot of misery to enter in our room. And it's the first time i went in a motel who charge to have some ice!!!! I never saw it before. The people that work in the office are nice. no wifi in this motel and they charge 0,50$ per local call. If you look your budget i recommanded this hotel because is the cheapest motel in myrtle beach. He is not very bad but some things to be ameliorate. The most good point of this motel is a oceanfront motel, a minute walk to go to the beach. for the next year,maybe i reserve this motel, or not, if i found better for the same price i reserved it!

Room Tip: in all room you hear a lot of noise, no room are quiet. much echo in all room. if you are in couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHorizonsTravel, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate constructive criticism and will take measures to correct the items you have mentioned. We hope you will vacation with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Geat place, good room service,I would go back again for the price you cant beat it . I would recommend it to friends and family that are looking for a place to stay on a . budget. Just a shot distance from the beach .had a great time even tho we were rained on every day .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHorizonsTravel, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your kind words and are happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yadkinville, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Me and my husband went with some family, we were not pleased. the shower leaked from the room above us into our bathroom. the toilet stopped up, and when I called the office to report it, We had to fix it,, not them, No cell phone or internet service.. Someone from there came into our room 2 nights while we were out and didn't lock the door back behind them. The pool was Ice cold, could not even swim in the pool. The room and the pool were clean, But was not happy at all with the service or the place. we had ask for the code for the internet, and the owner acted like it was going to kill her to give it to us. we had also ask the maid service to change the sheets and the bed spread on the bed, it NEVER got changed. No elevators in the hotel, was very hard for my husband to get up and down the steps. We will never again stay there... the one thing I was very unpleased with was there was a Spanish family that had checked in B4 us, the owner had rented them the room. well that night the other owner came to their room trying to kick them out, after they had already paid their money, that's not how u do business. .. NOT HAPPY!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHorizonsTravel, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We apologize for any inconvenience during your recent stay. As mentioned in our reply to your family/friends review, problems sometimes arise. We do our best to respond/repair these issues as quickly as possible. Unfortunately, some things such as mobile phone service is out of our control. As a smaller, seasonal motel we do not now, nor have we ever advertised an elevator or heated pool as an amenity. This helps us provide economical, oceanfront accommodations to guests who otherwise may be unable top afford them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just got back from there today. My stay was the worst ever!!! Room was very clean but bathroom leaked from floor above me. No WiFi and cell phones do not work there!! The people that work there in the office was unfriendly!!! The pool was clean but it was cold as ice. No way will I ever stay there again. One of the staff members was walking into rooms for no reason. My door was unlocked twice when I came back and I know it was locked!!!! There was no tv or a/c in the secind room. Just not a good place to stay. It is cheap!! So if you are going just to see the beach its the place for you!!!! I would not recommend it to anyone!!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHorizonsTravel, Guest Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We make every effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Unfortunately issues arise from time to time. Many are due to normal wear and tear, accidents, abuse/misuse of other guests. Regardless of the cause, we make every effort to address and correct these issues as soon as possible.

We do not now, nor have we ever advertised a heated pool as an amenity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twilight Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilight Surf Motel

Address: 1703 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of your air conditioned room and onto the sunny beach. Guests have long enjoyed the close location of the Atlantic Ocean. Not only is the Twilight Surf Motel oceanfront, but is also in the heart of Myrtle Beach. This means golf courses, shopping centers, and amusement parks are only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Twilight Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilight Surf Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twilight Surf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.