We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place for the $” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twilight Surf Motel

Save Saved
You added Twilight Surf Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Twilight Surf Motel
1703 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Salisbury, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“nice place for the $”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Geat place, good room service,I would go back again for the price you cant beat it . I would recommend it to friends and family that are looking for a place to stay on a . budget. Just a shot distance from the beach .had a great time even tho we were rained on every day .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHorizonsTravel, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your kind words and are happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    10
    3
    20
See reviews for
24
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yadkinville, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Me and my husband went with some family, we were not pleased. the shower leaked from the room above us into our bathroom. the toilet stopped up, and when I called the office to report it, We had to fix it,, not them, No cell phone or internet service.. Someone from there came into our room 2 nights while we were out and didn't lock the door back behind them. The pool was Ice cold, could not even swim in the pool. The room and the pool were clean, But was not happy at all with the service or the place. we had ask for the code for the internet, and the owner acted like it was going to kill her to give it to us. we had also ask the maid service to change the sheets and the bed spread on the bed, it NEVER got changed. No elevators in the hotel, was very hard for my husband to get up and down the steps. We will never again stay there... the one thing I was very unpleased with was there was a Spanish family that had checked in B4 us, the owner had rented them the room. well that night the other owner came to their room trying to kick them out, after they had already paid their money, that's not how u do business. .. NOT HAPPY!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHorizonsTravel, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We apologize for any inconvenience during your recent stay. As mentioned in our reply to your family/friends review, problems sometimes arise. We do our best to respond/repair these issues as quickly as possible. Unfortunately, some things such as mobile phone service is out of our control. As a smaller, seasonal motel we do not now, nor have we ever advertised an elevator or heated pool as an amenity. This helps us provide economical, oceanfront accommodations to guests who otherwise may be unable top afford them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just got back from there today. My stay was the worst ever!!! Room was very clean but bathroom leaked from floor above me. No WiFi and cell phones do not work there!! The people that work there in the office was unfriendly!!! The pool was clean but it was cold as ice. No way will I ever stay there again. One of the staff members was walking into rooms for no reason. My door was unlocked twice when I came back and I know it was locked!!!! There was no tv or a/c in the secind room. Just not a good place to stay. It is cheap!! So if you are going just to see the beach its the place for you!!!! I would not recommend it to anyone!!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHorizonsTravel, Guest Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We make every effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Unfortunately issues arise from time to time. Many are due to normal wear and tear, accidents, abuse/misuse of other guests. Regardless of the cause, we make every effort to address and correct these issues as soon as possible.

We do not now, nor have we ever advertised a heated pool as an amenity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We like to stay in the older, non-chain motels as a general rule, and have made many trips to Myrtle Beach over the years and have never regretted a single stay, UNTIL NOW. The front desk clerk was indifferent at best. We had to go to the store to buy cleaning supplies to clean the shower before we would use it. There were burn marks all over the sink and tub ledge. The kitchen had to be cleaned before I could unpack any food items that we had brought, had to buy cleaner for that as well. The bedspreads had holes all over them, so we removed them and didn't use them, since the air conditioner only kept the room marginally cool, we didn't need them anyway. The refrigerator ran constantly and never cooled anything, neither did the freezer. There was no safety chain on the door, and the tv outlet was just a hole in the wall with no cover on it. On our second day there, the beds were not made, the floor was not vacuumed, and again the bathroom was not cleaned. It is only a good value for the money if you get anything in return for your money, and here all we got was a dirty, uncomfortable room and surly staff. No wifi, and you have to pay to get ice from a mildewed chute in the laundry area. Nice pool is the only good thing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHorizonsTravel, Guest Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We regret any inconvenience you may have experienced while staying with us. We strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We are proud of the fact that Twilight Surf is a "non-chain," family owned & operated motel. Rooms are inspected, cleaned and reinspected each day. We hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future, as we continue to update amenities and reinvest in the motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The fist room the toilet was nasty and the air was broken the second room, as we were leaving, we look under the beds an there was a used condom underneath. I will never stay there again. The night manger was very mean and did not want to change rooms for us.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHorizonsTravel, Guest Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We regret that there were minor air conditioning issues in your original room and happy we could move you to another room. Rooms at Twilight Surf are inspected, cleaned, and reinspected daily. We wish you had brought any additional concerns to our attention, while still on the property, so that we could have addressed them at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Pine, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My family and I stayed and we loved it. The rates were great for a family on a budget. The room was clean and enough space for the 5 of us. The staff was very nice and helpful. We had a side view of the ocean. The pool was nice and clean. When you wanted to go to the beach it was only a couple steps away. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHorizonsTravel, Public Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Twilight Surf is proud to be a family owned and operated motel who provides some of the most inexpensive oceanfront rates in Myrtle Beach. We strive to make improvements each season, while working hard to maintain these rates. We hope to see you on your next trip to Myrtle Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray Court, South Carolina, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I didn't really expect a lot because of the price. The room was reasonably clean but had NO view. Everything went okay for the first two days except it took the AC unit a couple of days to get the room cool and the lock on the door was really hard to unlock. We left tips for the maids every day but they only cleaned our room for 2 days. This may partly be because of the condition of the lock on the door. I had to go ask for towels every day after that. Not really a horrible place for the price but it seems they need a little more caring staff. I definitely will choose a different place to stay.

Room Tip: Not room 110. Bad lock and sorry air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHorizonsTravel, Guest Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take your comments seriously. Please know they have been looked into and addressed as needed. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future, as we continue to update and reinvest in the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Twilight Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilight Surf Motel

Address: 1703 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#111 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#111 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of your air conditioned room and onto the sunny beach. Guests have long enjoyed the close location of the Atlantic Ocean. Not only is the Twilight Surf Motel oceanfront, but is also in the heart of Myrtle Beach. This means golf courses, shopping centers, and amusement parks are only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Twilight Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilight Surf Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twilight Surf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.