We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twilight Surf Motel

Save Saved
You added Twilight Surf Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Twilight Surf Motel
1703 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Hartsville, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Been Staying there For a few years now,& really love it,Love The View.The only Complaint is that the price On Their Sign is Higher than what it says,Because the weekends is Higher ,I Believe it Should say That.But other than that ,Its a really Great Place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    10
    3
    22
See reviews for
24
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

This was absolutly the best decision we made! The room was clean and had a fridge and stove which saved us money cause we didn't have to eat out every day. We had a side view and we were still able to see the ocean from our room. Wanda was our house keeper and she was great so friendly! The pool was clean and for the price we couldn't have asked for anything better. We will definatley be staying there the next time we come down! We have a four year old and she loved it there too!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

this place is a really good and cheap place to stay me and my husband stayed here when we got married in august we had no complaints and had clean towels brought to us everyday the room was cleaned daily and the location of this hotel is close to the places that we love to visit .. i recommend this place to ne one that goes to the beach ....

Room Tip: get the ocean front view top floor ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeburn va
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Carpet filthy, towels dingy sheets have holes in them! Stove is the worst. With caked on grease! Floors. Are so dirty we kept our shoes in! Plugs in have no covers so u have to watch kids every move! Lamps have no shades! Has a window air conditioner that did work well, beach has a stinky drain pipe that is terrible, you have to move way down to get away from the Smell! It made our vacation a living hell! We ended up moving to another place it was so bad, maid service is a joke, they didn't clean our room the entire time. It needs to be condemed!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHorizonsTravel, Guest Relations Manager at Twilight Surf Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. Twilight Surf genuinely appreciates your business. Please know that we have looked into and addressed your comments as best we can. Please consider staying with us again, as we continually update and reinvest in the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Seldom stay in older motels, due to musty,dank smells, but inspection found no bad odors, even from the Surf's window air-handler unit! The IrishRover review was submitted a couple weeks before our '1st of Apr.' arrival,on our way to MD frm FL, & I believe all their complaints have been remedied! A few guests of this approx. 50-unit motel, stayed on the balcony quite late, but they were either extremely quiet, or with the din of the fan, we didnt notice! It felt like home with the slightly faded, soft, clean, all cotton bedspread, that will never contaminate, & was appreciated during our two cool nights! The pool was warm, and MUCH cleaner than the identical one at the nextdoor motel. Was tickled to be able to preserve our FL citrus in a crisper drawer of our fridge, & to be able to chill & reheat our doggie-bag goodies, late at night, while watching tv, was a real bonus for our $32! Tho a wkday, didnt notice any noise frm airport, & unless one desired full seclusion, no more quiet or convenient location was observed by this retired pair! With stagnant income, & helping family members, this place was a treasure to us, including the few flecks of wear in the still effective dark drapes! We watched guests arriving, being greeted like family, & assumed they were! After speaking to several however, we found most were just regular 'regulars,' whom had vacationed here for 10 or more years, & just feel like family!! Like them, we plan to return again; well worth the minor flaws that age brings! My ONLY wish would have been for a small window to open, to hear the ocean, & feel the heavenly breeze! But Alas, 'progress' has 'sealed us in,' I suppose, as guests became negligent in performing the simple act of closing windows, when appropriate! Be sure to whistle at the two friendly parrots across the street, at the large, yet quaint breakfast/lunch cafe!

Room Tip: View frm 1st or lower floors ocean front, may not clear the dunes, but well worth the few dollars mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Having stayed here for many years, I am still a "generally satisfied" customer. But after our visit mid-March this year, I surely noticed a lot more wear & tear than previous visits. While the place is still a decent value for the money (we paid $32 per nite for a side-view), there are lot's of areas that could be updated without making a big investment. For one thing, the heavy, ancient bedspreads should be retired, and replaced with a duvet or similar top sheet that can be laundered frequently. The exterior walkways and doors need a good cleaning and painting. Our room door was delaminating, and literally falling apart. The neighbors two doors down had a pile of lawn chairs and coolers blocking the walkway every day so that we had to use the stairs at the opposite end of the building when coming or going ... the walkway was nearly impassible. Surely this would be a problem in an emergency or fire. The neighbors sat outside drinking and smoking until after midnight almost every day, and were pretty loud! Understanding that they were on vacation, and wanted to enjoy themselves, but we would have enjoyed a little bit of consideration too!

There were lots of rooms advertised along the boulevard with similar low rates, so next year, we'll try a different property for comparison.

Personally, I'd recommend that Twilight Surf upgrade the cosmetics a bit, even if it means increasing rates by a few bucks per night. A little investment and modernizing now could help to keep the place an attractive, viable, low-cost option, as it has been for so many years previously.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I have been staying here for almost 27 yrs and have only missed a couple of years in that time.But everytime I'm here it is a very good vacation.The staff is very helpful and the rooms are great for the price,remember your not at the Hilton.I love it here and don't want to stay anywhere else!!! We enjoy it every year!!! THANKS FOR THE GREAT MEMORIES!!! Tammy Moore and Family!!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twilight Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilight Surf Motel

Address: 1703 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of your air conditioned room and onto the sunny beach. Guests have long enjoyed the close location of the Atlantic Ocean. Not only is the Twilight Surf Motel oceanfront, but is also in the heart of Myrtle Beach. This means golf courses, shopping centers, and amusement parks are only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Twilight Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilight Surf Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twilight Surf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.