We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wizard Staff Decidedly Unfriendly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Wizard

The Wizard
4601 Leeshire Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29579
843 236 9393
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 134 Activities in Myrtle Beach
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recommended golf course has an intriguing landscape of hills, peaks, and berms.
Browns Summit, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wizard Staff Decidedly Unfriendly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Played the Wizard 8/16/2013. Staff very unfriendly. No "Welcome, thank you for playing with us"; not even a smile. I've been playing golf in Myrtle Beach for 30 years and this was the worst course experience by far. Course was in mediocre shape; facility needs renovating. Will definitely not be back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“25 year local will not be returning. Poor customer service. Rude general manager.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I Was very excited to play the wizard based on a great reccomendation I got from my friend. This was 1 of 3 courses we were playing this weekend bc i was celebrating my birthday.
T time set for 1230. It wasn't raining when we started, but it began around hole 7. The course had a bunch of puddles and the draining system seemed to not be functioning well. The ball was almost un hittable. So we figured let's get a rain check and come back. When we went back in the club and tried to explain our concern, the GM (Tim) was not very receptive. He seemed like we were bothering him. He kept telling us that he doesn't give rainchecks and that we have to finish today or we will lose the back 9.
Then when questioned why almost all other courses in myrle beach do it and not the wizard he replied that in fact they do give rain checks. But only to tourists, not locals.
So you guys take care of the tourists but make the locals, the people that support you in the dead of fall , you put us last ?!?!
That's ok Tim ( the GM ). There are plenty of other golf courses in myrtle beach that would love to have our business.
Then when we called back we spoke to a girl named Jordan and she promised to call us right back with corporate's contact info, but she never did ofcourse. Maybe she was worried we would complain.
We play with a group of about 20 business men every Wednesday . We pick a different course every week. My friend and I were out looking for the next course to play.
Sorry but the Wizard will not be it.
It's too bad because the course is lovely and everyone in our group would have enjoyed it.

This situation could have been avoided if the Gm had used basic communication skills and had not broken the basic cardinal rule of business;

Don't let the customer walk out unhappy!!!
All he had to do was smile, introduce himself , then listen. He did none of the 3.

This experience has caused my birthday celebration to start off very crappy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Scotland in South Carolina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The course was in great shape. Open fairways let some of our foursome grip it and rip it. Water was seldom in play but was pretty to look at. Greens were fair but challenging. Interesting hole arrangements, with a total of 5 par 3s. We will be back. The pro shop were extremely helpful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Conditions - Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Played the Wizard this past weekend and have to give them credit for exceptional conditions. I play over 100 rounds of golf in the myrtle Beach area each year, and they consistently have the course in great shape. The layout is relatively easy, with wide fairways, manageable rough, and smooth bent grass greens. I don't much care for the looks of the clubhouse, but I'm there for the golf, and if you're unfamiliar with the golf courses in Myrtle Beach, play here and you won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, SC
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“This coarse has some of the prettiest views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This coarse has some of the prettiest views.
The course and greens were on great shape.
All of us commented about this being a great coarse, and one of our favorites.
Take time to check out the views from the grill area. It appears to have a lot of water,
but not much comes into play.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wizard also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Wizard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wizard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.