We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funny how the website shows the Glass building as part of the group” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Yachtsman Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yachtsman Resort
Save
You added Yachtsman Resort to your Saves list
1304 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly The Yachtsman by EVRentals)   |  
Hotel amenities
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Funny how the website shows the Glass building as part of the group”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I came to the beach 10 years ago and stayed in the Sea Glass Towers(formally Yatchman) as it is known now. So I looked it up online and saw all three buildings and discriptions just as I had before. Then I arrive to find the glass towers isn't part of the building. The side buildings are the real Yatchman. This was outdated 10 years ago and still is today. Beds are hard frig has rust and the sound effects from outside are enough to keep you up the entire night. Not to metion the persons upstairs walking around. I am not happy at all with the place nor the staff never revealing they are not the place they show in the pictures on website. Especially when she asked have you ever stayed with us before. I said yes, but it has been awhile like 10 years ago. Thanks for taking my money and not telling me what type of facility you are today. Honestly the place is just gross.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    18
    5
    17
See reviews for
31
24
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I was in the area visiting family and stayed here with them for a day. The building is a little old but there is lots of stuff to do there. They have a nice pool area and if you love Bingo you will get your fill :-). The room was nice but like I said it is a little dated. The staff is very friendly and very outgoing looking to please you any way they can. The room was facing the beach which was very nice but there was not much of a balcony to stand on. It was actually kind of scary.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed during Spring Break/St. Paddys/cheer confrence/huge car show. Town was insanity with the crowds. Location is right on main drag near the night parties. Windows thin and old so you can hear every car on the road out front. Parking is across the street so be careful. Traffic is very heavy. Rooms are oldish but all have ocean view. Get one as high up as possible. Sunrise is great. Very sweet and helpful staff. Ocean is steps away and wonderful. Clearly the best feature of the resort.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed in the "Penthouse" suite with a southern exposure. The ocean is right there and there's an indoor pool. Absolutely magnificent! It's THE place to stay at when in Myrtle Beach. We love it there and our place to stay of choice.

Room Tip: I love it it is high up as possible. Either a northern or southern view is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

A friend and I stayed at the Yachtsman just over a month ago. We were pleased to see the boardwalk finished which allowed us to visit the new and already existing businesses in that immediate area. Close to everything, the Yachtsman was also a very clean and very friendly place to stay. We had absolutely no complaints about anything.

Room Tip: Not sure that there are any bad rooms here....at least none that I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed for a few days at the Yachtsman Resort in Myrtle Beach.
Prime location! Could walk to everything that we wanted to and if we needed to drive, other attractions weren't that far.
The condo was average. It was clean, but could have used some updating. But, it is what you'd expect of an older condo building in a resort beach town.
Loved that the pools and hot tubs were still open while we were staying there and the beach was nice! And yeah, the balconies are step out only...but, it wasn't that bad.
I would stay here again. If you're into "no frills" accomodations and are used to true "resort" lodging, this place isn't so bad.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same. But try to get one away from the elevators and on a higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The location of the Yachtsman is only one of it's best features. Friendly staff. Sits in front of one of the best restaurants in Myrtle Beach, Pier 14. The brand new boardwalk begins right on the property. Awesome views of the beach, all units are oceanfront. Can see the all new Skywheel just a short walk away as well as all the other attractions. This is one of the first timeshare properties in MB and one of the oldest, but is well maintained, very clean, well stocked. Once you get settled in just about anything you could want is a short walk away. Of course there are many wonderful restaurants, shows, theaters and other attractions in the area. Overall a wonderful place to stay, and beautiful little beach town.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront, so just depends on the size of your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yachtsman Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yachtsman Resort

Address: 1304 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577 (Formerly The Yachtsman by EVRentals)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Yachtsman Resort has been a "home away from home" for several owners and visitors. The Yachtsman's great location, helpful staff, and fun activities have helped build many vacation memories and friendships for nearly 30 years. It's more than a resort, it's an icon - of family, fun, and fellowship ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yachtsman Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yachtsman Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.