We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reviews should be based on the room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Beach Club Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Beach Club Resort to your Saves list
Sands Beach Club Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9400 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reviews should be based on the room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed 1 day at the Sands Beach Club in room 128 which is right on the ocean. The view was great and the room was nicely decorated. Sliding door on the master bathroom tub/shower. Stainless Steel fridge. The bed in the master bedroom was uncomfortable and broken. That needs to be fixed. Two bedrooms and 2 baths. Plenty of room for 4 people. With only one day stay I cannot comment on service.

Room Tip: Room 128 is nice except for the master bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review of the property. Also, thank you for pointing out that both reservations and review should be based on the room.

Sands Beach Club is a multi-use property. Meaning some of the units are fully owned condos which people do rent out on their own. As fully owned condos it is also at the owner's discretion to do any updates, maintenance, etc to the unit.

There are also 68 units which are interval owned (week by week) and overseen by the resort's Home Owners Association. Since these units are mandated by the association they are all consistent in updates, maintenance, etc and they do have a 9-5, seven days a week staffed front desk. Thank you again for taking your time to write a review. We hope to have you back again in Myrtle Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    54
    17
    25
    42
See reviews for
103
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, MO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My friends & I stayed in a time share unit in the building in the back by the tidal creek. Maybe the building is newer than the ones right on the ocean, because we had a very nice unit. Everything was updated and clean. Several other reviews mentioned carpet that need cleaning, but we had hardwood floor throughout. I had a wonderful time beachcombing & brought home so many shells.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiddenpond, Manager at Sands Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
So nice of you to comment on your recent stay. It appears you were in one of our Phase I timeshare units as we have recently replaced all of the flooring in those units. They have been renovated with brand new kitchens and new couches will be arriving this spring. We hope to have you return soon!
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a very "nice" property. We stayed here over Labor Day. We liked the location of the hotel. The beach is wonderful and it is huge. The units have everything you need. The beds are comfortable. The units are clean. However, the carpeting needs cleaned. And, the furniture is a little dated. But, with such a beautiful beach and warm ocean....who really cares. It definitely met our needs. If you have problems then the handyman is right on it. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I'm a timeshare customer, so perhaps we got the best of their units. Ours was not too bad: a 2 bed, 2 bath apartment in building #2 right on the water, on the second floor. The lower floors, it seems, have the better units. The unit was definitely dated, but it was very clean and everything worked. A sign on the door said carpets had recently been replaced, and the microwave looked new also. Everything else is 20 years old. With a good renovation, this would be a great sell: the 2 bedroom unit has nice floor and ceiling trim, a balcony with gorgeous ocean views and is just steps to the beach. The building's lobby area is also dated-looking and dying for an upgrade. Apparently Building 1 is awful: we did not get to see it, but it's not on the water so I'm not sure why anyone would want to stay there anyway, with all the other waterfront options in this town.

There are no restaurants and bars nearby, but for this family that was a plus: it kept the Myrtle Beach mardi gras vibe far away. The town has plenty of food and entertainment on offer: you just have to drive to it. It's about a mile away from Kings Hwy where all the action is.

The best thing the place has going for it is it's location: at the very end of the quiet end of Myrtle Beach, it is never overcrowded even in August. A little inlet/tide pool on the edge of the property swells and ebbs with the tide, offering shallow waters for small children and fun fishing. Having that plus the beach is a huge bonus. We had a fun week here.

Room Tip: Insist on building 2 on the water and get a room on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiddenpond, Manager at Sands Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We've read your comments and thank you for taking the time to review your timeshare unit. All the Phase II timeshare units are furnished the same and the only difference between floors is a slightly higher/lower view of the ocean. All of our furnishings are updated on a five year plan. This year we are concentrating on new couches and carpeting. Our phase I units have just been completed updated with brand new kitchens, crown molding, chair rails, etc. Though they are not ocean front they have a delightful side view of the ocean as well as the marsh, pool and inlet.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopatcong, New Jersey
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just returned from vacation and I felt a need to write a review. First of all, we were not notified that the restaurants/bars had closed. We might of opted to stay somewhere else. And now for the unit. The room was in major need of renovations. The popcorn ceiling was cracked and looked like pieces were about to fall, the kitchen cabinets were in need of repair, the refrigerator had rust stains on the outside, we found popcorn kernels on our master bedroom rug, the windows were dirty and also had white power on the sills. The blankets did not smell like they had been washed. The bathroom shower caulking was black with mold and so was the shower curtain liner. (Unit 1115). The cleaning of the unit was not up to par at all. The location of the resort, however, we enjoyed. Next to the inlet and less quiet than elsewhere on Shore Drive. It's really a shame really, but this place needs help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was extremely disappointed and feel like the pictures completely misrepresent reality. The place needs completely gutted and redone. My kids wanted to leave! Beach view was nice but neither of the balcony doors locked. Shower curtain had mold on the inside, beds were horrible, blankets were ripped and torn, unknown stains on the carpet to the point we all wore our shoes inside the room. Had there been a way to get my money back and go find another hotel I would have done so. We tried to make the best of it and spent as much time on the beach and out of the room as possible but it was still a bad experience. When we arrived, we went to the lobby to find a sign on the door that said to go to a different hotel down the road to check in . . . that was the first sign! The place is just run down, old and not at all modern. They actually had tv's that I haven't seen in years and everything was cramped to the point you couldn't even use the table because there wasn't even enough room to pull the chairs out to sit in without moving the couch. Whoever took the marketing pictures for this hotel was a genius because they made it look fantastic and it was a complete dump!

Room Tip: Beach view was great but choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We paid too much money to spend our vacation with roaches. The room was dated, musty, dirty, offered a minimal view of the beach. (Unit 511)We were going to try to make the best of it that we could. But when the sun went down and we saw a couple of roaches, it was time to pack up and make other arrangements. To be fair the resort staff was sympathetic to our situation and put us in the Sands Ocean Club, which was newer and cleaner, but I will review it separate. I wouldn't advise anyone to book your vacation here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Sands Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hello,
We are very sorry you were disappointed with your experience. We do everything we can to keep the palmetto bugs away! They are very hard to completely get rid of as they are so common in this area. We are glad you were moved to Sands Ocean Club and hope you a had a great rest of your vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Club Resort

Address: 9400 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Beach Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Club Resort is a multi-level, mixed use resort property, meaning that some units are owned in whole, year round by owners and some are owned by timeshare owners and managed by a board of directors. To offer potential guests the most accurate information please include the unit number in your review. As a mixed use property the units can vary in their decor, housekeeping and maintenance. All guests have access to all the resort amenities such as the indoor pool, outdoor pools, grill area, tennis courts, basketball courts and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sands Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Beach Club Myrtle Beach
Sands Beach Hotel Myrtle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Beach Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.