We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Beach Club Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Beach Club Resort to your Saves list
Sands Beach Club Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9400 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Goose Creek, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I arrived at the resort at 3:54pm and left at 10:33pm on the same date. The ocean view is the second best I have ever seen however the rooms were problematic.
When we arrived in room 1118 we were greated by two dead roaches and a strong chemical odor. Two hours in the room as we walked on the carpet the green carpet started to look black. We called the front desk and the Manager was not available but his wife was covering for him. (hmmm) but she offered us another room. Room 519 was missing carpet in the living area (very stained carpet pad) but was much cleaner and did not have the chemical smell. We turned on the water to take a shower and we got rust colored water. Maintenance came to the room and suggested we run the water for two hours. Two hours later the water was still rust colored. This rust colored water also came from the kitchen faucets as well. We were then asked to inspect 315 and this room had the original carpet issue from our first room. We got a refund and could not find another resort in Myrtle Beach. We drove back to Charleston with a crying five year old in the car. I believe we would have been better off in Hotel 6. We were informed by the staff that 1118 leaked for months and may be filled with mold. The maintenance staff infomed us they did not know how maintenance was done at the Beach Club resort because most of the other rooms were time shares which are taken care of by another company and the Beach Club in not a priority of the sands. DO NOT STAY AT THIS RESORT. I REPEAT DO NOT STAY AT THIS RESORT.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this resort. I am calling DHEC regarding the mold and pest issue Monday morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    52
    17
    25
    40
See reviews for
101
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Loved the room with the ocean view. Will be staying there again. Beach wasn't crowded at all. Which was good. Would have loved to had washer/dryer in the room but could deal without it. Staff was very friendly. Kids loved it. Close to shopping and attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

First off, I have only written ONE bad review of anyplace that I have stayed. I am easily pleased with accommodations as long as rooms are livable. I normally stay at the Sands Ocean Dunes Resort in the 2-bedroom villa. I LOVE those rooms and recommend them to everyone.

My fiance' and I wanted to go to the beach for a couple of nights for Valentines Day. We wanted to mostly go shopping and enjoy dinner at Chuck's Steakhouse (also HIGHLY recommended) so we booked a place closer to N. Myrtle Beach (Sands Beach Club). We arrived at the hotel around 5pm Friday Feb. 15, 2012. We walked around for about 5 mins looking for the office. Once we found the office there was a sign telling us we had to go to Sands Ocean Club (about 2 blocks up the road) to get the room. When we entered the room we were okay with it. It had a decent bedroom and another tiny bedroom and 2 bathrooms. it was nowhere near as spacious as we are use to but it was fine for a couple of nights. At this point our trip was going just fine. After we settled in the room we started getting ready to go out to dinner. We each used a bathroom to shower and get ready. The next thing you know I smell an AWFUL odor. I knew I had smelled the odor before but couldn't think of it. As the whole room filled with this retched smell it came to me....IT WAS SULFUR. I mean it was STRONG too. My first thought was to let the water run and maybe the sulfur would filter out. Well, it did not. The smell in the room was so awful that I was literally gagging with every breath. So I call the front desk. I was told that the person that authorizes room changes would not be in until the next morning. We had to get ready for dinner so we cleaned up the best we could and went to eat. The next morning the front desk gave us the run around for 3 hours before they would offer us a different room. This is not tolerable! I will NEVER go back to this resort and suggest you take my advice.....unless you do not like to bathe on your vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We came to play on the beach & to play softball. We got the best of both worlds in our stay. We had batting cages for practice & the water park for down time. Best of noth worlds. Rooms & service were excellent. All our needs were taken care of & then some. Cannot wait to go back for both in July 2013 :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My family of 5, 2 adults, 3 kids stayed in a 2 bedroom unit on the 6th floor during Thanksgiving Week. Our unit 624 was in decent shape. There were 3 flat screen TV's and the 2 twin beds and the master queen bed had temperpedic matresses. The kitchen was small but usable for cooking Thanksgiving dinner. The supply starter pack was very skimpy. There were gas grills that we used also. The balcony door did stick but the view was great. All the 2 bedrooms in the main building are direct oceanfront and the beach is very accessable. If you get a 1 bedroom it is in a side building which looks newer but isn't on the ocean. There is a heated indoor pool. The restaurant was only open Wed- Sun and only served Wings and Frys. You could get drinks and there were resonable happy hour specials. I loved the location on the edge of the inlet. You could find lots of shells and the tide change was dramatic. It was a nice length walk to the Apache pier and you could walk the sand with shoes. They had lots of shaded tables and swinging chairs on the first level to relax in. The worse thing were the mini thorn balls which are in the sand just as you go on the beach. They are so sharp you get stuck trying to remove them. You should also know that the other Sands amenities aren't provided if you rent a timeshare unit. This was misleading looking at the website. Over all, it is a nice place in a natural area and we enjoyed it. Did I mention it is a mile behind the Tangier Outlets and Mall and movies. A very nice supermarket is closeby also.

Room Tip: Get in the 2 bedroom building and away from the elevator. Otherwise , all the rooms are simular alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a timeshare condo and I must say the concept is very nice. However, the place was dirty and in desperate need of a thorough cleaning. The interior was dated and the doors to the balcony were hard to open.

One positive of staying here is the incredible view of the beach. I was able to watch Dolphins swim by from the comfort of my balcony.

I stayed in RM 117. If on a budget, I guess you may try it, otherwise, please don't. The entire building needs a makeover!!!

Room Tip: All rooms faces the ocean. I was on the 1st floor and before entering I was annoyed on being so clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom time share, room 319, for one night at the Sands Beach Club Resort. The appartment's condition was very run down. It needs to be complety renovated. Carpets are old and stained. The room needed to be thoroughly cleaned. A previous guest had long black hair...we know becuse we found it in several loations in the bathroom. Furniture is ancient and worn out. Aluminum sliding door locks were frozen from sea salt corosion which prevented us opening the front room door to the balcony which made the doors stick when opening or closing them. Mattresses were old and made you roll to the middle. There was multiple layers of paint-on-paint. Kitchen cabinet door and sitting room curtain rods were coming off. If we had known the state of the place we would not have purchased it and would have stayed somewhere else. I would not recommend anyone stay there until it is remodeled.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Club Resort

Address: 9400 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Beach Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Club Resort is a multi-level, mixed use resort property, meaning that some units are owned in whole, year round by owners and some are owned by timeshare owners and managed by a board of directors. To offer potential guests the most accurate information please include the unit number in your review. As a mixed use property the units can vary in their decor, housekeeping and maintenance. All guests have access to all the resort amenities such as the indoor pool, outdoor pools, grill area, tennis courts, basketball courts and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sands Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Beach Club Myrtle Beach
Sands Beach Hotel Myrtle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Beach Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.